Baroness
Purple


4.5
superb

Review

by Chamberbelain USER (154 Reviews)
December 18th, 2015 | 329 replies


Release Date: 12/18/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Baroness blend the features of musicianship and artistry to create a new shade of passion

Purple is an interesting shade. Mix the fierceness of red and the calmness of blue and your get a concoction of juxtaposing definitions. Essentially this is the similar outcome to Baroness’ fifth album that illustrates the musical interpretation of contrasting feelings, or rather mixing their debut album “Red” with their sophomore “Blue”. But by combining two colours, or albums, together a new shade is formed and with that comes new and exciting qualities. Wisdom, mystery and power are three characteristics that distinguish purple and each attribute encapsulates Baroness’s new album with unique fervour.

The contrast of these colours/feelings is reminiscent in tracks such as the melodiously elegant ‘Fugue’ which provides an introduction to the leading single ‘Chlorine & Wine’. The dreamy atmosphere and infectious chorus in this song are subsequently clashed against the grisly lyrics that tell tales of pain and unnerve with graphic depiction such as “she cuts through my ribcage/pushes the pills deep in my eyes”. Another example of this ongoing conflict of emotions is found in ‘Shock Me’ as some shimmering organ and reflective lyrics are crushed by Peter Adams’ buzzing guitars. The song rolls at a mid paced groove but the intensity increases even further during an insane rifforama complete with short solos that pack enough power behind them to blast a rocket into space.

As one of the leading masterminds of modern heavy music, Baroness has evolved to become a sheer force to be reckoned with that is reflective on “Purple”. The band’s sheer legacy is where the wisdom, mystery and power of the colour purple are replicated within the album. Spiralling rhythms from Sebastian Thomson on drums and Adams’ guitars are dotted around John Baizely’s swift aim-and-fire approach of singing that fill in any gaps of silence on ‘The Iron Bell’ while a dirty chug of riffs head off in different directions during ‘Morningstar’. What make these songs so special are the melodic interludes and carrying choruses that affirm Baroness have struck the balance between centralising their trademark riff dish and creating genuine, passionate songs with their latest album.

Whilst “Purple” is positively dripping with emotion and commitment, the characteristic Savannah stoner stomp is still a prominent feature in their music. The crusty ‘Desperation Burns’ tramples through with mammoth grooves that are as heavy and unsubtle as an elephant learning to tap dance. ‘Try To Disappear’ is a more relaxed, vocal-driven song but it includes a recluse twiddling of guitars that materialise into scratchy grooves that compare to the likes of the band's fellow neighbours: Mastodon and Kylesa.

It’s been 3 years since Baroness experienced a dreadful tour bus crash that proved to be a near fatal experience for the whole band (plus road crew) and the bruises and scars of that fateful night are painted into “Purple” with an obvious intent. The album’s existence alone should be cherished; let alone the overflowing emotion that the band seems to cram into it. Baroness has faced death in the face so it’s only appropriate that “Purple” sounds so moving.



Recent reviews by this author
Bell Witch Mirror ReaperAugust Burns Red Phantom Anthem
Kroh PyresMonarch (FRA) Never Forever
Wolves in the Throne Room Thrice WovenChelsea Wolfe Hiss Spun
user ratings (562)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
A Nameless Ghoul (4.5)
Back from the dead, Baroness craft their most consistent group of songs yet, combining stoner riffs ...

noinoeso (4)
Both strong and emotional, Purple is a triumphant reincarnation for Baroness....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Flugmorph
December 18th 2015


17244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im really interested to hearing this.

Digging: Enter Shikari - The Spark

MasBarHigeuoris21
December 18th 2015


1759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is pretty good so far. I've only listened to it twice but it's between a 3.5-4.0 for me right now.



Even though I pos'd the review, it comes off really fanboyish.

DungeonBoy
December 18th 2015


3047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review! Saw them on Thursday and they played a bunch of new songs, and they were all really great live.

Digging: Kauan - Kaiho

Beardog
December 18th 2015


1546 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well written review, I like the album but sadly Chlorine & Wine is the best song here... I hoped there would be more songs equal as awesome as that one on this record but there weren't really. Still a great album

emester
December 18th 2015


8163 Comments


Just for curiosity's sake and my time, which disk of the last album does Purple sound most like?

Digging: Spectral Voice - Eroded Corridors of Unbeing

zaruyache
December 18th 2015


17700 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

the production on the tracks they released earlier was horrible--is it that bad on the album, too, or was that just something funky with youtube? (I kinda doubt it, but...)

DungeonBoy
December 18th 2015


3047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Horrible as in like brickwalled, breaking up in your speakers?

zaruyache
December 18th 2015


17700 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think that might've been it? Noctus explained it to me but I can never remember all that jargon. I think I remember the drums having some popping to them and it hurt to hear, whatever that means.

Detritivore
December 18th 2015


305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sound Great. Yellow was a weak album.

Essence
December 18th 2015


5816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

zaru i am listening on spotify and it still sounds really badly produced

zaruyache
December 18th 2015


17700 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

well spotify streams low-rate anyway, but if it sounds awful there... urgh.

DungeonBoy
December 18th 2015


3047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The whole album is super slammed with compression. The distorted guitars sound like they are clipped and are mixed very loud. The drums are buried. IMO the production doesn't work great for Baroness. Seriously, if you listen to Morningstar and jump to the middle of Rays On Pinion from Red, you'll see what I mean. Red has the best Baroness production IMO.

That being said, this album is pretty great! I've only listened to it a few times but it really is a great mix of the past 4 colors albums. The leads are super epic, and the bass and drum work are both on point.

Essence
December 18th 2015


5816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that being said, production aside, it's still a pretty good slab of baroness material. if you already didn't like baroness, this won't change your mind. if you do, then this is gooood

conesmoke
December 18th 2015


5508 Comments


I like baroness, think Baizley should probably learn to sing before making another record tho

DungeonBoy
December 18th 2015


3047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He's not the best singer in the world, but he doesn't make me cringe. I think his gruff cleans actually work with the music they are playing, but I very much prefer is harsh vocals from First, Second, and Red to his cleans.

StrizzMatik
December 18th 2015


3605 Comments


Great album, but that dank production style they use sounds like mud. And might I add, the drumming on this is pretty stellar.

Digging: Propagandhi - Victory Lap

bananatossing
December 18th 2015


452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review. I like what I hear so far but I agree with everyone else. I don't know what happened after Red Album production-wise, they used to sound good. Even the remasters of First And Second sound better than any of their last three albums (well, four).



The vocals are sounding better than on Y&G though, they're tolerable this time.

rabidfish
December 18th 2015


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gotta give this a spin...



*foosh*



nice spin, 10 outta 10

RangerTaffles
December 18th 2015


301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wish the vocals were mixed sharper or cleaner maybe, but overall this is a solid work. Some really sweet melodies and the new rhythm section is tight.

PostMesmeric
December 18th 2015


696 Comments


"Chlorine and Wine" is still my favorite on this album. It's so majestic. "The Iron Bell" is superb.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy