Raime
Tooth


3.7
great

Review

by Jonny Hunter STAFF
June 27th, 2016 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: don't bother, they're here

Three years have passed since we last heard from London duo Raime. Moving from 2012’s Quarter Turns Over a Living Line, Moin capitalised on the distortion which made their sound so characteristically ominous. Its rhythmic, industrial noise spoke of ever approaching violence but sturdy post-rock roots kept this violence human. Tooth does the opposite, instead peeling back Quarter Turn’s distorted skin to reveal something all the more cold and threatening.

The impression is different – the violence is not advancing but here already – and it moves with a perpetual, jittery energy. Dub undercurrents animate loops whose rigid restraint invites images of sci-fi horrors: the biomechanical not-quite-human. Tooth is icy, uncaring, and the sense of terror only rises as the indifference of its eight tracks becomes more familiar. There is no bargaining with music like this. It is the sound of methodical and inevitable destruction.

There is a reason zombies are so terrifying: they do not feel fear. Our actions become meaningless, we cannot understand, we lose hope. Tooth contains a similar apocalypse, but the end is synthetic and mechanical, its agents sharp and metallic. Yet even amongst this peril is a kind of hypnotism and fatalistic allure. “Dead Heat” marches determined through a hazy swirl of deftly picked guitar notes, while “Stammer” almost seems to extend an invitation to join in the destruction. We are mesmerised by the very thing that threatens to end us.

The new sound is a long time coming from Raime, whose earlier releases made up so much of home-label Blackest Ever Black, but the wait comes with a reward. They return with something more uniquely insidious than anything heard from the label so far, something which attacks and intoxicates in equal measure, completely assured of its success and all the more awe-inspiring for it. If Moin and Quarter Turns echo the victim’s fear, clutching on to one last thought before the end – “I’m scared, I’m vulnerable, please make this stop” – then Tooth contains the answer, “no”.




Recent reviews by this author
kj wakeTape Loop Orchestra Go Straight Towards the Light of All That You Love
Phaeleh All That RemainsBrian Eno The Ship
Gidge LulinRival Consoles Howl
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2016


2897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

blackesteverblack.bandcamp.com/album/tooth

hal1ax
June 27th 2016


8699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hmm I had a hard time getting into this record. I feel like it just lacks the replay value of Quarter Turns. I need to jam it again tho

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2016


2897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I'd say give it a shot, but I can see how it might turn some people off. Personally I found it much more engaging than Quarter Turns.

hal1ax
June 27th 2016


8699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's interesting. I remember just feeling nothing when I heard it, but maybe that's the point lol. I will listen again for sure

brainmelter
June 27th 2016


4389 Comments


will check this, lovveedd Quarter Turns

Digging: No Clear Mind - Mets

Sniff
June 27th 2016


3864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I also found this to be slightly more engaging than Quarter Turns

Chortles
June 27th 2016


20729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ohhhh fuk i did not know there was a new raime, really stoked to give this a go

Digging: DJ Rashad - Just A Taste

musicallychallenged
June 28th 2016


513 Comments


great review

Ryus
June 28th 2016


15395 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i like this a lot less than their first

Digging: King Krule - The OOZ

Chortles
June 28th 2016


20729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i dig it, quarter turns is king tho

Asdfp277
June 28th 2016


15297 Comments


what a menacing summary

TzarChasm
June 28th 2016


269 Comments


Never heard of this band and I haven't listened to the album yet, but that was a fantastically written review—particularly that ending sentence. Stellar finale.

Mister Twister
June 29th 2016


2495 Comments


is it a requirement to become a staffer that review summaries need to be a lyric from the album that makes no fucking sense due to its lack of context

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2016


2897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

(1) not a lyric, (2) sets the tone, (3) makes more sense after reading the review as it tacs off a metaphor and (4) is a Stars of the Lid reference.

Also, yes.

Mister Twister
June 29th 2016


2495 Comments


k just making sure

deezer666
June 29th 2016


2558 Comments


i like this a lot less than their first'

Same here. Pretty boring and cant feel the atmosphere on this at all

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2016


2897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Would ask you to try coming from it from a different angle, but I understand. Some of their other stuff turns me off in the same way, because that specific guitar-based darkness has always seemed to bounce off me, but the more jaunty, repetitive dub side of this gets some of those old muslimgauze fibers going and i'm just there. Probably just comes down to what we're used to, and how this helps us see it in a certain light.

deezer666
June 29th 2016


2558 Comments


I dont come at any angle when I listen to this field of music man. I dont expect another quarter.I dont expect anything. I just found the whole record pretty lifeless and boring on first few listens. I will listen a few more times before I cement that opinion of course.

scissorlocked
July 1st 2016


3527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

well, It definitely has some attitude and vibe, but it seems like they haven't harnessed repetition with the creativity that would make this more exciting. needs its time though.



review is cool

Aluktodolo
November 25th 2016


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one just kept getting better and better. Amazing sound design, too, so all that layering ends up being completely hypnotic, even though it's pretty jarring on the surface.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy