Drudkh / Hades Almighty
One Who Walks With the Fog / Pyre Era, Black!


4.0
excellent

Review

by Hawks USER (92 Reviews)
July 11th, 2016 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Breaking news: Drudkh has been found alive and well after being missing for the past 7 or so years.... Oh and Hades Almighty come back from the dead as well.

It feels like it's been forever since Drudkh has put out anything that has really rocked the black metal scene. The past 3 albums have been, for lack of a better word, forgettable. Some people deeming them to be straight up garbage. Roman kind of replaced his ferocious mixture of atmospheric black metal and Ukranian folk music with a more simple black/post metal sound that just doesn't work how he was planning on. It seems we haven't heard anything excellent from Drudkh since 2009's Microcosmos. And does anyone remember Hades Almighty? They never got as much exposure as some of their Norewegian counterparts, but they were always a great band when they did put material out. So it's only right that these two bands join forces to release this split in 2016, with two Drudkh tracks and three Hades Almighty tracks respectively.

Drudkh is up first here and Roman wastes no time proving his intentions with these two tracks. First of all he sounds reinvigorated and like he actually wanted to put some effort into this project. Gone are the drawn out post metal moments and half assed attempt at building an atmosphere, which he used to (and still could) do so well. This could be the most black metal that Drudkh has sounded on a recording. Even dropping most of the folk influences from the past, the two Drudkh tracks here wouldn't sound out of place on a new Mayhem album. Ferocious vocals, blistering trems, and blasting drums. Being how mediocre the recent Drudkh stuff has been, I would say this is 100% a step in the right direction and should please any long time fans of the band.

So that leaves us with three Hades Almighty tracks. I'm not sure how familiar some of you are with their music, but I'll give you some background. They started off as a folk black metal band on their first 3 albums or so. With their most recent album, The Pulse of Decay, they opt for a more experimental black metal sound with heavy industrial influences as well. This side of the split is just as impressive as Drudkh's, combining elements from their early folk days and their more recent experimental leanings.

Overall I would highly recommend this split. Not too much to digest, clocking in at just under 40 minutes and production values are above average. It displays Drudkh coming back into their own and Hades Almighty picking up right where they left off with their last LP.



Recent reviews by this author
Desecresy Stoic DeathMesarthim Isolate
Arizmenda Without Circumference Nor CenterAxis of Light L'appel du vide
Mayhem Live in LeipzigDraconian Sovran
user ratings (12)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 10th 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review in a while. Split rules. m/

Digging: Mur - Heartworn

zaruyache
July 10th 2016


17707 Comments


"for lack of a better word, forgettable"

oh no, that's exactly the word you were looking for.

Hawks
July 10th 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well yeah you're right lol.

MoosechriS
July 11th 2016


6082 Comments


Lost faith in drudkh after the last album, but it sounds like i should take a chance with this one. Pos'd dude

Flugmorph
July 11th 2016


17254 Comments


is it a resurrection
a resurrection from de derp?

im slightly curious...

well not really

Digging: Enter Shikari - The Spark

Thealwaysopenedmind
July 11th 2016


626 Comments


Pretty good, short review. I hit it with a positive. Just a few things though, I think you meant "attempts" instead of attempt in your second paragraph.

"Gone are the drawn out post metal moments and half assed attempt at building an atmosphere..."

Also,

"Ferocious vocals, blistering trems, and blasting drums."

reads to me like a sentence fragment, but maybe that's what you were going for. Just some stuff I saw.


Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 11th 2016


10152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yea split rules, review is solid



m/m/m/

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Thrice Woven

Hawks
July 11th 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bros. m/



Will edit the review later, have to write everything on my phone so I know there's probably some mistakes.

Sinternet
July 11th 2016


14625 Comments


m/m/m/m/
m/ review

Digging: Circa Survive - The Amulet

Thealwaysopenedmind
July 11th 2016


626 Comments


^ I hear you on that. Autocorrect butchers text nowadays.

Hawks
July 11th 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Sin. m/



And yeah bro, it's not easy typing a whole review on an iPhone, but fuck it lol.

Thealwaysopenedmind
July 11th 2016


626 Comments


Gotta do what you gotta do, man. Haha.

Moge
July 11th 2016


380 Comments


Need to check out, short and sweet review. m/

zaruyache
July 11th 2016


17707 Comments


Tbh i read the review last night and it felt really rushed for a Hawks review. I noticed some things needing fixing if i remember right. For shame hawks

Hawks
July 11th 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh most of my reviews are rushed tbh hahahaha. I just like to get albums some exposure.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2016


10787 Comments


Nice write-up. Where can I hear this?

Digging: Rabor - ?????????

Hawks
July 12th 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bandcamp broski. m/

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2016


22601 Comments


nice one hawks. gonna check both the new drudkh splits now

Digging: Susanne Sundfor - Music For People In Trouble

Hawks
July 12th 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bro, I gotta jam the one with Drift hard.

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
August 7th 2016


10787 Comments


Nice bump, forgot to check this out



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy