Kreator
Gods of Violence


3.5
great

Review

by Chamberbelain USER (129 Reviews)
January 27th, 2017 | 104 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not very Kreative but still pretty Khaotic.

The nineties was a weird time for heavy metal. While the eighties saw this genre grow enormously in popularity, thanks to the supreme influence of thrash, and was carried over to the new decade with classic albums like “Vulgar Display of Power”, “Rust In Peace” and “Painkiller” released at the beginning of the decade. However, the nineties oversaw a drastic metal modification. Suddenly, the uncompromising aesthetic of metal bowed before the arrival of sullen grunge and mainstream rock and many bands saw a stylistic change in their music that was influenced by the alternative nature of the nineties; Robb Flynn donned a tracksuit, Metallica cut their hair and Korn became kings.

Another band who went through this experimental phase was Kreator. Despite the pure aggression, fierce precision and ruthless speed that the Germans had expertly established, Kreator still went through the nineties phase and released a foray of industrial-tinged albums. Nevertheless, as soon as the decade was over, they returned to their thrash roots and have released a consistent sequence of riveting thrash albums since.

Now entering 2017, Kreator’s fourteenth album maintains the band’s consistently ferocious spirit, although a small handful of new elements are unearthed in “Gods of Violence” that establishes some form of differentiation to Kreator’s recent material. An Egyptian tone crops up at various stages in the album. First during the orchestral intro, ‘Apocalypticon’, then again, with more folksy fashion, after the pummelling blast beats and escalating riffs in ‘World War Now’. The title track also commences with acoustics and this kind of snake-charming melody before slithering back into their blazing thrash metal.

Despite this, there’s some sort of grinding grittiness missing from “Gods of Violence” that projects Kreator’s extreme aggression. The absence of this angry charisma is largely down to the polished production. Jens Bogren, who produced Sepultura’s latest album: “Machine Messiah”, has done a great job of complementing the precision of Mille Petrozza and Sami Yli-Sirniö’s interplaying guitars with the clarity of how they sound as the blunt and slower ‘Satan is Real’ sounds massive and commanding. However, songs like ‘Death Becomes My Light’ and ‘Side By Side’ are polished perhaps a bit too squeaky clean for a band notorious for their musical belligerence, thus losing some of Kreator’s violent edge.

Nevertheless, this is still an invigorating thrash album. ‘Totalitarian Terror’ is relentlessly fast and packs in some corkscrewing melodies that hearken back to the NWOBHM era, which arises once more during the galloping ‘Hail to the Hordes’. Mille’s choruses are very alike to the anthemic style of 2012’s “Phantom Antichrist”, only this time the lyrics are served with an additional slice of cheese. His rapid singing style provokes the same urgency it did over thirty years ago and the venom seems to drip from every word he utters in ‘Army of Storms’.

2016 was a fantastic year for thrash metal. Vektor released one of the most revitalizing releases of the year, and Testament, Anthrax, Megadeth and Death Angel all outdid themselves; even Metallica delivered the goods-albeit late and from the reduced section. Kreator may not have crossed any new boundaries with “Gods of Violence”, but what they have achieved is assuring everyone that they’re still one of the most riveting thrash bands around today.



Recent reviews by this author
Solstafir BerdreyminnDragonForce Reaching into Infinity
Employed to Serve The Warmth Of A Dying SunWhile She Sleeps You Are We
Blood Command Cult DrugsAll That Remains Madness
user ratings (156)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2017


12640 Comments


"While the eighties saw this genre grow enormously in popularity, thanks to the supreme influence of thrash, and was carried over to the new decade with classic albums like “Vulgar Display of Power”, “Rust In Peace” and “Painkiller” released at the beginning of the decade"

this doesnt make sense on its own as a sentence



Digging: Gorguts - Pleiades' Dust

Flugmorph
January 27th 2017


15898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice wordplay

Digging: Oxbow - Thin Black Duke

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2017


1717 Comments


[2] @ Mort

If you just got rid of the "while" at the start of the sentence and changed the "and" to a "which" it'd be a complete sentence. As it is now, it's set up to include another clause at the end which isn't there.

The first two paragraphs are pretty give or take. It's not like anyone reading this isn't already aware of what you're saying.

"First during the orchestral intro, ‘Apocalypticon’, then again, with more folksy fashion" - I'd change "with" to "in". The way you've written this sentence makes it's difficult to tell if the "folksy" intro is a stand alone track or a part of "Apocalypticon" without looking at the tracklist. I'd get rid of the first comma and put an "of" or "in" there so there's no ambiguity.

"Despite this, there’s some sort of grinding grittiness missing from “Gods of Violence” that projects Kreator’s extreme aggression" - I think I get what you mean but the phrasing here is rather weird. I'd just say something like "Despite this, there's a sort of grittiness missing from Gods of Violence (album titles should be italicised btw) that we associate with Kreator."

"Jens Bogren, who produced Sepultura’s latest album: “Machine Messiah”" - Colon isn't necessary, replace with a comma. Also this sentence is a bit of a run-on.

Not a bad review, I'll pos < 3

Digging: Forest Swords - Compassion

SacredSerenity
January 27th 2017


520 Comments


Seitan is real, seitan is real

Good old veggie Mille strikes again

bloc
January 27th 2017


41172 Comments


Haha whoa that average, fanboys in the hoooouuuusssseee

I heard one pre-released track and it wasn't great but I'll give this a spin eventually.

christhjian
January 27th 2017


490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's not bad, but I hoped it would be little less melodic than Phantom Antichrist, but it's pretty much the same in that sense. Mille's vox are really good, but don't sound that great during the more melodic sections.



I guess it's a little step down from the previous record, but still decent. Nice review too

InFlamesWeThrash666
January 27th 2017


6346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid as always.

Digging: Ulver - Svidd Neger OST

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2017


10316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A couple of listens and it's a very solid 3.5 for me. Need to read the lyrics too though.



Nice review, pos.

Digging: Hellripper - Coagulating Darkness

Ebola
January 27th 2017


2473 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is very good. A slight step down for the last record, but still solid as always. Seems as though they expanded upon the traditional, NWOBHM aspects of the last record.

Kirkt95
January 27th 2017


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Who the hell is paying these people to give this album anything more than a 3.5? The melodic thrash thing is beyond stale at this point.

kascetcadettt
January 27th 2017


1602 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i wish all old metal bands kind of stopped making new albums because their discogs really take up too much disk space

InFlamesWeThrash666
January 27th 2017


6346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Who the hell is paying these people to give this album anything more than a 3.5? The melodic thrash thing is beyond stale at this point.



Petrozza is a rich motherfucker and he goes around the world paying people for ratings me thinks

vermillionZ
January 27th 2017


32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@InFlamesWeThrash666 or maybe there's just people who like melodic thrash, just a thought.

InFlamesWeThrash666
January 27th 2017


6346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not sure if sarcasm or

LaughingSkull
January 27th 2017


471 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Won't pos or neg, but I gotta say I echo the previous comments about some sentences being hard to understand and failing to make correct logical sense.

I also find your statement about occasional "Egyptian tones" incorrect. The melodies described in the songs you listed as "Egyptian" aren't really exotic or anything; they're just... melodic.

Anyway, album's good. Something between 3 and 3.5 for me. 3.5 just might do. Interestingly, the songs I liked most were the more melodic ones from the latter half of the album (from Army of Storms onwards). Somehow the thrashier side of the album sounds too recycled from older stuff, and exhausted.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2017


30481 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i have to get this

Maco097
January 27th 2017


2251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The melodic thrash thing is beyond stale at this point.



Thrash in general is stale at this point Einstein. And don't mention Vektor cuz I don't wanna laugh.

romulanrancor
January 27th 2017


7334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ohhhhhhh what a burn

Digging: Death Grips - Steroids (Crouching Tiger Hidden Gabber Megamix)

bloc
January 27th 2017


41172 Comments


Maybe instead of Egyptian he means Phrygian.

Anthracks
January 27th 2017


5969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just because yr sick of a genre doesnt mean everyone else is lol

Digging: Swordfish - Rodia



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy