Drei Affen
Drei Affen


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dean Morgan CONTRIBUTOR (16 Reviews)
January 14th, 2017 | 82 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Drei Affen gritan como loco.

God, I’ve missed screamo. Somewhere around 2013, the genre took a sharp dive in output, being simultaneously subsumed into the blackgaze trend and replaced by a revival of sad 90s emo a la American Football, and the few stragglers that remained haven’t been nearly prolific or consistent enough to sustain the genre. And it’s not like Oathbreaker and The World Is a Beautiful Place… aren’t excellent. But there’s a specific kind of catharsis that only bands like Off Minor and Pg. 99 can provide, a frantic blend of anger and desperation of which the last few years have been sadly bereft.

Enter Drei Affen.

The self-titled debut EP from Spanish newcomer Drei Affen is the exact cocktail of adrenaline and raw emotion that I’ve been missing for almost half a decade. Drei Affen combines everything great about the more frenetic side of screamo into a tight, 20-minute package: chaotic pounding of drums, frenzied attacks of emotional guitar chords, and, in Drei Affen’s own (translated) words, “scream[ing] like crazy.” The sound is most readily comparable to Orchid, with moments that hearken back to the version of Envy that people actually gave a shit about. In short, Drei Affen is angry, desperate, and cathartic in the way that only a screamo record can be. I can only hope that its modest success will spark a revitalization of the genre, but if not, at least we'll have one more reminder of why screamo once flourished.



Recent reviews by this author
ostraca lastThe Amazons The Amazons
PWR BTTM PageantBlanck Mass World Eater
Neil Cicierega Mouth MoodsShow Me A Dinosaur Show Me A Dinosaur
user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I figured this needed a full review since it nabbed a spot on the Users' Top 10 EPs list.



You can get the EP for free on their Bandcamp: https://dreiaffen.bandcamp.com/album/drei-affen-3

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


15282 Comments


cool review. gonna give this another shot for sure

Digging: Pretend - Circular Rsoning

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


10436 Comments


Nice little review, though I take issue with saying blackgaze absorbed Screamo cuz that's not what blackgaze is. Oathbreaker aren't indicative of the genre, they've got a lot of stuff swirling around in their sound.

But anyway, well written. This album is cool, though the band confuse me with their name and lyrics haha, where are they actually from?

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

brainmelter
January 14th 2017


3967 Comments


yessssss

Digging: Materic - Between Stone Slabs

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean, I know the screamo elements don't define blackgaze, but they've certainly been used by a fair amount of blackgaze artists since 2013. Deafheaven was the example I was originally going to use in the review, and I'd put Bosse-de-Nage in that category as well.

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And the band is from Spain. Not sure what's up with the German name.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


10436 Comments


Fair enough I guess.

And okay, I dig the name.

Artuma
January 14th 2017


28572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

come on guys it's not like this is the only good screamo album released in the last few years

Digging: City of Caterpillar - Driving Spain Up A Wall

YakNips
January 14th 2017


18931 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i really don't like this review lol



check the osoluna album it's a bit better

AsleepInTheBack
January 14th 2017


3926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fucking love this album. Just picked it up on vinyl, great to have the translations of the lyrics

BlushfulHippocrene
January 14th 2017


1529 Comments


I'm ignorant of the genre, but this a good shorter review.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Raw and Declawed

AsleepInTheBack
January 14th 2017


3926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree with the line of argument here that this is good screamo and is full of passion like the classics, but yeah as people have said its untenable to argue there has been no good screamo recently; sure it isn't the heyday of the genre but there is lots of good stuff out there (see yaks screamo bible list)

YakNips
January 14th 2017


18931 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

take out the first paragraph and this review is fine actually

FullOfSounds
January 14th 2017


15337 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love you for writing this

ZippaThaRippa
January 14th 2017


9955 Comments


mediocre review, Stephen Universe sucks

FullOfSounds
January 14th 2017


15337 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Always gotta for the low blows huh

hesperus
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2017


789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright, I guess I'll pull my punches a bit and admit that I clearly don't spend much time researching underground music to see what's out there. But that's kinda my point. Sure, screamo might have been out there for the past few years, but is any of it making waves? Is it earning spots on year end lists like it used to (and like Drei Affen did)? If I have to dig through the screamo tag on Bandcamp to find the good stuff (or rely on long lists that don't end up getting the recent acts any sort of attention) then I stand by my argument that the genre's not exactly healthy.

ZippaThaRippa
January 14th 2017


9955 Comments


It's harder to make waves, the ocean is bigger these days
Doesn't make the music worse, just makes it harder to find.
I haven't heard any good _____ lately =/= _____ No longer exists

Artuma
January 14th 2017


28572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

we could be hyping the shit out of bands like ostraca and coma regalia like fos did with this and they might as well earn some spots on the year-end lists. this is indeed one of the better skramz releases in a while but i don't think they're exactly more popular outside of sput than either of the bands i mentioned earlier. the genre is stagnating and i'm afraid this band isn't making any difference to that

p4p
January 14th 2017


1939 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the last good screamo record are Distance/Closure and Flores, Carne and that was like two years ago. this is pretty average tbh.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy