Abnormality
Mechanisms of Omniscience


3.5
great

Review

by Dalton DuBois USER (30 Reviews)
May 19th, 2016 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All of the Earth becomes a casket...

Death Metal as a whole has had so many varieties of different sub genres emerge in the last ten years that expectations for each of the genres have been raised; unfortunately, it’s been rather difficult to find variety throughout the wades of repetitive guitar wanking, death growls, and macabre artwork. Abnormality doesn’t bring anything particularly unique to the table, but the strength of its execution in the form of a well meshed combination of strong riffs, melodic and occasionally intricate guitar work, varied drum work, and strong production values make this effort worth the listen.

“Swarm” is immediately gripping with its riff heavy approach and sets the tone for what you’re going to be hearing throughout most of the album, balls to the wall riff work. Dashes of intricate guitar licks and melodic soloing are present throughout the effort such as in tracks like “Vigilant Ignorance.” What comes as a surprise is how the drums steal the show; instead of taking the easy route and feigning skill with repetitive blast beats, there’s a good number of great fills throughout each of the songs, and every song has a solid framework because of it. The band tries to experiment with pacing and ambiance, such as on the crushing instrumental “Assimilation” in which thirty second well mixed intro with various natural noises such as barn doors creaking and wind howling create a solid lead in to establish the tone before the slower guitar arrangement comes pounding in. While that's been done before, it's executed here in a way that feels fresh.

There are a few noticeable downsides to this record though; such as the vocals consistently staying at the same tone throughout the entirety of the album. There are no caterwauling shrieks to capitalize on a particularly intricate melodic section, or brutally low growls or squeals to help make a breakdown even heavier. They stay in the same mid-low semi-growl stage throughout the entire record and it quickly grows stale and distracts from the competent musicianship. The lyricism is your standard death metal fair and nothing stands out.

Abnormality has a lot of potential to become a driving force in the genre if they vary up their vocals, attempt lyrical topics that aren’t overdone, and continue to expand the instrumental groundwork they’ve laid here. For now, this is still a hard hitting and enjoyable record with plenty of tracks to go back to.



Recent reviews by this author
Onision OnisionDead by April Worlds Collide
Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 14 in C# minor, Op. 27Soundtrack (Film) Transformers - Age of Extinction
Jeffree Star Cupcakes Taste Like Violence2814 新しい日の誕生
user ratings (31)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Snide
May 19th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Any critique / corrections you have for my review, please share!

rasi
May 19th 2016


91 Comments


Wow. An Abnormality review without a single mention of the female vocalist. Well done

Hellscythe
May 19th 2016


2047 Comments


a female death metal vocalist? you might say that's.. an abnormality

Digging: Akercocke - Words That Go Unspoken...

Snide
May 19th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't think it'd be relevant for a band like this.

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
May 19th 2016


1979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What I heard of this was better than Contaminating, will prob check

bloc
May 19th 2016


42985 Comments


"I didn't think it'd be relevant for a band like this."

Dude the only reason why I bothered checking this album out was when I saw the band pic and there was a woman haha.

I listened to a track and was like ok not bad, but then saw that the woman was the vocalist and was like HOLY FUCK

Snide
May 19th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Honestly I try to ignore gender when reviewing to stay objective about the quality of the music. Giving extra or not enough credit are both prevalent in reviewing with gender biases

zaruyache
May 19th 2016


17508 Comments


How would there being lots of different subgenres make the genre stagnant? Might wanna expand/reword that.

Digging: Gabor Szabo - Dreams

Snide
May 20th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"How would there being lots of different subgenres make the genre stagnant? Might wanna expand/reword that."

Yeah I should have been more clear with that; I was trying to say that within each of the various subgenres most of the bands do the exact same thing without variation.

TheNotrap
May 20th 2016


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Catchier than CTHM, cool stuff.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2016


10120 Comments


"Ironically, what steals the show here is the drums;"

why is this ironic?

is this that random ass band that was on rock band 2?

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2016


10120 Comments


o wo

cheap shot snoxbro

Snide
May 20th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Gameofmetal: Just fixed the irony part, also I'm not sure tbh, never played Rock Band 2.



@Ov: I decided to reword that first statement so it wasn't so weirdly put and I changed the irony part, I thought I was using it in the right way. As for the ambiance part, I should have mentioned that it was the well done execution that made it appealing which I added in. Also damn, bringing up the MTYW card.

Dmax28
May 20th 2016


361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea this was the band that had that "Visions" song on Rock Band 2. It was the heaviest thing I had ever heard back then. And I think because of being on the game they were the first brutal death metal band heard by a lot of kids. It was actually really hilarious to play and listen to at the time.

This album is really well done. They get into some sweet flows.

Manqaness24
May 26th 2016


156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought this record was good but nothing out of the ordinary for them. I was expected more but them moving to Metal Blade Records and leaving the generic-fest known as Severed records. They were one of the only bands on that label worth listening to.

Snide
May 26th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't think I've listend to any bands off Severed Records



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy