Bladee and Thaiboy Digital
AvP


3.0
good

Review

by Tristan Jones STAFF
December 10th, 2016 | 42 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: looks like daylight

It’s a bit of a shame that the Gravity Boys collective wasn’t present for yours truly’s coming-of-age, circa 2007. Swedish rapper Bladee’s sound bears a feeling of dissociation worsened by dark winter ambience and a nonchalant regard for drug abuse. Myself having grown in minus-forty-degree conditions, and the ensuing introspection coupled with a hefty reliance on Dexedrine (not exactly comparable to percs, but whatever), AvP would have been welcomed. Either of the bookends could serve as anthems of seclusion for lonely minds run rampant. Opener “Still in Search of Sunshine” has a morning-like anthemic tone, juxtaposed with downcast lyrics like, “I still got my closed eyes / medicine with crushed ice / AvP, watch out it’s cold out / sometimes I can’t keep the ghosts out.” It’s like cracking the blinds semi-hopefully, only to see pure black and rain spatters. Closer “Winter” showcases Whitearmor’s rich production, with lush pulses, achingly plucked strings, and tasteful builds-to-releases. He crafts a style that is both mentally boxed-in and physically expansive, serving as a perfect, frosty backdrop for Bladee and Thaiboy.

There’s plenty of stylistic variety, without sacrificing the general atmosphere. Further, there’s something really profound in the context of lines like, “Imma take over the whole world,” when recited by Thaiboy, if we consider the themes of dissociation. There’s something poignant about aspiring to control something with which you’re knowingly doomed to disconnect. Throughout AvP, this disconnect takes multiple forms. On “1million”, money is treated like a simulacrum for happiness (and, perhaps it references a previous Thaiboy x Bladee cut, “I’m Lost”, wherein the duo crave success most when they’re at their poorest). “Area 51” is a clever anti-hype, as Bladee announces, “I’m in your areaaaa / Area 51,” pairing cool braggadocio with freakish self-deprecation. There’s some fan service as well, with references to the evasive Rainworld project and Thaiboy’s “Goon” moniker (dating back to 2013(?)). Some listeners might accuse AvP of leaning too heavily on throwbacks to prior material, and being derivative of Eversince and the like; but, AvP is a vital addition, like appended chapters in an autobiography. Set to Whitearmor’s post-industrial-tinged production, Bladee and Thaiboy Digital simulate a malign cabin fever - one that’s created by mental confines, and doesn’t get any better when you step outside.




Recent reviews by this author
Lord of the Isles Parabolas Of NeonVolhnn Phallus Dei
Ruined Families EducationRecondite Corvus
Sleepwalker (JPN) 5772Derek Rogers Silence is Being Substituted
user ratings (30)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


5752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

on spotify and iTunes

https://lnk.to/avp

oltnabrick
December 10th 2016


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All of you can fuck off 😂🔫

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


5752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

was holding breath

but actually how is the review. sach gave me some words of encouragement so i went with it. could bump to 3.5 since i don't really have many negatives

oltnabrick
December 10th 2016


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

EP of leaning too heavily on throwbacks


what



also stop comparing this 2 eversince



JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


5752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no i observe that some people have done that. i've seen some message boards and etc where people have, and i say that some ppl might accuse it of sounding too much like eversince ("and being derivative of Eversince and the like"). the only comparison i make is that i just happen to like whitearmor's work just a bit more on the album. i think this has its rightful place

(edit: though i did accidentally mention eversince in one of the first couple sentences when i meant to say AvP, so i changed that)



and the "EP of leaning too heavily on throwbacks" line... i mean, idk what i need to explain (?) not trying to shut down honest advice as i know this is your element, but

(made a couple edits anyway, dunno if that helped)

oltnabrick
December 10th 2016


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

how is this a throwback like at all tbh?

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


5752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it has some throwback lines. there's even one part where i think thaiboy references eversince directly



and again, that isn't supposed to translate into me having any problems w/ it. i've seen a few dudes basically call this a poor man's eversince and imo it's good in its own right is all. rly dunno what we're disagreeing with rn, aside from i guess my 3/5 score

TVC15
December 10th 2016


5927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Eversince>Gluee>This

Digging: Soundtrack (Film) - Flashdance

hal1ax
December 10th 2016


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this def has a different feel for me than does eversince.

feels slightly less amorphous . has interposed dark, aggressive and mechanical sort of 'drill' moments, and the converse, saccharine sort of bubbly coating overlaid atop hollow indifference moments like area 51. love the added dynamic that thaiboy brings too.

bump that rate johnny

Toad
December 10th 2016


4063 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review johnny, comparisons with older work are definitely relevant here as the thematic and musical core for these guys is pretty stable



"but thaiboy's presence//inclusion kinda corrupts a lot of the more apparent melodic influence...

and realistically I'd argue it's more a case of gtb having found a sound that works moreso than pulling it from eversince due to a lack of ideas"



this hard tho

Digging: Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares - Le Mystere Des Voix Bulgares: Volume Two

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2016


8038 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the Eversince comparison did feel a bit weirdly shoehorned in but otherwise i think the comparisons, broadly speaking, are justified.

ensuing introspection coupled with a hefty reliance on Dexedrine (not exactly comparable to percs, but whatever)


you and i had different experiences then lol

Digging: Japandroids - Near To The Wild Heart Of Life

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


5752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dexedrine is a stim while percs are pain relievers. both can be abused ofc but i'm sure there's differences in the resulting effects of said abuse. can only speak for one though



anyway let's keep it posi

hal1ax
December 10th 2016


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thaiboy Digital

I'm a pretty boy

I'm a SG boy

I'm a GTBoy

Say she miss me all the time

Calling me at night

Bae I'm outchea workin, getting money, see you in a while

Toad
December 10th 2016


4063 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that Area 51 beat is one of my favorite whitearmor productions i've heard

the follow up with 2X is fantastic as well



hal1ax
December 10th 2016


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya area 51 prod almost sounds like a sherman tune.

so twinkly and playful and fantastical.

hits my g spot jus right jus right

Toad
December 10th 2016


4063 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Cutting through a reign now I'm flying from my war"

crazy lyric from thaiboy

oltnabrick
December 10th 2016


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

think sherm did something on this

Phlegm
December 10th 2016


7233 Comments


sherm vs gud vs WA??? picks urs today

i chose WA

hal1ax
December 10th 2016


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whitearmor > sherm > gud -- imo. but they all good af

Toad
December 11th 2016


4063 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^that's my ranking as well



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy