Violet Cold
Anomie


4.0
excellent

Review

by Deubah USER (3 Reviews)
February 18th, 2017 | 48 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A blending of cultures.

Azerbaijan is a country that has been known historically to be the connecting bridge between Europe and the Middle East. Being that bridge, you’re obviously going to grow as country with influences generally from both cultures. Black metal is a European bred genre that has grown to become one of the most diverse and intriguing sub-sects of extreme music in recent times, controversially and artistically. Violet Cold’s approach to Black Metal in the past has been tinged with pop-synths, piano lullabies, and even post rock-esque crescendos. While admirable and fun, it would almost feel like a gimmick of sorts on previous albums. Almost as if single member Emrin Guliyev wanted to add as much genre diversity just to seem as “experimental” as possible. That isn’t the case with Anomie.

Upon listening to the title track I was met with the usual onslaught of tremolo and synth, only for it all to change about 4 minutes in. Suddenly, I was struck with beautiful eastern influenced guitar, hand drumming along to a wind-like instrument replicating the zephyr of the desert itself. It hit me then, that this record is a special one. A converging piece of art meant to represent the blending of cultures so seemingly different from one another. The rest of the album follows through, an amalgamation of European structure, and Middle-Eastern thought.

Concise in its execution, production, and influences, Anomie improves upon merely everything from its predecessors. No more do we have odd synth-like abstractions that don’t seem to fit anywhere. What we have now is an intelligent ode, musically and culturally, to the ever-shifting perceptions that we have of people abroad. A resonance that even people from distant countries and upbringings are more like yourself than you thought. Blast beats, harrowed shrieks, and antiquity from a time so seemingly long-lost. This record will have you imagining the vast blankets of stars over the mountain-peaks of northern most Europe, only until you are then taken to the mythical sands that birthed the beginnings of civilization.


user ratings (65)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

Desperate Dreams

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deubah
February 18th 2017


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first review i have ever written ever, please be constructive with me have been a lurker on here for a long time

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 18th 2017


24841 Comments


This is a great first review. I'm going to check this out, sounds really interesting.

To other readers, album isn't out until 3/1 but is streaming here:

https://violetcold.bandcamp.com/album/anomie

Digging: Billy Corgan - Ogilala

Deubah
February 18th 2017


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you so much!!

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2017


10153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

forgot this was out, need to jam fast



actually really tight and concise first review so pos'd, maybe a little too light on discussion of the actual album but not bad

Deubah
February 18th 2017


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you!! And definitely will work on that in the future

Hawks
February 18th 2017


51140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gonna jam this hard.

Digging: Cytotoxin - Gammageddon

Dewinged
February 19th 2017


5861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good for a first review man. Def need to check this. Have a pos.

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

Deubah
February 19th 2017


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thabk you man! Definitely give it a go guys

Mythodea
February 19th 2017


4153 Comments


Great debut review, pos'd. Album is nice and that comes from someone who doesn't like BM.

Deubah
February 19th 2017


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank you very much!!!0 and yeah violet cold has always been on the more accessible side

Hawks
February 19th 2017


51140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really fucking good damn. Last album was sweet too, but this is def better.

Deubah
February 20th 2017


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree 100%. Last album was fun but nothing really gave it depth. The native music elements helped create more dimension here

Essence
February 21st 2017


5817 Comments


first song rules, rest is ehhh

kingdedethefifth
February 21st 2017


3933 Comments


This was a damn good review, 44 reviews and I still don't write this well all the time lol, definitely will check out the record. Really digging Deathspell Omega right now.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2017


19201 Comments


ya killer first review p jealous especially looking back at my first review

Dewinged
February 21st 2017


5861 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Grats on the feature man!

Deubah
February 21st 2017


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you guys so much that means a lot!!!!

Hawks
February 21st 2017


51140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Might bump the rating with more time. This rules so hard.

Ebola
February 22nd 2017


2842 Comments


Solid first review, congrats on the feature. Will definitely check this; never even heard of this project.

Illoomorpheme
February 22nd 2017


310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I heard the Desperate Dreams album a while back and kinda discounted it because it was standard cheesy atmo-synthpop black.



This is still cheesy as hell, but it's so much better in its composition.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy