Pink Floyd
Wish You Were Here


5.0
classic

Review

by Floyd USER (2 Reviews)
May 26th, 2006 | 19 replies | 3,897 views


Release Date: 1975 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

When Dark Side of The Moon was released in 1973, few people thought such a hit could be followed up. But how to follow up a masterpiece?
With another one.

Shine On You Crazy Diamond pt.I
The album starts out with a low drone that catches you by suprise, you're now listening to the song. A beautiful horn plays gently over an orchestra playing a single note. Each instrument slowly starts, until David starts his bluesy guitar solo which causes each intrument to start. Then-silence. He then plays his echoey guitar, and the entire band starts up. Very mellow, but energetic. David's solo here is amazing-smooth and beatiful. It goes like this a while, untill the band slows to a sad little jam. He suddenly starts up again, and the solo is very jazzy. He starts his bluesy little verse, and suddenly the band is singing. This happens twice, and then another verse starts with some lady singers in the background. David's solo starts again, and it goes back to the verse. The chorus starts again, and the verse is sung one more time. It goes into the bridge, and a beautiful Saxaphone solo starts. The song fades out to the sound of machines whirring.

Welcome To The Machine
Second song on the album, the beginning is just machines whirring, and then goes into a pulsing two notes. A guitar starts, and then another. There's a lot of synthsizer in this song. The lyrics start, and it sounds painful. This song is obviously about Syd Barret (The whole album is really). There's either a 12 string guitar, or 2 guitars. They play some chords while the synthesizer has a solo. The lyrics start up again, and the song ends with a high pitched squeal, and then a crowd applauding.

Have A Cigar
Starts with a really funky guitar, then some synthesizer and drums. The lyrics start and it's sung by Roy Harper. We can tell this song is about mangers, fame, luxury, and Pink Floyd's first album reaction. The song ends with a killer guitar solo executed by David, and flows into the next track.

Wish You Were Here
Probably the highlight of the album, this starts out with someone switching stations on a radio. It suddenly stops and we get the famous guitar intro that almost everyone knows. It does this for about a minute, and the second guitar starts, crisper and louder. When the verse starts, it's just David and his guitar, but suddenly the bass, drums, and piano start. It's an amazing change, but then slowly mellows out to a nice scat/guitar solo. The song gets louder again, and David and Roger are harmonizing perfectly. The song ends with the opening intro this time with 3 guitars. There's a horn that was in the first track, and David starts some scat again. The song ends with wind blowing.

Shine On You Crazy Diamond pt.II
The last track, starts with the wind from WYWH, then progresses to a dark bass playing a single note. The guitar starts, and so does the orchestra and drums. While they play the repeating rhythm, there's a synthesizer solo. When this is finished, the energy increases, and there's David with a guitar solo. It goes way up on the frets, and slowly comes down to go back to the mood of the pt.I. The verse starts, and it's gentle and there's some harmonizing. Shine On You Crazy Diamond is sung, and the bridge starts, sounding great with harmonization and back up lady singers again. The next part is jazzy and really cool. The end of the song is slow and using a lot of the horn that we heard earlier. The piano plays a big part here too. The album ends very happily, reminds me of sunshine.

This is one of my favorite albums of all time, I highly reccomend it to all of you people. ALL OF YOU. RAHH.
This is only my second review, I hope you enjoyed it.
=D


user ratings (4496)
Chart.
4.6
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Bron-Yr-Aur
May 26th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rather short, but well-written, and you are on the right track review-wise. However, this album (like most Pink Floyd), just bores me to tears.

The Sludge
May 26th 2006



2169 Comments


Wait! only 5 tracks? LIke, are the songs like long? Wow, just that I never heard of anything being only 5 tracks without being an EP.

Floyd
May 26th 2006



65 Comments


Yeah..well, I don't really like reviews where it talks about the band's past and other work. When I review an album, I review that album alone. I focus on the album.
Oh, sludge, yeah. A lot of their albums are around 5 songs. They're long songs.This Message Edited On 05.26.06

The Sludge
May 26th 2006



2169 Comments


BTW, in your opening statement, where you put "With another one." It would have so much more effect with a "With another one, of course. But thats just my $0.02. And its minor, just disregard what I said, kinda stupid to bring up.

Floyd
May 26th 2006



65 Comments


That's okay, thanks.
I'll take all the constructive criticism I can get.

tom79
May 26th 2006



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[quote=the_sludge]Wait! only 5 tracks? LIke, are the songs like long? Wow, just that I never heard of anything being only 5 tracks without being an EP.[/quote]
Have you ever listened to Pink Floyd before? or even heard of them for that matter? There are plenty of albums with 5, 6 or 7 songs and are almost an hour or more in length.This Message Edited On 05.26.06

Digging: Braid - No Coast

Buddha Bassline
May 26th 2006



16 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love this album. This, DSOTM, and The Wall are my favs. This makes me want to write a Floyd review. Good Job.

Killtacular
May 26th 2006



1314 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

GYBE! has an album that's only 3 tracks, and is over an hour long. Albums like that aren't as rare as you think they are, Mr. Sludge.

pulseczar
May 26th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wait! only 5 tracks? LIke, are the songs like long? Wow, just that I never heard of anything being only 5 tracks without being an EP.


Ha, a prog rock virgin.

Floyd
May 26th 2006



65 Comments


Tee Hee.
Thanks for the reviews guys.

Jimmy
May 26th 2006



717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Don't simply go through each song and say exactly what happens musically. That isn't helpful for people who have never heard the album. Talk about the feel of the album, the emotion and the meaning.

Floyd
May 26th 2006



65 Comments


Okay, next time I will.

Thanks.

Bron-Yr-Aur
May 26th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm giving you a positive vote. Do not get discouraged, as with time you could be great.

Zebra
Moderator
May 26th 2006



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Pretty good tbt review although it would have been nice to see a lenghtier intro and conclusion. In my opinion Wish You Were Here is a borefest and one of Pink Floyds weakest albums.

GenuineImitation
May 31st 2006



49 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is possibly one of my favorite Floyd albums.

The Door Mouse
June 23rd 2006



2092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think this ablum is very very good but i just wish it was a tad longer

jazzfromhell
June 24th 2006



9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

To continue the discussion above...there are some free jazz, probably progressive rock, Grateful Dead shows (as in, I've heard of them playing a show where they just jammed on Casey Jones for a couple hours), stoner metal, and avant-garde/experimental albums that each consist of a single track. And some of those are way longer than this, like 60-70 minutes.

But anyway, back on topic. Wish You Were Here is one of the greats, the only Floyd album I like more is Dark Side of the Moon. The whole album is great, the only tracks that are a bit weaker than the rest are Welcome to the Machine and Have a Cigar (IMO). If this album just consisted of both parts of Shine on You Crazy Diamond and Wish You Were Here, it would still be brilliant (a bit short, but brilliant nonetheless). Also, one of my favorite album covers.

Jim
June 27th 2006



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not my favourite Floyd album, but it does include my favourite work by them - Shine on You Crazy Diamond Part I.
As for the review, Jimmy put it well. Don't just illustrate exactly what happens musically, or go through the song structure. Just give an idea of what it sounds like, whether it's strong in parts, or just how it makes you feel.

The album ends very happily, reminds me of sunshine.
Good! Corny. But good! Now do that a hundred times and you'll be set.

Floyd
June 29th 2006



65 Comments


I like sunshine >.>



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy