Smog
Knock Knock


4.0
excellent

Review

by DoofusWainwright CONTRIBUTOR (60 Reviews)
November 19th, 2015 | 25 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “Knock Knock” “Who’s there?” “Lightning pussy” “Lightning pussy who?” “Wow mister you’re the first person today that needed more of an incentive than that!”

Turn the clocks back to 1999, pre-millennium dread hangs thick in the air, and there I am working late shifts at my local supermarket; I’d just had to move back in with my parents to ensure I didn’t go off the rails in my final year of studies and every day was becoming a little bit more like Bukowski. The work involved sorting deliveries by aisles and then wheeling the sorted stacks of goods out onto the shop floor in anticipation of the arrival of the even less fortunate night shift crew, so before long ‘Knock Knock’ became my go-to listen for these interminable five hour shifts; something about Callahan’s steady clip clop rhythms lent themselves to the work, but more than that Bill’s voice sounded prematurely old, as if he had an ancient soul rattling around somewhere inside of him. My spirit felt crushed and so the themes of yearning for escape and embarking on a new life were ones that resonated deep.

‘Knock Knock’ is a concept album of sorts but be warned the theme presented here is one of the most depressing imaginable and can be summarised as ‘man finds love; starts new life in the country with his woman; have a number of children; at least one partner commits adultery; couple split; man hits the road again’. What stops the album from becoming wrist-slittingly bleak is Bill’s inherent quirkiness; you're never too far from an appealing turn of phrase and his vocals have that uncanny knack of retaining comforting warmth whatever the subject matter.

The centrepiece song of the disc stands apart from this overall concept, though its mood is a perfect match; ‘River Guard’ is a highly detailed character sketch that plays out like a short story, with the narrator identifying all too closely with the prisoners he’s entrusted with supervising as they swim. The stately piano gives the song real gravitas and Callahan serves up some of his most evocative lyrics here, in particular the chorus of ‘we are constantly on trial, it’s a way to be free’ has to go down as one of his very best. Similarly ‘Teenage Spaceship’ sits a little outside the main themes of the album but despite its understated and delicate nature can be considered a Callahan anthem of sorts; the lyrics identifying a ‘teenage smog sewn to the sky’ definitely come across as self-referential.

The pace does ramp up a few notches on occasion and this is where the influence of producer Jim O’Rourke comes into play, with ‘Held’, ‘No Dancing’ and ‘Cold Blooded Old Times’ bearing his signature style that he’d develop further on his own release ‘Insignificance’ two years later. Built around repetitive steady drums these tracks all include a peculiar embellishment to distinguish themselves, ranging from eerie guitar squalls to singing children and hand claps. The final four songs are uniformly slow and gentle and this is where the concept of ‘Knock Knock’ plays out to its sad conclusion; ‘Sweet Treat’ is an aching rumination on adultery which concludes with the bleak assertion ‘if someone offers you some sugar you should eat it’; ‘Hit the Ground Running’ is more upbeat and sees a return of the child singers, but despite the mood of hope you get the impression tough times are just around the corner; this is confirmed by the reflective and regretful tones of the closing pair of ‘I Could Drive Forever’ and ‘Left Only with Love’ with the latter finding the narrator totally broken stating ‘I hope you find your husband and a father for your children’. Damn.

Callahan continues to grow into that grumbly voice of his and has moved onto greater success working under his own name, fleshing out his musical approach on albums like 2009’s excellent dreamlike pastoral song-cycle ‘Sometimes I Wish We Were an Eagle’ and 2011’s scatter-shot grab-bag ‘Apocalypse’. Shaking off the Smog title seems to have marked a move away from material quite as bleak as this and it’s understandable that the landscape of ‘Knock Knock’ isn’t somewhere Bill would want to put down permanent roots; nevertheless it retains a unique charm among his work. For me this album will always conjure up images of a dead-end world of tumble-weed strewn highways and desolate farmland, a place I could really associate with back in ’99; I’m pleased for the sake of both our sanities that Bill and myself have since moved on to more forgiving mental climes.



Recent reviews by this author
Yumi Zouma YoncallaMissing Andy Generation Silenced
Amen AmenThe The NakedSelf
Radiohead A Moon Shaped PoolRobert Plant Now and Zen
user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2015


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Knock knock motherf*ckers

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2015


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Took me 10 minutes just to come up with a bona fide, ginuwine Knock Knock joke and I still get neg'd

zakalwe
November 19th 2015


17090 Comments


What bellend neg'd?
You work in Argos doof dude?

Digging: BADBADNOTGOOD - IV

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2015


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I worked in Sainsburys back in '99, grim times...grim album

zakalwe
November 19th 2015


17090 Comments


My supermarket of choice.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2015


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've actually recently gone full circle and come back to the same area to live and I occasionally shop there just to get that sense of freedom knowing I'd escaped

Deep down I still detest the place though lol

What's your worst ever job Zak?

zakalwe
November 19th 2015


17090 Comments


There's been a few mate.
Washing dishes, door to door salesman, barman at a dodgy boozer but the only one that actually sucked out my soul was telemarketing on behalf of a credit agency.
I had a Jerry Maguire moment, walked out calling the line manager a cunt the lot. That was by far the worst.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2015


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A friend of mine does telesales now and sometimes you can see the soul suck factor in operation, I couldn't do that one.

Some of the tasks they gave me at Sainsburys were a joke, had to load and clean out rubbish skips whatever the weather, but the day that took the biscuit was when someone resigned and as a final fuck you to the place chucked open tins of catfood into the rafters of the deliveries area. I'll never forget the smell, five hours is a long time lol

zakalwe
November 19th 2015


17090 Comments


'Cat food into the rafters'

Cool! I salute their spirit.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2015


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I couldn't help but respect the sentiment despite my personal suffering, rotting cat food should be weaponized.

Nrap
April 11th 2016


328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude. I love you for this review. First its really good. And Smog doesn't get any attention round these parts. I've spent more time with A River and Supper than this and Dongs but Im getting there. For some reason Im more drawn to the Smog stuff than his later stuff under his own name. I have a sentimental attachment to A River, I freaking love that album. One of my favorites from the mid aughts. I could ramble on about Bills Smog stuff, but nobody here cares. Wish I was skilled enough as a writer to throw up a couple reviews. Thanks for taking the time. And its perfect. I like the point of laying out why theres the attachment. All of us have them, or usually do. Especially in stuff from years passed.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2016


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Nrap, I'll try and get round to writing some more Smog reviews eventually. The Callahan album 'DreamRiver' only got reviewed here a few months ago which says it all about the lack of interest in his work on the site

zakalwe
April 12th 2016


17090 Comments


Open tins of cat food into the rafters.

Fuck you J Sainsbury :D

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2016


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was such a shit hole

Nrap
April 21st 2016


328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is really great. Been playing it on repeat the last week or 2. River Guard is a favorite. I like his chill almost sleepy songs. Theres a couple on River that are similar. They never stand out initially but over time I fall in love with them. Drinking at the Dam is one that it reminds me of. Anyway. We could talk about working in super markets too if we want? Perhaps that could be a Smog/Callahan theme? Nobody here would notice if any of his album threads derailed into supermarket hell anyways.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2016


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nrap I don't know why I haven't just worked through Bill's entire discog - I guess there's always been a recent Callahan album to distract me from doing that...but it's been ages since he released a new album so I'll start listening to the old Smog albums I missed

Nrap
April 24th 2016


328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He just has so much stuff and I think some of it probably needs a bit of time to catch on. This one doesn't. But some of the older ones do. My first job was stocking shelves at a place called Buy 4 Less. I used to smoke cigs while i stocked the milk in the walk in. place was filthy. I made a cubby hole on top of one of the aisle so I could take naps. Not sure what they expected for $4.15 an hour.

NeroCorleone80
July 1st 2016


33655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Easily one of his best albums

Digging: Pissed Jeans - King of Jeans

NeroCorleone80
July 24th 2016


33655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Top 3 Smog:



A River Aint Too Much To Love

Red Apple Falls

Knock Knock/Dongs of Sevotion

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2016


6882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's 4?



Think I marginally still prefer Knock Knock to Red Apple mainly due to the concept of KK.



Need to try 'A River Ain't...' again



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy