He Is Legend
few


4.0
excellent

Review

by ulator CONTRIBUTOR (70 Reviews)
April 30th, 2017 | 82 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The southern savages' warming love letter....

Since their return from hiatus after It Hates You, He Is Legend have been putting in overtime for the time their fans lost them. The tours seemed to never end, with the boys always supporting one act or another for what seemed like an eternity. Then Heavy Fruit dropped and finally gave the world a taste of what these witches were concocting. Heavy Fruit was a taste of the He Is Legend’s dark melodic side, a wicked tinge in a group known for their ability to bring the house down with infectious pieces of southern rock gold. few in fact was born of a band filled with doubt after the initial elation of their return. Sure, fans were happy that He Is Legend were back, but now that the Heavy Fruit hype settled, did people really care that they came back? Their rose-colored glasses now buffed, have people now largely moved on? With this weighing on their minds, He Is Legend took to crowdfunding. Putting themselves out there quite publicly, if their goal wasn’t met it would affirm their fears and potentially put a permanent end to a short resurgence. Thankfully there was never any doubt, and the goal was met and surpassed easily. The fans wanted more He Is Legend.

With a renewed sense of purpose and drive, He Is Legend’s vision of their music was captured purely and utterly with few. Equal parts groovy and heavy, the music stylistically shares the most similarities with Suck Out the Poison with its unabashed southern fashions. Where few stands alone among all He Is Legend’s works is the in the absolute crushing weight of the songs. Schuylar Croom’s weathered voice soars as powerfully as it sinks, and remains the only voice that can work alongside few’s slimy riffs. Guitarists Adam Tanbouz and Denis Desloge remain true to form, utilizing some absolutely stellar production to deliver riffs that would put hair on your little girl’s chest. From the hard-charging lead single “Sand” to the ominously heavy “Jordan” the crunch and clarity of the music adds a palpable edge to few, transforming their music from merely “southern” to downright “swampy”.

Never all about the riffs, “Alley Cat” and the charmingly bluesy “Fritz the Dog” prove their new crushing production hasn’t given an inch to the southern groove ingrained in these boys. few actually in many ways, seems to be the pinnacle of He Is Legend’s brand of southern metal. The occult themes Croom has grown to love coalesce beautifully with the beefy yet moody instrumentals in a way that encapsulates the entirety of the band’s post I Am Hollywood career. Innovation is in short supply with few but innovating and experimenting aren’t really the point and weren’t the aim of the band here. As necessary as experimenting with their sound will be going forward, few is a love letter to fans, a gift for them for sticking with these southern boys through thick and thin. Now the last time He Is Legend made a record they thought the fans wanted they grew to hate that record but with few it’s different. These aren’t young kids trying to cater to any audience, these are grown men saying thank you to their fans when honestly, we are the ones who should be thanking them.



Recent reviews by this author
Stolas StolasRonald Bruner Jr. Triumph
Dedekind Cut The Expanding Domain (ded005​)​Critic, The Cannibal SPEAKS
Zavala Fantasmasserpentwithfeet blisters
user ratings (81)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
tcrazyknuckles (4.5)
A catchy, groovy, and phenomenal release, paying tribute to every fan, both old and new...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2017


15536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stream: https://open.spotify.com/album/1uXJ01pmkQzFFvb7h6sO0y





Love this a lot, maybe not as experimental as people would like but it's a great slab of southern metal goodness which I will always have room for.

Digging: Buddy and Kaytranada - Ocean & Montana

Danred97
April 29th 2017


1230 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly, I think this is the best thing they've done since I Am Hollywood. It's there most consistent album from them in a long time. It's not crazy experimental, and I'm not totally in love with the lyrics, but the music and vocals more than make up for that.

Digging: Tigers Jaw - spin

calmrose
April 29th 2017


1850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

still haven't jammed It Hates You or Heavy Fruit yet, will jam this first for the artwork alone



also, solid review as always Calc

Digging: Do Make Say Think - Stubborn Persistent Illusions

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2017


15536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

solid is what I aim for lol.

tempest--
April 29th 2017


20010 Comments


apart from using "southern" 15 times, good review Calculon!
my mate said he liked this a lot more than Heavy Fruit, and that album was a blast, so I'm really looking forward to hearing it.

ignorethefashion
April 30th 2017


58 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review.

I'm sure I'm in the minority here, but I prefer Heavy Fruit by a small margin, at least for the moment. HF was more diverse, and occasionally gave off these stoner/occult rock vibes that I really enjoyed, whereas Few just beats you over the head with grooves. I think the first half of Few is killer, and they put on a riff clinic at times, but it lacks ambiance and sort of wears out it's welcome towards the end.

But it was just released, and I wouldn't be surprised if it grows on me as I digest it over the next week or so.

Digging: Mutoid Man - War Moans

kingdedethefifth
April 30th 2017


2513 Comments


I like that cute emotional tidbit near the end. Sounds like a good band

Digging: Agalloch - The Mantle

Loss1010
April 30th 2017


36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like this band way more than i should and apparently i'm the only one who thinks it hates you is their best album. heavy fruit's fine, but so much more of it feels like filler. particularly towards the end.

this album's aight but the guitar tone sounds off compared to heavy fruit, especially on the garden. you can hear the pick scratching more than the guitar during the chorus gallops.

good review tho. maybe a bit too much emphasis on them being southern. suck out the poison is the only record pervaded by a distinctly southern sound. the rest of their albums have maybe like one song.

Emim
April 30th 2017


27391 Comments


I think a strong argument can be made that every one of their albums is the best (at very least the first three). That is why He Is Legend is so good.

Loss1010
April 30th 2017


36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not as big of a fan of i am hollywood as everyone else apparently. it's good but it sounds so much like a band trying to be something it isn't, for better or worse.



also say what you will about schuylar's vocals now, but the harsh bits on that album aren't very good.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2017


12631 Comments


listened to this for a min or two and it bored the tits off me, good review tho man

Digging: Brockhampton - All-American Trash

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2017


15536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers guys thanks, I think them being southern is a huge part of their identity but I probably used the word too many times here I'll watch for that stuff in the future fo sho

betray
April 30th 2017


8934 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

eh

Digging: Shadow Of Intent - Reclaimer

MusicinaBox
April 30th 2017


568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good stuff. I am enjoying the hell out of this right now but I can't say it surpasses Heavy Fruit. Time will tell

owen
April 30th 2017


4732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i don't think i'll ever listen to this again

Digging: Guerilla Toss - GT Ultra

NastyCrab
April 30th 2017


621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn I was gonna review this but this was a great review.

This might tie It Hates You as my new fave. And The Garden, holy shit what a track.

swordsforhands
April 30th 2017


692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Enjoying this more than I thought I would, couldn't really get into Heavy Fruit but this jams.

Digging: Sparhawks - The Quiet Hour

notgreg
May 1st 2017


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i appreciate the review, but holy crap, after listening a couple of times, and keeping Heavy Fruit in mind, where. is. the drums. obviously they had some kind of personnel change, which is fine, but the rhythm on everything through It Hates You had this chaotic kind of spastic jazz to it. that was, it turns out, a pretty big part of what i loved about HIL. because i miss it enough that i never fully came around on Heavy Fruit, and I'm feeling the same about 'few' so far. they lost a ton of intensity on vocals by getting a bit too comfortable and repetitive with the melodies, and they killed the screams altogether for some reason. i could live with those things and still really enjoy this record. but the drums being gone. oh no. it's actually making my heart ache a bit.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2017


15536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I kinda disagree with almost everything you said there. the vocals are plenty intense in songs like "Jordan" or "Air Raid" and the dude doesn't like screaming anymore, he's kinda over it. the melodies I suppose can be repetitive but I guess it doesn't bother me so much. I thought the drums sounded pretty good. they just don't carry the weight the guitars do which is cuz of the producer.

TomAkaVeto
May 1st 2017


1932 Comments


It Hates You is their crowning achievement, in my opinion, but this seems pretty promising.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy