Pan.Thy.Monium
Dawn of Dreams


4.5
superb

Review

by Shadowmire USER (2 Reviews)
December 7th, 2016 | 10 replies


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist

Review Summary: dark and brilliant beginnings

Following their murky and sometimes otherworldly EP Dream II, their debut album expands on all their established traits of dark whimsy and shapes Pan.Thy.Monium as perhaps the most alien of Dan Swanö's many projects.

Beginning with the sound of saxophone over clocks ticking, the monolithic twenty-two minute opener descends into churning, otherworldly darkness, a subtle sense of paranoia and anxiety pervading its composition. Vocalist Robert Karlsson's deep, rumbling growls act as a sort of percussion; representing the album's own dark atmosphere as a sort of faceless alien menace, lyrics imperceptible or non-existent.

The rest of the record unfolds as a series of six much smaller pieces, carrying on in much the same vein as the opener, doom-laden death metal often accentuated with a distinct sense of groove and progressive leanings, complete with production about as stellar as it could be at the same; dynamic and meaty, Swanö's bass lines clear in the mix and occasionally stealing the show.

This is the true start to one of the most woefully (and willfully) underappreciated acts in the genre, not to be underestimated.


user ratings (42)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Shadowmire
December 6th 2016


4535 Comments


short and lacking. not good at this, but always worth a shot

MarsKid
December 6th 2016


5534 Comments


Yeah the review is incredibly short to a fault. Doesn't do the album much justice, especially given your rating of it.

Digging: Planes Mistaken for Stars - Up In Them Guts

brainmelter
December 6th 2016


4393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice this rules

I like what you did here but kind of feels like a sound off, this album deserves a little more depth and analysis

Digging: No Clear Mind - Mets

Shadowmire
December 6th 2016


4535 Comments


yeah i may expand on it in time, but i'm not a seasoned reviewer by any means and i felt this band and its records should at least have something.

50iL
December 6th 2016


4238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2] (brainmelter's comment)

This band fucking kicks ass tho

Digging: Yes - Fragile

brainmelter
December 6th 2016


4393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah I feel you on that, a shame none of their work has had a review on here(till now)

CaptainDooRight
December 7th 2016


2206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sweet! Pos!

FullOfSounds
December 7th 2016


15517 Comments


Could use more added, as others have said. However you summed up how this sounds pretty well.

JokineAugustus
February 9th 2017


8586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That riff in Untitled six with the sax omg

Aiwaz
April 27th 2017


3666 Comments


"This band fucking kicks ass tho"


Damn this is awesome! Thanks for that bro I never heard of this. Love me some Dan Swano, guy is amazing at everything he does.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy