Pain of Salvation
In the Passing Light of Day


4.5
superb

Review

by jalexander311 USER (3 Reviews)
January 14th, 2017 | 265 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Silent Gold

A lot can be said about a band's sound through their name. Although many acts choose a name based on having a good ring to it, many prefer to express the message of their Songs at the introductory stage. Such is the case of Swedish Prog Rockers, Pain of Salvation, and the relationship between their name and their most recent release, "In The Passing Light of Day".

For long time fans, the story of Daniel Gildenlöw's traumatic bout with a type of flesh eating bacteria that all but took his life is the stuff of lore. The fact that this event happened after the departure of long running members Johan Hallgren and Fredrik Hermansson meant things were not looking good for the seminal Prog band. But lo and behold, Daniel made a recovery, introduced Sign Frontman Ragnar Zolberg as new permanent member and co-Songwriter, and went right back to where the band left off after the two part "Road Salt" albums.

"In The Passing Light of Day" is very unapologetic about its sound. Opener "On a Tuesday" carries a bittersweet vibe of "The Perfect Element I" while maintaining an accessibility not heard since "Remedy Lane". "Full Throttle Tribe" kicks in with an almost Djent off time influence, bringing back Metal elements which make "Scarsick" come to mind.

But the absolute center of attention all across the album is the magnificent duality and contrast between Daniel and Ragnar, not only on their Vocal harmonies but more importantly on their Songwriting approach. On his main project Sign, Ragnar has a very youthful tendency towards a cheerful kind of chaos, but perhaps out of spending time with a still-recovering Gildenlöw, his writing feels more melancholic, more vulnerable. Likewise, Ragnar's influence can be vividly heard on Gildenlöw's approach, with a delicious and almost sexual fearlessness, one that can only be expressed by someone who's looked Death in the eye and instead of backing down, chose to dance with Death instead.

Birth and death are both provocatively explored, not so much thematically but sonically, infused by the youthful decay of Zolberg and the lone wolf indulgence of Gildenlöw. And at the end of the day, maybe there's not so much difference between birth and death. Perhaps they both carry unimaginable suffering and yet endless possibilities of the unknown. To bring that dichotomy into a cohesive whole seems to be one of this album's (& Music in general) main purposes.

A Prog masterpiece and strong early contender for album of the year, "In The Passing Light of Day" is the most clear expression of a band finding salvation in pain.


user ratings (231)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
nightbringer (3.5)
Progressive metal was never the issue...

speckis (3)
Their most straightforward effort...

Mythodea (4)
A celebrated return...

Biggtriksta (3.5)
Melancholy, anger, depression, and triumph wrapped in a neat little prog package....


Comments:Add a Comment 
jalexander311
January 14th 2017


19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

3rd review.



High recommendation for Prog Rock fans.



Worth mentioning that the deluxe version of the album has Demo versions of a few Songs, allowing fans to go behind the scenes into what went through the creative process and the changes that took place during recording with added commentary by Daniel Guildenlöw.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2017


7451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well written review, pos, I like the album a lot, too.



POS took both Road Salts and translated them to their legacy sound and more.

Thalassic
January 14th 2017


580 Comments


Looking forward to this album. Sweet review. Pos

jalexander311
January 14th 2017


19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you! I'll take it when you guys say "POS" it's a reference to the band?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2017


7451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^^"pos" is a positive vote regarding the quality of the review.



POS is an abbreviation for the band.

Scoot
January 14th 2017


18645 Comments


this is pretty awesome

Jethro42
January 14th 2017


14714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm going to listen to the album in a few minutes. Can't wait anymore.



Good review.

SnakeDelilah
January 14th 2017


19069 Comments


I'll take it when you guys say "POS" it's a reference to the band?


clearly you've never watched buffy

Voltimand
January 14th 2017


641 Comments


Wow this is good then? I remember when the singles dropped people seemed kinda "meh" about em.

Digging: Balance and Composure - Slowheart

MO
January 14th 2017


21631 Comments


wow this is good huh? gotta check it

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


2382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I enjoyed this album, and it does have some fantastic songs. I mean, the level of emotional value in songs like "On a Tuesday" and the closing title track is stupendous. However, I felt it was dragged down by a few of the shorter songs, which for me didn't really go anywhere (If I'm honest, this really affects "Meaningless" and "Reasons", and the album's length of 70 minutes was entirely justified imo. That said, it's great to kick-start a year with some actual good prog metal. Good review too. I think those first few paragraphs would be better fused together into a big one, but your content about the album was short and sweet.

Digging: Employed to Serve - The Warmth Of A Dying Sun

Ocean of Noise
January 14th 2017


8909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is amazing. Easily AOTY material for 2017.

Digging: Camel - Mirage

OmairSh
January 14th 2017


14120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn that was quick.



Listened to it once (apart from a few songs which I heard more times) . Underwhelmed atm, but it takes me a while to digest POS albums. Hopefully it grows on me a lot.



Not a fan of the production. Everything sounds so dull. I wish the band could hire a quality engineer and producer like SW.



Fucking hell that average. Glad to see the band getting more recognition here

Digging: Body Count - Bloodlust

OmairSh
January 14th 2017


14120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hate that Gildenlow didn't give longtime members like Kristoffer, Fredrik, Johan much space in the songwriting department, but Ragnar joins and he immediately cowrites the entire album. Wtf Daniel

ksoflas
January 14th 2017


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe he is out of ideas Omair, anyway we must get used to the fact that these are the 2017 POS.

ksoflas
January 14th 2017


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I won't rate the album yet but I feel that a 3,5 will be appropriate.

Dmitri
January 14th 2017


44 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this shit is kickin'

Titan
January 14th 2017


17411 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i suppose i'll check this out

MrMongoose
January 14th 2017


54 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Not a fan of the production. Everything sounds so dull. I wish the band could hire a quality engineer and producer like SW."



I think it sounds great. On some other albums his voice sounds a bit dry and the instruments a bit thin but on this one the bass and drums are thick, the guitars are crunchy and his voice sounds great and there's no clipping at all. I honestly don't understand how you think it could be produced better. Maybe you need better headphones?



Ocean of Noise
January 14th 2017


8909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I've only heard this on Spotify but the production sounded fine to me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy