Black Peaks
Statues


4.0
excellent

Review

by NorwichScene USER (11 Reviews)
April 14th, 2016 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yet another awesome UK band!

Progressive hardcore quartet Black Peaks come from Brighton, UK. The band initially formed in 2012 as an instrumental math-rock three-piece under the name ‘Shrine’. After a few months of playing with no vocalist they then discovered Will Gardner and released three singles together.

Staues is an ambitious debut album perfectly combining progressive rock, metal and hardcore together. The record has a bold introduction with the remastered opening track ‘Glass Built Castles’. It immediately caught my attention with its brilliant riffs, fast drums and Will’s coarse yells and impressive singing. The track builds up nicely before unpredictability cutting out transitioning into a calmer melodic sound. Pleasant harmonies give way to thunderous guitars in the chorus.

‘Crooks’ and ‘Say You Will’ are the other previously released singles that have been remastered for the album. Will’s unique voice makes the band’s songs memorable as he has the talent to blend shattering vocals with melodic singing whilst complimenting the bands instrumentation.

The fast-paced 7-minute epic ‘Hang Em High’ is the longest track on the record and showcases their early math-influences. Another long 6-minute track is ‘Drones’, which provides a progressive intro, post-hardcore verse, Oceansize style chorus, Tool inspired weird melodic work driving the track and finally delving off into slightly Karnivool tone (I think that’s enough name drops for one song). It’s quite unbelievable how they manage to mesh so many influences together for a debut album. That’s how impressive these guys endless range of sound is on ‘Statues’.

‘Set in Stone’ is the most accessible song. This track shows the more popular radio friendly side of the band. Will's verses have a Jeff Buckley vibe to them that contrasts with the chorus.

Nearing the end of the album, ‘White Eyes’ is another highlight with its alt-rock chorus, strong harmonies, layered guitars, frantic drumming and yet again showing off Will’s singing abilities. Jamie Lenman (ex- Reuben), appears on album closer “To Take The First Turn“, unleashing his trademark throaty bellows trading off with Will’s over some thunderous post-metal riffs.

Overall, I would say ‘Statues’ is a real accomplishment for Black Peaks. This debut album is a statement of intent, full of promise and oozes creativity. You can tell the band just wanted to please themselves mixing all their favourite genres together and it pleases us too.

For fans of: Arcane Roots, Oceansize, Reuben and Mastodon



Recent reviews by this author
Ducking Punches Fizzy BrainLonely the Brave The Day's War
Flood of Red ThrowSilverstein This Is How the Wind Shifts
Heart in Hand Almost ThereMallory Knox Signals
user ratings (97)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2016


13089 Comments


they were solid live when i saw them at norwich arts centre a few months back


Digging: Palais Schaumburg - Palais Schaumburg

elephantREVOLUTION
April 14th 2016


2948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album rules

Sinternet
April 14th 2016


14484 Comments


Ahh yes i've been meaning to check this, slways good to rep the local scene

Digging: Circa Survive - The Amulet

NorwichScene
April 14th 2016


2322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I knew you'd of heard /seen them Dean! Great little band I just had to review

Digging: Gang of Youths - Go Farther in Lightness

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2016


13089 Comments


ah man my memory is so bad i had an inkling i had spoken to you about them but couldnt remember or not

Spacesh1p
April 15th 2016


6921 Comments


Nice review, I always enjoy reading your stuff NorwichScene.

Digging: William Basinski - A Red Score in Tile

DanielNightLewis
April 15th 2016


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

These guys are from my town, seen them a bunch of times and they're better live than on the album. It feels very sterile to me. Some good moments here and there and the odd great moment (I really like the guitar on Glass Built Castles) but it's all marred by playing out kind of predictably and lacks punch beyond the production.



Then again being a hometown band I might be suffering from overexposure.



The review was really good regardless. There is a real flavour for how this sounds, which is often not the case at all with review on here.

NorwichScene
April 15th 2016


2322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers Matt and Dan. They are quite a difficult band to review but I tried. First few seconds remind me of ETID, Glass Built Castles probably is their best song to date

NorwichScene
April 15th 2016


2322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

P.S. I'm like that with Deaf Havana Dan. Seen so many times and overexposed. Saying that they haven't released anything in a while since Chris left the band

NorwichScene
July 9th 2016


2322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Saw them live tonight at the Owl Santuary. It was ridiculously hot! They were awesome, even though only 40 min set as too hot

Wearingyourmomsface
July 29th 2016


196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm really enjoying this album. This is their debut? Fucken ace, man. Surprised it ain't trending.

NorwichScene
July 29th 2016


2322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, this is their debut album

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2016


13089 Comments


Still need to give this a proper listen

Wearingyourmomsface
August 1st 2016


196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very nice vocal delivery.

JesusCage
October 4th 2016


158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good album

Digging: Arcane Roots - Melancholia Hymns

SnakeDelilah
October 4th 2016


19751 Comments


sounds like potsy would love this

Digging: END (NJ) - From the Unforgiving Arms of God

StickFeit
June 1st 2017


647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is very cool, hyped to see them next week

StickFeit
June 8th 2017


647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Live these guys are insane, holy shit

JesusCage
June 8th 2017


158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They are promising.

StickFeit
June 21st 2017


647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah they are, hope they get more recognition with the next one.







You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy