Joyce Manor
Cody


4.0
excellent

Review

by is Wario a libertarian? USER (10 Reviews)
October 13th, 2016 | 151 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A drunken sing along.

Joyce Manor is a very straightforward band and it is very easy to understand their appeal. Their blend of emo and pop punk with relatable, down to earth lyrics contained to a short runtime have earned the band a considerable fanbase. Cody is a small step down from the excellent Never Hungover Again, but still a respectable album in it’s own right. Cody sees Joyce Manor strip away some of the raw aggression of their previous work and adopt a more streamlined pop-punk style. Naturally, this style change will have the detractors scream "sell out!" at the top of their lungs; however, it is a natural progression of the band’s sound. Cody excels in the use of some of the most creative and engaging melodies the band has ever written. Choruses, as per usual for Joyce Manor, are at the forefront of the album with a massive sound that makes you want to sing along. The jangly, bouncy guitars on songs such as “Angel in the Snow” and “Eighteen” harken back to the days of Johnny Marr’s work in The Smiths.

Cody however is not without it’s faults. The second half is less interesting than the first half, as well as being a bit more restrained and a bit boring with songs such as “Last You Heard of Me” but “Make Me Dumb” hits right back with a more aggressive melody that sounds like it was ripped straight from an Offspring song. The short 24-minute runtime makes the less interesting songs more forgivable. “Stairs” is the shining star of the album and one of the best songs they’ve ever written as well as one of the longest, clocking in at a whopping 4 minutes. The song has a massive feel and once again pays homage to post-punk with the jangly guitars and simple drum kick, as well as featuring some of the most massive sing along verses I have ever heard. Cody is an achievement, as their other albums are; it makes you want to crack open a beer and have a raucous night of fun singing along with your friends. The joys of youthful inexperience.



Recent reviews by this author
Ab-Soul Do What Thou Wilt.Serpentine Dominion Serpentine Dominion
Botanist/Oskoreien Green Metal/Deterministic ChaosDarkthrone Arctic Thunder
The Dillinger Escape Plan DissociationThe Devil Wears Prada Transit Blues
user ratings (180)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
McTime50 (4)
"I wrote this one for you/Cause that's all I could do/It's sad, but it's all true/So I guess it'll h...

Goldblum (4)
“Wrote my song down. Gave it to the guy. Then went to grab another beer.”...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Futures
October 13th 2016


9079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

two futures reviews in a few days? what the heck. criticism recommended! hope you dig

SnakeDelilah
October 13th 2016


18670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pos



still dig hungover and their s/t way more

Digging: Sorority Noise - You're Not As ____ As You Think

calmrose
October 13th 2016


1683 Comments


nice review Futures, I need to jam more of this band, only have listened to their debut which is great

Digging: Jeromes Dream - Seeing Means More Than Safety

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2016


12172 Comments


yeee boi

Digging: Lilys - Eccsame The Photon Band

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2016


11689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

woah futures you're a damn good reviewer respect man. 2 in a row too. great analysis only thing is im a big fan of Last You Heard of Me

Digging: Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me

Futures
October 13th 2016


9079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks to everyone! debut is the place to start obv. and i think i made the case for stairs haha

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2016


8189 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

might check this because of comparisons to The Smiths and Teenage Fanclub

Digging: Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me

timebetweentrains
October 13th 2016


88 Comments


this one is def a grower. it's gotten better with every listen, for me. but i totally agree the first half is better than the second

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2016


11689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this went from a 3.3 to a 3.7 quick i actually might 4 this soon

dimsim3478
October 13th 2016


7372 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i very much like the idea of a 24 minute album being a grower

Digging: The Pillows - Nook in the Brain

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2016


11689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah cuz it grows much quicker on your cuz it's easier to listen to tbh

kascetcadettt
October 13th 2016


1347 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nah i dunno didn't grow on me after almost 10 listens like the previous record did, but the first half is fucking perfect yea

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2016


11689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i mean im still in between 3.5/4 cant see it going much higher. back half def lacks too much but honestly its highlights are so charming its tough to fault the whole thing. like i feel guilty cuz i play eighteen, fake id, last you heard of me, and stairs so much.

Futures
October 13th 2016


9079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah fake id, eighteen, angel in the snow and stairs are all perfect songs tbh

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2016


11689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad we agree a lot on this futures. angel in the snow is top 5 for me ya

Futures
October 13th 2016


9079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet. i think people should give this a second chance. it's a bit softer sure but i still think it sounds like joyce manor and like i said i think this actually has their most interesting melodies

Tyler.
October 13th 2016


11604 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review

Digging: Gui Boratto - Chromophobia

YakNips
October 13th 2016


18910 Comments


pos, i dug their last one quite a bit so i'll give this a shot at some point

InfamousGrouse
October 13th 2016


4174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a bit boring with songs such as “Last You Heard of Me”.



get out of here

SnakeDelilah
October 13th 2016


18670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

make me dumb is easily the worst song on here



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy