Betraying the Martyrs
The Resilient


1.5
very poor

Review

by Dean R CONTRIBUTOR (52 Reviews)
January 28th, 2017 | 61 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A spectacular failure

I made my mind up about The Resilient in the first minute of my first time listening to it, which is testament to the power of its clichés. Granted, it’s not like I had any grand expectations for a metalcore band who follows the “verb the noun” format; I’ve been around long enough to know “genericore” when I see it. But it’s still just a little bit disappointing to have my expectations met. It would be nice, for once, to be surprised by an LP that doesn’t start with the same synth build-up, that doesn’t try to make every chorus epic-as-***, or that actually possesses even the smallest amount of lyrical self-awareness. I mean, the amount of songs on here that revolve around a soaring chorus espousing some vague, teenage mantra is baffling; on the same record we get the oh-so-rebellious “no we won’t back down, we won’t back down”, the melodramatic “take me back to when this all begun”, as well as the painfully generic “they’ll never break us down, no we stand strong”, providing us with plenty of opportunities for recoiling in disgust at the unsubtle pomp Betraying The Martyrs apparently think is profound.

Picking those choice lyrics out was actually quite difficult, as all of the songs on here are largely indistinguishable from one another. As The Resilient trudges through its fifty minute runtime, we are treated to a horrible mesh of tacky church-like orchestra, obnoxious adolescent cleans and the same riffs you’ve heard on nearly every record Sumerian has ever put out. Betraying The Martyrs seem to believe that putting a “holy” sounding synth over everything is an idea that will help them seem epic, but all it achieves is smothering everything else, removing any effect it could have ever had in the first place. It doesn’t help that it’s nearly always accompanied by either the obnoxiously earnest clean vocals or the angst-y bog-standard harsh vocals that sound the same the whole time, which are both as bad as each other. Sadly, the best parts of The Resilient are those when Betraying The Martyrs aren’t even trying that hard, dwelling in generic metalcore that may be unspectacular and boring, but isn’t as actively offensive as when they’re going for it and failing so spectacularly. Ironically, The Resilient therefore becomes a damning indictment of its own downfalls; resilient to change, resilient to originality.



Recent reviews by this author
SeeYouSpaceCowboy... Fashion Statements of the Socially AwareUnsane Sterilize
Geotic NeptuneGeotic Duchenne Smile
Dizzee Rascal RaskitYowie Synchromysticism
user ratings (46)
Chart.
2.9
good
related reviews

Breathe In Life

Phantom

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2017


13225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

bad album do not listen

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - Marked For Death

BleedIntoTheAbyss
January 28th 2017


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Completely disagree tbh, I really liked this album.

Alain0393
January 29th 2017


9 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Totally agree,so disappointing of this because I really love their debut album "Breathe in Life","Phantom" is very poor and this new album it's the same thing,this band is another case that have one good album,like a lot bands in the genre. Sorry if my grammar is bad,my mother tongue is the spanish

Digging: Trivium - The Sin and the Sentence

Themaxwell23
January 29th 2017


63 Comments


While well written it comes off as pretentious I made up my mind after the first line that you had already decided to hate this.

SteakByrnes
January 29th 2017


4084 Comments


Nice review Mort, will probably stay away from this after how disappointed I was in their last album

Digging: Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas - Feeling of Unity

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2017


13225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

You misunderstand me, i hadnt already decided to hate this its just i predicted what sort of album it was going to be and i was right. Like i said my expectations were met.

betray
January 29th 2017


9154 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

wow how shit is this band now lmaooo

Digging: Gucci Mane - Mr. Davis

betray
January 29th 2017


9154 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

good write up m8

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2017


13225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Cheers fam

betray
January 29th 2017


9154 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

is this really worse than the last one

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2017


13225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I have no idea, this is my first and last experience with this band

SteakByrnes
January 29th 2017


4084 Comments


Their debut had some cool moments, but Phantom was just awful

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2017


13225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Well it seems like they havent improved at all

SteakByrnes
January 29th 2017


4084 Comments


Their claim to fame is their song "Man Made Disaster", other than that they don't stand out at all. That's the only song I'd recommend you listen to, and if you don't like that then it's safe to say that you won't like anything else by them

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2017


13225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Fair enough, ill give it a listen in a bit

SteakByrnes
January 29th 2017


4084 Comments


Do it broski, let me know how you feel about it

modpack
January 29th 2017


1375 Comments


woah this maxwell nigga deliverin review beatdown

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2017


8439 Comments


probably the best album ever made neg

Digging: Future and Young Thug - Super Slimey

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2017


13225 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Save me sach bruh



Yeah truly a classic of the genre

MetalandStuff
January 29th 2017


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Solid album. Feel like it would've been a lot better with Mark Mironov's drumming. Enjoyed Aaron Matt's vocals more on this album compared to Phantom



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy