Disembodied
If God Only Knew The Rest Were Dead


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dean R CONTRIBUTOR (52 Reviews)
December 1st, 2016 | 36 replies


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist


You could be forgiven for thinking that “Heroin Fingers”, the opener to If God Only Knew The Rest Were Dead, was a track about drug addiction seeming as it alludes to it in its title and makes lyrical references to “veins” and “lifeless” bodies; it’s just it’s actually about vampires, which makes me feel like a bit of an ass for listening to it under the apprehension it was about drug use for the last two years. Perhaps I should have clocked that the heavily melodramatic, whispered, opening monologue (“Merciless death/how you love your precious guilt/How you pathetically hold on to/ your insignificant martyrdom”) were more the words of a pale effeminate man than a junkie, but even 90s metalcore tended to lean towards the theatrical on occasions so I brushed my doubts aside. Besides, I think it’s testament to how well Disembodied approached the subject matter that It doesn’t come off the least bit “schlocky” or tacky, their grounded and fairly straightforward approach to metalcore no doubt assisting in that.

“Fairly straightforward” shouldn’t be misconstrued as generic though, because although they do certainly make use of many of the common tropes of metalcore (and couldn’t be taken for anything else) there is more than your standard fare of breakdowns on offer here. For example, “Heroin Fingers”’ opening of listless vocals, echoed whispering and melodic eeriness immediately sets them apart from a great deal of their contemporaries in scope. It makes the subsequent shocks of dissonance all the more affecting too; a sharp contrast between the disconcerting calmness and the crushing aggression that breaks it. This contrast is continued throughout the EP, the most striking example being the common juxtaposition of disinterested, spoken vocals and whispering against coarse shouted vocals and rumbling guitars.

Impressively, the spoken vocals (except for the opening quote) don’t come off as melodramatic or flowery, which for metalcore is a rare thing. I think it because of the understated way in which they’re said, almost with no intent behind them, or pretentions of importance. In this way they fit the understated approach Disembodied take to metalcore, no flashy bells and whistles, just good old fashioned discordance and speed. Strangely this is both a blessing and a curse, as it allows them to stick to what they do best and not get ahead of their selves with experimentation while resigning them to being pretty samey across the 20 minute runtime. And if all there is to complain about is that they stick to what they do best then they can’t have gone far wrong.



Recent reviews by this author
SeeYouSpaceCowboy... Fashion Statements of the Socially AwareUnsane Sterilize
Geotic NeptuneGeotic Duchenne Smile
Dizzee Rascal RaskitYowie Synchromysticism
user ratings (61)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i did another review

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - Marked For Death

accompliceofmydeath
December 1st 2016


4605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're my hero. This thing so stupid heavy. "Gone" is just unreal. I agree that these guys do the whisper vox better than pretty much anyone. Nice review.

Digging: Nerf Herder - Nerf Herder

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers man



jesterhead92
December 1st 2016


3421 Comments


YES A MORT METALCORE REVIEW



Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you know it fam

jesterhead92
December 1st 2016


3421 Comments


Haven't been listening to much core lately but this album/band is really great. Nice review too btw

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks, new zao is up and streaming today btw

accompliceofmydeath
December 1st 2016


4605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, damn. Gonna have to check that.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jamming it now and its pretty solid

jesterhead92
December 1st 2016


3421 Comments


Oh shit gonna have to get on that later

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A KISS OF DEATH

accompliceofmydeath
December 1st 2016


4605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This just reminded me that I met the guitarist in line for an Eyehategod show. I had a Disembodied shirt on and he used me as his plus one. That was cool.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude thats dope

accompliceofmydeath
December 1st 2016


4605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, most of the guys still live in the Minneapolis area, where I go to shows, so I've seen them on occasion. The one dude plays in a doom band. The vocalist lives in New York, I think. One guy started a stupid heavy band... Xathan? I can't remember the name, but I know it starts with an "X"

accompliceofmydeath
December 1st 2016


4605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahh, found it. It's Xaphan: https://xaphan.bandcamp.com/



I assume you're familiar with the other bands that came out of this; Martyr AD and Devilinside?

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not xibalba?

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never heard of xaphan will check them out.



yeah i know of martyr AD (tried to get into them but dont really dig them), never heard of devilinside tho will check

accompliceofmydeath
December 1st 2016


4605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahaha, no, not Xibalba, but they're pretty close.



I really like Martyr AD. It's basically these guys just playing double time. Devilinside kinda has a Slipknot vibe, but don't let that deter you.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2016


13224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

added xaphan to the site, cant find devilinside anywhere



you were right xaphan is heavy as balls

accompliceofmydeath
December 1st 2016


4605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Devilinside discog: https://www.discogs.com/artist/404385-Devilinside



Prelude EP: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RBUtRV4Xf8



Can't find Volume One at the moment. Might have been taken down.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy