Whitehouse
Thank Your Lucky Stars


4.5
superb

Review

by CaliggyJack USER (55 Reviews)
January 16th, 2016 | 18 replies


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist

Review Summary: He was only just beginning.

I decided against making a phoenix reference in regards to Whitehouse's return to the scene in 1990. Whitehouse was never that graceful. Rather, they are a lich. A necromantic beast that has died and completed the trials needed to become truly undead, now an abomination of mother nature wrought upon Earth. To celebrate this resurrection, William Bennett created a new label to introduce this in Susan Lawly, announcing their new album Thank Your Lucky Stars.

Right off the bat Hungry For Pain hits hard. Endless droning and echoes fill the track as a screeching synth bursts through as if the skies are now opening up to reveal the end of the world. Slowly as the track goes on, a drill sound can be heard endlessly as your cranium begs for air, but Willy Boy won't give it to you. Instead he will give you Thank Your Lucky Stars; a squeaky drone with a strong percussion filling in the background as William's voice is edited to give this alien vibe. It is as if Whitehouse is ascending beyond what it used to be, turning into something even more grotesque than they were. Ghostly chirping that has been distorted is shoved in and out, the percussion gets stronger, and suddenly I find myself fearing that something is coming; something bad.

Try And Be Grateful damns all forms of conventional taste, booming out horns sounds and distorted echoes. The real treat though is My Cock's On Fire which returns to the old Whitehouse, with screaming and what I believe to be the distorted audio of the atomic bomb's test explosion back in the 1940's. Soon the droning gets louder and a volumizer makes itself known as I am bombarded with a cacophony of cataclysmic proportions. It is a euphoric sound to hear, and Whitehouse has changed.

Steve Albini was the best addition Whitehouse ever got. He turned the group into something far bigger than anyone ever imagined, applying his avant-garde craft to making an amazing 22 minute album. The only thing keeping me from giving it a 5 is its short length, but other than that, it is truly amazing. I suppose since we thought they were never coming back we should... Thank our lucky stars?



Recent reviews by this author
Blink-182 CaliforniaQuiet Riot 10
Black Malachite Pitch Dark Neon - EPMamamoo Melting
KISS Dressed to KillWhitehouse Bird Seed
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
ArsMoriendi
January 16th 2016


16164 Comments


Looks like Beachhouse should have done some research before picking a title heh.

Digging: DJ Shadow - Endtroducing...

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

top kek

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Small, pretty dumb question



How do you get your avatar to show up on your comments? My avatar only shows up on my profile but not when I comment. Why is that?

Supercoolguy64
January 16th 2016


7641 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lil' mayo

Digging: My Dad Is Dead - ...And He's Not Gonna Take It Anymore

Supercoolguy64
January 16th 2016


7641 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

also to answer your question:

Go To the "COMMUNITY" button on the top of the page, that will take you to the forum section of the site

If you havn't already, there's a login section on the top right, do that, then you will see an underline link called user cp by the top left

click that, then go to "Edit Avatar" in the control panel.

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stahp

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, thank you SCG, been wondering this shit forever. Also, how the hell does everyone else not get their shite censored but I do?

ArsMoriendi
January 16th 2016


16164 Comments


"My avatar only shows up on my profile but not when I comment. Why is that?"

Those are actually different pictures. You seem to have to Profile picture up, but not your avatar. Go on your profile, find "edit my info" and click it, under "settings and options" you should see the option "edit avatar" and yeah figure out the rest from there (also make sure to pick a .jpg for your avatar.

Supercoolguy64
January 16th 2016


7641 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

if you wanna say a cuss, just put a code in the word itself

for example:



FU[ I][/ I]CK



then it will show up as "FUCK" in the review

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, both of you!



I think I will choose this album cover by Big Sean. Since The Pale Emperor is mostly a White over Black cover while Dark Sky Paradise is Black over White.

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, be sure to check out my list which I just posted as well. That is, if you are even remotely into the genre it's about.

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It sorta makes me sad this gets so few comments. I know Noise and PE are hard genre's to get into but I was hoping I could attract some new listeners to Whitehouse since William has moved on to Cut Hands. Oh well, at least I have you SuperCoolGuy!



Wait... why is there a knife in my back?

Supercoolguy64
January 16th 2016


7641 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i stabbed a girl with my dick she liked it

also like no body on this site knows who cut hands are lololol

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am guessing you do? Which wouldn't surprise me.

Supercoolguy64
January 16th 2016


7641 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i've been meaning to listen to some cut hands, just dont got tha time

what i meant to say was that while cut hands has a lot of exposure, for whatever reason no one on sput cares about it

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Surprising considering Cut Hands has better marketing than Whitehouse ever had.

Supercoolguy64
January 16th 2016


7641 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ikr its so weird

CaliggyJack
January 16th 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy