Arizmenda
Without Circumference Nor Center


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (92 Reviews)
January 5th, 2016 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A look into the eyes of pure chaos.

The Black Twilight Circle really is an interesting label isn't it? Not much is really known about them or the bands that they've signed, but one thing is for sure: they know how to put out some extremely quality black metal. Arizmenda is no different. In fact, out of the bands that I've heard personally on the label, they're the cream of the crop.

Now you could try to say that this guy doesn't particularly put out a completely original sound of black metal. You say atmospheric black metal and fans of the genre might think that they know what to expect, but one thing that is extremely special about this album and all Arizmenda albums is the fact that you literally feel scared after you listen. You think Silencer is demented? You haven't entered Without Circumference Nor Center yet. This album is based around its suffocating atmosphere, but there isn't a lack of riffs that's for sure. Actually many of the riffs here are melodic while being very hypnotic at the same time. The atmosphere given off by this album is that of being trapped in a mental hospital against your will without any means of escape. Trapped in the darkness of your own thoughts and fears. Vocally the album is way above average as well. Muffled, drowned out cries of pain are basically what you get here. This man honestly sounds like he's screaming for help and nobody is ever listening. Arizmenda isn't a suicidal black metal band, but the feeling of death is all over the hour long runtime of the album.

If you find yourself ever wanting to listen to some real atmospheric black metal, Arizmenda is the band that you'll wanna go to. Want something depressing that you can drown out your thoughts to? Listen to Arizmenda. If you want the experience of the agony and suffering of mental illness for whatever reason, listen to Arizmenda. Are you getting the point yet?



Recent reviews by this author
Desecresy Stoic DeathDrudkh / Hades Almighty One Who Walks With the Fog / Pyre Era, Black!
Mesarthim IsolateAxis of Light L'appel du vide
Mayhem Live in LeipzigDraconian Sovran
user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Kyle Ward EMERITUS (4)
An atmospheric black metal release with real substance...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
January 4th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wanted to write something, have been digging Arizmenda hard today, and this needed a review. m/

Digging: Deadwood - Picturing a Sense of Loss

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bump cause you people need to czech this shit hard god dammit.

Mystletainn
January 5th 2016


4050 Comments


Oh, new Arizmenda review, will read later

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey look someone finally commented.

MistaCrave
January 5th 2016


2259 Comments


lmao Hawks hitting me up in my shoutbox to promote your review, what a tactic
Hahaha but for real man, review is good. Love this band, and will definitely be czeching this soon.

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey people need to know about this. ;]



Hahahaha thanks bud. m/

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

m/ m/ m/

SCREAM!
January 5th 2016


14353 Comments


Only heard this guy's debut. Will have to fix that asap m/m/m/

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck yeah bro. m/

SCREAM!
January 5th 2016


14353 Comments


I'm generally lacking as far as BTC goes. I've heard 1 by each Arizmenda, Ashdautas and Axeman and I've heard 4-5 Rhinocervs releases.

zaruyache
January 5th 2016


17037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now this guy doesn't particularly put out a completely original sound of black metal.



these guys? Thought it was not a solo dude.

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Scream - I've heard every Arizmenda album, but I'm slacking on some of the others so I plan on going through their entire Bandcamp.



@Zar - Nah bro this is one guy as far as I know. Metal archives says it's a one man band as well.

Spacesh1p
January 5th 2016


6571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely will check. Hawks/10 review. Your style is probably the most recognizable on the site, for me.

Digging: Boards of Canada - Geogaddi

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey thanks bro, I really appreciate that.

brainmelter
January 5th 2016


3863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa didnt know this was one guy either.

sweet, short review. have a pos

Digging: bloodstone - Riddle of the Sphynx

Hawks
January 5th 2016


48894 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks my man. m/

zaruyache
January 5th 2016


17037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Zar - Nah bro this is one guy as far as I know. Metal archives says it's a one man band as well.



The idea of one person recording music like this makes my head hurt. Do you think he records each instrument individually or uses live musicians to record everything live as a band? I always imagined this band as the kind that recorded everything live in one take.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2016


21655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Always sweet to see an Arizmenda review on the front page, and it's made even sweeter by the fact that it was written by my brother in arms, Hawks.



I've been listening to this record in particular a lot lately (I finally bought a better version from the Crepusculo Negro bandcamp) and it's much better than I ever really gave it credit for initially. I used to listen to this a lot when it came out, but it kind of fell by the wayside in the face of their debut and Stillbirth... You nailed the fact that this album is the aural representation of losing your mind. I disagree with one thing:



Now this guy doesn't particularly put out a completely original sound of black metal.




I think that's completely wrong. I think Arizmenda has an immediately distinctive sound, which is what has made them such a force to reckoned with these past few years. I mean, can you really come up with any other band who really sounds like them? I can't. Otherwise, nice review.



Pos.

Digging: Antediluvian - Under Wing of Asael

adr
January 5th 2016


11580 Comments


which is what has made them such a force to reckoned with these past few years.


you might need to calm down there buddy

i guess i will check the debut tho

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2016


21655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i fanboy over these guys hard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy