Rosetta
The Galilean Satellites


5.0
classic

Review

by Nick Mongiardo CONTRIBUTOR (131 Reviews)
January 20th, 2016 | 73 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ambitious, large in scope, and downright powerful, The Galilean Satellites exists as an incredible experience.

The Galilean Satellites is widely regarded as a post metal classic for a number of warranted reasons. Rosetta’s willingness to push themselves into innovative territory with only their debut album at their disposal exists as one of the biggest reasons. It’s a ballsy move, but maybe that’s what bands should try to do more often: Push themselves to be great. By adding numerous layers of ambiance and spacious synthesizers, Rosetta managed to give birth to a fresh atmosphere that combines post metal and space rock with ease. Aided by soaring vocals, fantastic musicianship and a wonderfully ambitious vision, one can’t help but admire the band’s handy work here. Some bloated song lengths and one dimensional vocals aside, The Galilean Satellites proves to be one hell of a musical experience.

“Absent/Beta Aquilae” alone brings about everything fantastic regarding this record. Though relatively free of vocals, the band’s evocative approach to the genre shines through. Driven by stellar bass and guitar work alike, “Absent/Beta Aquilae” delivers a memorably eerie atmosphere with the aide of some effective percussion. There are so many nuances and layers to this track. It’s a rewarding balance between repetitive riffs, atmospheric ambiance and an overall ominous vibe. “Departe/Deneb” also conveys these emotions in a similar light. It’s another instance where the bass and guitar really work exceptionally well. It also introduces the listener to undeniably impressive harsh vocals and the album’s immersive nature by consistently layering synthesizers underneath the heaviness. While these tracks excel at swallowing the listener in villainous tones, other tracks like “Europa/Capella” and “Itinerant” prove themselves downright inspiring and empowering.

“Europa/Capella” right off the bat starts off with some beautifully played atmospheric guitar work, with it only to explode into a powerful mix of fuzz and robust harsh vocals. Though the bass and drums get drowned out by the colossal noise, this can easily be forgiven because it’s that engaging. As for the towering crescendo near the end, let’s just say it’ll blow you away. “Itinerant/Ross 128” functions in a similar manner, but refreshingly changes up the pace with by starting off with layers of graceful piano melodies, uplifting strings and chilling samples of static near the end. It’s so potent that one could easily forget that this is a metal album first and foremost. Suddenly, with the inspiring mood still intact, it erupts into an exhilarating wall of satisfying riffs and exceptional drumming. Lengthy repetition aside, the song never manages to lose anyone’s attention because the band’s approach happens to be so engrossing and mesmerizing. It’s about as hypnotic as a song could get and brings to mind space in the traditional sense. These songs are what this record is all about.

Granted, the record could have ended on a higher note of course. “Au Pays Natal/Sol,” though somewhat compelling for the first half, unfortunately stagnates quite a bit towards the end. The vocals are powerful and well executed nonetheless, but they can have a tendency to sound quite monotonous. His tone never really changes throughout the record and that’s definitely evident as he consistently repeats the phrase “Shell of a man” over and over again in "Au Pays Natal/Sol." Coupled with this flaw, this track is also the first one to cause any attention to deviate due to its repetition and unnecessary length. Thankfully, it’s the final track and the rest of the record holds up incredibly well in comparison and doesn't cause the record to overstay its welcome. The Galilean Satellites exists as an absolute triumph. It without a doubt stands out with the rest of the genre's giants with its space rock atmosphere and compelling vision. It’s for this reason that anyone who is a fan of post metal should not pass this up because you’re in for a unique experience.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice To Be Everywhere Is to Be NowhereHaken The Mountain
Cult of Luna and Julie Christmas MarinerExplosions in the Sky The Wilderness
Rush Moving PicturesYndi Halda Under Summer
user ratings (681)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Nathaniel (4.5)
In the shadows of post metal giants, Rosetta exemplifies all that the genre is and should be. This i...

FourSquare20 (4.5)
A celestial journey of an album full of unrelenting heaviness and sheer beauty....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey guys, feels good to be writing again. Needed a lengthy hiatus. Was thinking about this one lately and worked hard on this today.



Any critiques are welcome. Cheers!

Ocean of Noise
January 20th 2016


6507 Comments


While this isn't an overlong review, the content itself could use a lot of fat-trimming. This is something I notice in a lot of your writing.

Try this: Go through every single word of your first paragraph. For each word, ask yourself: "Does this word NEED to be here?" If the answer is no, get rid of the word. Rinse and repeat for the rest of the review if you feel like it.

Digging: My Dying Bride - The Dreadful Hours

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea I hear ya. I consider it a problem and I also don't because it like to spice it my writing ya know? But I'll do it right now thanks.



Edit: Did a little bit of trimming

tommygun
January 20th 2016


26261 Comments


oh hey a verbose mongi review :D

Digging: Dinosaur Jr. - Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2016


14878 Comments


Fun drinking game for this review: take a shot every time you see the words "post" or "metal" :D

But seriously, great review Nick. It's a little wordy in places, but doesn't really mar the overall read. For me the only irks in reading are the occasional conversational expressions you use and some hyperbole. But like I said this is one of the better ones I've read lately in terms of your working on those minor things. Keep up the good work! I shall jam this soon, definitely in the coming months.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Alright I can take a hint lol took out some of those cause I didn't realize how many times I used "post metal" :D I scan it more now actually.



Yea I'm a bit wordy I can take things out. It's just kinda my style honestly. I'm wordy in my writing and outside of it.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 20th 2016


14878 Comments


I can be wordy too, but I've really cracked down on myself in the past few months, forced myself to sound more objective and professional. It takes a while to get used to but I think improved a good amount b/c of it.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
January 20th 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You definitely have dude. And I trimmed down a lot more. I could still definitely improve more, but thanks for saying this is an improvement over my past work means a lot.

Shuyin
January 20th 2016


12983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's cool Mongi, this is a great review. Album owns, hard jams, yada yada

Digging: Frontierer - Orange Mathematics

doomjitsu
January 21st 2016


1240 Comments


THIS BAND IS LIFE

Archelirion
January 21st 2016


3859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

'let’s just say it’ll make blow you away' - don't think that 'make' should be there. Regardless, absolutely mint review dude, easy mental pos! I disagree entirely with your part on Au Pays Natal, as the closing half of that is probably one of my favourite musical moments tbh, but aside from that I can't fault ;]

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks man, that was another phrase and didn't realize the make was still there haha



Yea for me that part is just kinda like alright we get it the shell is empty xD

Artuma
January 21st 2016


24938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed with aaron, great review but i also think au pays natal is astonishing all the way through. also you might wanna change the name of the track (it's 'natal' not 'metal')

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
January 21st 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Whoops I'm stupid. I got an education I swear xD Idk why I kept writing 'Metal. I guess I'm in the minority here, I honestly what the record to end by the second half. Thanks man.

Oceandrowned
February 15th 2016


399 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Au Pays Natal is fantastic. But very good review overall on post-metal classics, thanks. BTW that track touches people who dont even like or appreciate metal for some reason.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks man. Yea I seem to be in the minority in thinking it drags but can't help it. The rest of the album is perfection.

Archelirion
February 15th 2016


3859 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Every single time I hear this it feels me with the same level of awe. Such a strangely beautiful album.

magicuba
February 18th 2016


707 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I read great things about this album, but I can't get into it

Oceandrowned
February 19th 2016


399 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its one of those albums that should not be listened on headphones. The music here is very wall of sound nature, and i dont think any headphones can translate the real feel of that kind of music.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2016


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Itinérant and Absent sound incredible with bose headphones



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy