Tigers Jaw
Tigers Jaw


4.5
superb

Review

by Connor CONTRIBUTOR (47 Reviews)
August 18th, 2016 | 176 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's time, it's time I live my life

As of recently, I’ve found that the type of music I want to listen more often than not is stuff that is fun, stuff that jams hard, and stuff that I can sing or yell along to without a care in the world. I’ve tried to figure out why this is; why do I gravitate towards this genre of carefree, catchy alt rock? It’s not that I’m necessarily feeling sad all the time and need a pick-me-up. In fact, I’m usually a pretty happy person in general, buffering between boredom and bliss throughout most days. It’s probably due to the fact that with this type of music, I can effortlessly lose myself within the notes and riffs of the songs. I don’t have to put any extreme concentration or focus into listening to albums like this, and I don’t have to go through the process of figuring out if I even enjoy the album or not. I can just plug in, press play, and escape.

Tigers Jaw’s self-titled album is one of those albums for me. Actually, it’s been THE album for me over the past couple of years. Back to front this album just screams fun jams, intoxicating melodies, and lively guitar parts. It’s one of those albums I always find myself wanting to come back to, whether it’s for the boisterous tracks like ‘The Sun’ or ‘I Saw Water’, or the anthemic songs like ‘Never Saw it Coming’, the album never fails to hook me in. Even some of the slower paced tracks like ‘Chemicals’ and ‘Meals on Wheels’ offer gratifying elements, like Brianna’s harmonies throughout the former track or the echoed, round-style chorus of “ONE, TWO, THREE, FOUR” on the latter. Tigers Jaw doesn’t have to be super meaningful with their lyrics, and I feel like they realize this as well. The closing track features simplistic yet memorable lines like, “I learned a lot about falling in love when I fell out of love” which, honestly, aren’t that insightful. But who cares when the song practically begs you to shout along with it, no matter how surface level the words they're singing are.

That’s not to say that all lyrics on here follow this pattern, however. In fact, many songs touch on some heavy subjects like loss of love, feelings of doubt and anxiety, and even commentary on being stuck in the American way of living. Tigers Jaw are at their most profound when lead singer Ben compares his feelings to that of the late Brian Jones, using the metaphor of drowning in a pool to articulate the bitter feelings right after a breakup. The beauty of lyrics like this though is that they never get too wordy, allowing for the possibility of easy dissection and, of course, singalong-y choruses. It’s easy to make catchy, fun music, but I’ve found out that the hardest part about making music like this is conveying genuine emotions to the listener. Tigers Jaw pour out their hearts on this album, truly making the listener believe that what they went through while writing these songs actually happened. They took their own raw emotions and transferred them into relatable songs that are just insanely fun to listen to. Sure, they didn’t break any boundaries with this album, but to me that doesn’t matter, because all I know is when I listen to this record I’ll enjoy every damn minute of it.



Recent reviews by this author
Kamixlo AngelicoThe World Is a Beautiful Place... Always Foreign
Jordan Rakei WallflowerHovvdy Taster
Cloakroom Time WellMelody's Echo Chamber Melody's Echo Chamber
user ratings (529)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
2HeadedBoy (5)
Hooked on the first listen - fantastic album...

Corey (3.5)
It's kind of what you'd expect from a new band you hear a lot of hype about; Nothing groundbreaking ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey there. wrote this review because noticed the flagged review wasn't the greatest and I thought I could add in my personal experience with this album. feedback would be appreciated!

Artuma
August 18th 2016


29061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos'd. i liked the personal take on this, it's not very deep but neither is the album. you pretty much nailed what the whole thing is about

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah that's exactly what I was going for tbh! glad you took it that way. honestly the lack of depth and maybe 1 song are the only things holding me back from 5ing this

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2016


22609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn now I'm hungry for pizza (good review)

Digging: Susanne Sundfor - Music For People In Trouble

Artuma
August 18th 2016


29061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

band should officially re-title this album to 'the pizza album'

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there's a reason why they call this "the pizza album" (and thanks)

Futures
August 18th 2016


9364 Comments


could prob do without the parentheticals in the first paragraph but good review. i totally agree with the aspect of listening to "fun" music. i can't listen to deep stuff all the time.

Digging: Color Film - Living Arrangements

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ehh yeah but I tried to keep this review p informal so I figured they were fine.

MistaCrave
August 18th 2016


2472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review is pretty good dude. I would've spent a bit more time talking about the instrumental aspects of the album and a bit less time talking about the lyrics. Other than that though, it was enjoyable and read fluidly. I love this album so much. It's such a great record do listen to when little things in life like failing friendships and/or relationships are the most of your worries, as is most emo. The immaturity honestly makes it 10x better.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i found it hard to talk about the instrumental aspects to be honest. thanks for the input though, might edit it a bit.

and yeah exactly my thoughts on this as well. seems so genuine

Artuma
August 18th 2016


29061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there is pretty much nothing to be told about the instrumental aspects here yeah

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the only thing unique really is the synth lol. everything seems pretty standard but its how the songs are conveyed that really makes this album shine. which is why I avoided talking about that and more so the genuine nature of the entire album/lyrics

MistaCrave
August 18th 2016


2472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, the genuineness is definitely the selling point for me. The production is minimal and everything feels totally organic. That's a telltale sign of a good musician/band, when they can convey emotion perfectly well even with minimal production.

AsleepInTheBack
August 18th 2016


4942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wonderfully personal review, and well written as always. Could be more descriptive on what the music actually sounds like, but otherwise great. Still yet to check this

TheSpaceMan
August 18th 2016


9296 Comments


that pizza has too much cheese, not enough sauce and way too limp. pos'd conman

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks friends (:

TheSpaceMan
August 18th 2016


9296 Comments


agreed with futures though it might be better off without the stuff in parentheses... like just saying "why do I gravitate towards carefree, catchy alt rock?" gets the same point across but with less convolution. oh and the comma before what I quoted should probably be a semicolon but thats all very trivial stuff in an otherwise good review

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok 2 ppl said it now I'll get rid of em. thx for the feedback

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2016


19218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fixed.

hal1ax
August 18th 2016


8830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lieeeee to meeeeeeeee

like you uuuuused toooooo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy