You Me At Six
Night People


2.0
poor

Review

by Sebastian USER (35 Reviews)
January 6th, 2017 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Why should anyone care about You Me At Six in 2017?

I’ll be honest, I don’t mind Hold Me Down and Sinners Never Sleep. Although they aren’t what I would personally consider ‘great’ records, they were decently catchy, and contain some fairly decent songs in their own right (“The Consequence” and “Loverboy” respectively). But the issue with Night People is a simple one; it’s been three years since the barely tolerable Cavalier Youth, which saw You Me At Six deciding to coast along instead of expanding on the alt-rock sounds of their previous efforts. So now that Night People has reached us, it beckons the question: why should anyone care about You Me At Six in 2017?

The catchy alt-rock sound of previous efforts has been dropped in exchange for stadium rock ala recent Fall Out Boy, but instead of being the focused, albeit flawed electronic-led stadium rock American Beauty/American Psycho is, it’s a watered down, tiresome guitar-led stadium rock mess of an album. Opener “Night People” goes nowhere, relying too heavily on its chanty chorus to save itself from the uninteresting verses devoid of anything noteworthy. Uninteresting seems to be a perfect descriptive for Night People; whether it be the repetitive drum patterns of “Plus One” or the droning of the bass and guitar on “Heavy Soul”, the album tries nothing new and shows it throughout. Much of the production is also scattered; vocals can sometimes become muddled and drop in the mix seemingly at random with some songs sounding far cleaner than others (compare “Swear” with “Spell It Out”), affecting the impact of many of the tracks.

That’s not to say Night People is all bad, with the back half providing a bit more quality; the riffs for “Make Your Move” and “Can’t Hold Back” are pretty damn catchy, but they’re almost instantly ruined by the band’s apparent need to have an explosive opening followed up immediately by a more ‘laid-back’ verse that focuses on just the catchy guitar line. Additionally, vocalist Josh Franceschi is fairly talented, showcasing his impressive vocal range on various tracks (“Spell It Out” and “Make Your Move” are good examples), but when you’ve only tweaked the same sound for five straight albums, the listener can start to yearn for something more.

And that’s basically all I want from Night People; something more. You Me At Six coast through for the second album in a row, except this time taking three years to do so and adapting a more pop-rock sound. And that’s not to say a drastic change is needed, but rather just change. Something new, something fresh, something to make people want to listen to You Me At Six once again. And considering we’ve waited three years for thirty-six minutes of samey stadium/pop rock, perhaps no one should care about YM@6 in 2017.

Recommended Tracks: Swear, Make Your Move, Can’t Hold Back



Recent reviews by this author
Front Porch Step I Never Loved Before I Found YouSorority Noise You're Not As ____ As You Think
Minus the Bear VOIDSWithin the Ruins Halfway Human
La Dispute WildlifeThe xx I See You
user ratings (45)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
Luckynum19 (2.5)
While this album isn't bad, it's painfully average...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Drubbi
January 5th 2017


106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Really only reviewed this because I wanted to get back into the groove of writing. Some big releases I'm looking forward to this year. Wasn't expecting much from this and was still disappointed.



Feedback as always is appreciated.

BlushfulHippocrene
January 5th 2017


1164 Comments


Great review as usual. But the line "it’s a watered down, tiresome guitar-led stadium rock" rubs me the wrong way -- I think it's either missing a word after "rock" (album?), or the "a" before "watered down" doesn't make much sense. I could be wrong. Excellent work.

Digging: Hot Mulligan - Opportunities

LoLifant
January 5th 2017


1181 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

My thoughts exactly, although I think Give is the best song on here because it offers a glimpse of the bands past charme. Can't Hold Back is okay as well. Rest is overall meh. It's just so blatantly average, that it's even below average.

Drubbi
January 6th 2017


106 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nah Blushful you're right, if only to help with the way it reads. Thanks for that.



LoLifant you'd think that after three years you'd want to sound maybe a little different idk though

LoLifant
January 6th 2017


1181 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Brand New is like listening for 3 minutes of monotone noise, that's how little stands out from it.

NorwichScene
January 6th 2017


2170 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Such an overrated band. Will give this a listen soon, not expecting much after this review

Dewinged
January 6th 2017


3677 Comments


Ouch so it was this bad huh. Will check it anyways. Nice review yo, have a pos.

Digging: Marissa Nadler - Little Hells

StolenIdentity
January 6th 2017


271 Comments


No album from this band has ever been impressive and yet I still find myself listening to them regularly. And they keep selling out venues everywhere so they're obviously doing something right, I'm just not sure what it is.

Also, at least this is better than Cavalier Youth.

LoLifant
January 6th 2017


1181 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cavalier Youth was already average as hell but at least had a few standouts. This is even more generic. I enjoy their first 3 though.

StolenIdentity
January 6th 2017


271 Comments


Yeah Cavalier Youth definitely had some standouts but there were some shockers (carpe diem, be who you are). Thankfully nothing on this album offends me as much. I really like Give and Spell it Out seems pretty good on first listen.

LoLifant
January 6th 2017


1181 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Spell it out is slow version of heavy soul lol

Soupy
January 6th 2017


14 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I thought Cavalier Youth was "okay - it was nothing special, but there was at least a few decent and enjoyable tracks on there. This is like a watered-down version of Cavalier Youth, except they've cut out the few elements on it that were actually any good.



When "Night People" was first released as a single I didn't think too much of it, but it's somehow ended up being the clear standout track of the album, which says all you need to know about the rest. There are moments of promise on "Spell It Out" and "Give" at least offers something different, but other than that it is woeful.

Gyromania
January 6th 2017


21896 Comments


Hate their band name

ConcubinaryCode
January 6th 2017


3994 Comments


You me and Dupree

tellah
January 6th 2017


466 Comments


"the riff for “Make Your Move” and “Can’t Hold Back” are pretty damn catchy,"

it should be "riffs", I think?

Digging: Freddie Gibbs - You Only Live 2wice

SnakeDelilah
January 6th 2017


18955 Comments


Why should anyone care about You Me At Six in 2017?


says the dumbass who later proceeded to write an entire review for the you me at six of 2017

Digging: Remo Drive - Greatest Hits

AngryJohnny
January 6th 2017


449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm expecting this to be a solid 1

AngryJohnny
January 6th 2017


449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Although making a worse record than Cavalier Youth would be a sort of achievement, so when I get round to this I'll see if they've actually managed it

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
January 6th 2017


1172 Comments


Using the phrase 'stadium rock' 3 times in 3 lines is fairly unforgivable, but the review did a good job of succinctly pointing out the many flaws of the record without being overly hater-ish.

That summary sounds... awfully familiar, mind.

BrushedRed
January 6th 2017


2220 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I remember whenever this band use to be good. Their first three albums were very good, but they have turned to pure crap.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy