Soen
Lykaia


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mythodea USER (15 Reviews)
February 11th, 2017 | 115 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I can't go on. I will go on.

First loves are usually the hardest to overcome. Could it be the limited emotional span we have or a mere absurd attachment to a perceived golden age, when things seemed fresh and promising? There is a certain sense of romanticism looking back, nostalgic and bittersweet memories filling our mind. It is when we take a quick glimpse to our younger - most of all, naive - selves, we crave time had stopped, crystallizing a moment, holding our breaths near a lover or relative or friend we couldn't leave behind, but we just as well did.

Such is the case of Soen, a band with immense talent who would hold onto adored music formulas of the past and couldn't let go. Critics and fans alike found many similarities between them and other well established progressive metal bands. The cold, rhythmic style was deemed reminiscent of Tool, while the guitar tone and riffs objectively resembled Opeth. With their sophomore album, Tellurian, Soen's sound diverged from its initial path, acquiring a more distinctive and unique edge. Still, however, the flowers of influences had roots going deep. With Lykaia, Soen seem confident with a style that, while not half original, is undeniably their own. At last.

Comprised by mature compositions only, each one having merits on its own, Lykaia most certainly classifies Soen in the spectrum of progressive metal where the target is atmosphere, rather than flashy instrumentation. In a few words, Lykaia is a study on interplay. Bass with drums, aggression with tranquility, melody with ambience, blended together in a whirling dance, never losing balance, never losing focus. It is varied and colourful, flowing effortlessly, with a stellar production that helps all instruments prove their organic contribution. Joel Ekelöf's voice is a constant highlight, most notably on Lucidity, the softest, most gentle song on Lykaia. Martin Lopez does a great job on drums as usual and I'm particularly pleased with bassist Stefan Stenberg and his soulful and omnipresent playing.

First loves are usually the hardest to overcome. Soen know that and have opted to move on. Is there room for improvement? Of course, a not developing artist is a doomed one. Now, however, it is our turn as an audience to leave our first loves behind and evaluate Soen soberly. We have been seeking for a face in the crowd that is no more and isn't supposed to be there anyway. Before judging and rejecting Soen for what they were never meant to be, maybe we should admire them for who they really are.



Recent reviews by this author
Temples VolcanoNeed Hegaiamas: A Song For Freedom
Pain of Salvation In the Passing Light of DayAenaon Hypnosophy
Epica The Holographic PrincipleRiverside Love, Fear and the Time Machine
user ratings (181)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
blacklightjer (3.5)
The bastard child of everything we love about Tool and Opeth combined into one great album that I re...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mythodea
February 11th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I promised a review for this great album, so here it is. Hope you guys like it.

Dewinged
February 11th 2017


3871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album redeemed with a good review. Good stuff Myth, pos'd.

Digging: Saltland - A Common Truth

HarryBoBerry
February 11th 2017


356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album redeemed with a good review. [2]



I can see this being on my top 10 albums of 2017. They solidified their own sound with this release.

Digging: White Ward - Futility Report

Mythodea
February 11th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks for the good words guys, although I see I still let at least two people down!

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2017


15558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Album redeemed with a good review. [3]

Saved me from reviewing it, very good album but don't know what I'd say at this point. Tellurian was more immediate looking back, but I'll jam all three again before settling on an opinion and rating.

Digging: Paramore - After Laughter

Mythodea
February 11th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

strange, for me Lykaia is the diverse album. I tried listening to Tellurian many times, but couldn't remember more than one or two moments. Thanks, though.

Mythodea
February 11th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Edited a bit, thought it was bad written at spots.

Jethro42
February 11th 2017


14718 Comments


Sounds great. It's good to hear Martin Lopez again.
Good review, posd.

HarryBoBerry
February 11th 2017


356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agreed about this being more diverse. It's also more concise, I felt like Tellurian was a little too long. This is their finest work.

Hawks
February 11th 2017


48620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tellurian slays I gotta get on this one asap.

Digging: Carpathian Forest - Defending the Throne of Evil

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2017


2386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review.



As for the album, I personally found it inconsistent. I thought "Sectarian", "Sister" and "Stray" especially were really bland, uninspired songs and the somewhat lifeless vocals didn't really help my impression. Then again, the album remains above average because "Lucidity" is beautifully acoustic and "Orison" is certainly one of the finest progressive metal songs I've heard for some time. Overall though, there's like 20 minutes of this album I would gladly go back to, whereas the rest simply leaves me bored.

Digging: Obelyskkh - The Providence

Dewinged
February 11th 2017


3871 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It didn't do much at first listen but I sense a potential grower here.

Mythodea
February 11th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Dewinged, it is a grower, indeed. The whole band is a grower, tbh. Katatonia's last album seemed too samey for me and now I adore it, so if you think the songs are indistinguishable, just give it some time.

TzarChasm
February 11th 2017


267 Comments


Soen creates outstanding, derivative music.
Soen creates outstanding music.
Outstanding music.
Outstanding.

Mythodea
February 12th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wut?

Piripichotes
February 12th 2017


323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice short review, pos'd.

As for the album, I find myself listening more to this than to Tellurian... It has a completely different vibe, I only revisit Tellurian for a couple of songs. Album is def a grower. Every member shines here.

Mythodea
February 12th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jinn has such a nice atmosphere. One of my favs from this.

Empyreal
February 12th 2017


24 Comments


This is reeeeeally good! Can't stop listening.

valek
February 12th 2017


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review Mythodea mate, I agree in all you said to be honest, a really good album with obvious roots but the band seems like is finding his path and I would like to see where it goes next.

Mythodea
February 12th 2017


4020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Valek. I appreciate your comments, given how little you write on Sputnik.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy