Super Whatevr
Good Luck


3.5
great

Review

by Atari STAFF
February 19th, 2017 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Turning despair on its head

After recently signing to Hopeless Records, wacky indie-rockers Super Whatevr are getting a chance to reach a wider audience with a re-issue of their Good Luck EP. Contained within are abrupt revelations like “Oh my god, you are so messed up in the head, hey darling I am too” and “Love, I’m a wreck – holy f*ck.” The trio is the brainchild of Syker McKee, who uses the band as an outlet to turn his dissatisfaction with life into quirky and charming earworms for the average Joe. There’s something strangely satisfying about these kinds of self-deprecating yet upbeat tunes, especially when dressed up with the imagination that Super Whatevr provides. With an eccentric band name and five off-the-wall tunes, the band makes having a good time in the midst of difficulty seem almost too easy. Opener “Good Luck” trades off between nasally vocals and anxiety-filled shouts with ease, and is jam-packed with clever lyrics and strong melodies to boot. Instrumentally, the album isn’t very chaotic; the majority of the intensity comes from the bipolar vocals that range from calm and collective on “Someone Somewhere Somehow”, to completely bizarre and erratic on “Common Cold.” Though short in duration, it gives a proper glance into the future of a band that’s sure to be going places. Possessing enormous hooks, and a spastic vocal performance that’s as nerdy as it is fun, Good Luck takes despair and turns it on its head for an amusing and highly relatable collection of music. It’d be nice to see Super Whatevr flesh out the songs with a bit more emphasis on production and the overall package going forward, but it’s a damn solid stepping stone for such a young band. With a debut LP in the works, it gives us plenty to get excited about as we shout and sing along to McKee’s eccentric tales of human trial and error; it’s an album that makes anguish seem quite pleasant, indeed.



Recent reviews by this author
Phoebe Bridgers Stranger in the AlpsSannhet So Numb
The Lurking Fear Out Of The Voiceless GraveNeun Welten The Sea I'm Diving In
Falls of Rauros Vigilance PerennialDel Paxton All Day, Every Day, All Night
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2017


22594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think this is only my second 1-paragraph review, hope it turned out ok/feedback appreciated. I discovered these guys randomly on youtube through the music videos below and they're pretty cool.



good luck

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1VKE2AvfM8

someone somewhere somehow

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-KKUMDWX7wE

Digging: Susanne Sundfor - Music For People In Trouble

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2017


19009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review my man. listening to the first song as we speak and it's super solid

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2017


22594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers man, i dig the music video for that song as well. I was surprised this didn't have a single rating on Sputnik or rym, but you and Trebor instantly came to mind as someone who might enjoy this :]

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2017


19009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

very solid song will have to jam the rest of this EP. and thanks for thinking of me it's much appreciated

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2017


22594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sure thing man, don't mention it . Isn't that what sput's all about?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 20th 2017


19009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

:D

oodlesofnoodles
February 21st 2017


55 Comments


This is pretty good, thanks for reviewing this. Do you know if an LP is in the works?

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2017


22594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

last sentence of the review my man (yes ;)

oodlesofnoodles
February 22nd 2017


55 Comments


Aw shucks, don't I feel sheepish. That's great news though!

SnakeDelilah
February 22nd 2017


19820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

singer sounds almost exactly like jake ewald

Digging: Petal - Comfort

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2017


19009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no thats not it he sounds like some other indie band lead singer but I have no idea which one

Artuma
February 23rd 2017


29044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"no thats not it he sounds like some other indie band lead singer but I have no idea which one"



yeah dude sounds so familiar but i don't know why and it's really frustrating. this ep is aight, the vocals are sometimes annoyingly nasally and a lot of this sounds quite unremarkable but overall i like it



the band name is horrible though and i hope they will change it

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2017


19009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's so frustrating

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2017


22594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

glad you guys thought it was decent. "Good Luck" really gets stuck in your head after a few listens. looking forward for a full length LP from these guys





Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2017


19009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first two songs rule so hard.

loveeeee i'm a wreckkkkk

holyyyyyy fuckkkkkkkk

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 24th 2017


22594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah :]



honestly I'd love recs similar to this if you have any (or similar to sorority noise). been on a bit of an emo-ish kick

SnakeDelilah
February 24th 2017


19820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

he sounds like a cross between ewald and kyle soto from seahaven

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2017


19009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I honestly dont see Ewald at all man

Artuma
February 25th 2017


29044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"honestly I'd love recs similar to this if you have any (or similar to sorority noise). been on a bit of an emo-ish kick"



did you hear the twiabp/sorority noise split released last year? because even though i'm not the biggest sorority noise fan their song on that split ruuules

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2017


22594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nope, i'll check that out. don't think I've heard anything by the world is a beautiful place yet either



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy