Birds in Row
Personal War


3.5
great

Review

by Oranges. CONTRIBUTOR (72 Reviews)
November 8th, 2015 | 46 replies


Release Date: 10/30/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I've got a thirst to quench, and nothing but a dime.

Personal War is, at its core, a very simple album. That’s far from a negative; hell, it’s probably a necessity for a punk band when your album barely clocks over fifteen minutes. If anything, the stripped down, no-bullshit hand being played by Birds In Row works out heavily in their favor. “Torches” is a great example of this, kicking off with a combo of blaring guitar riffs and fast-paced, unrelenting drums, but gradually slowing to a crawl without losing any of its intensity. “O’dear” strives for a slightly more lethargic path, contrasting between more melodic instrumental work and raucous, strident vocals. Neither track makes it past three minutes, but the amount of pure, unbridled vitality and power within each song is staggering. “Worried” ends up sounding like a much softer version of a mid-tempo Converge track, with the brooding, austere guitarwork and secluded clean singing towards the end it standing out as one of the darkest, most atmospheric segments of the album as a whole.

But more than that, there’s a very strong sense of cohesion and focus flowing through Personal War. The music itself feels incredibly wild and chaotic, but not out of neglect or a lack of purpose. In fact, it seems far more likely that the barrage of messiness and supposed disorganization is done intentionally. Ultimately, Personal War is a short but sweet display of hardcore punk ferocity, and a solid display of Birds In Row’s musicianship. It’s an unrefined, rough-hewn brick of energy that is fully aware of what it is, and works out completely fine that way.



Recent reviews by this author
Every Time I Die Low TeensAsking Alexandria The Black
School of Seven Bells SVIIBTextures Phenotype
Fat White Family Songs for Our MothersIntervals The Shape of Colour
user ratings (80)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://birdsinrow.bandcamp.com/album/personal-war



been a while. thanks to cometodaddy and manosg for helping me sharpen this up a bit. as always, criticism is welcome.

Funeralopolis
November 8th 2015


14043 Comments


good ep

Digging: Madonna - Music

deathschool
November 8th 2015


21683 Comments


Nice write up. I dig these guys. Will probably check.

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks dude, you'll probably get into this pretty easily.

MistaCrave
November 8th 2015


2320 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

EP isn't bad

MistaCrave
November 8th 2015


2320 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And by the way, I love your avatar oranges hahaha

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2015


10028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you ran out of game of thrones reference summaries i see

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks mistacrave



i didn't run out of references, i just didn't feel like i could properly work one in here. what was i supposed to say? "I'm not trying to honor you, I'm trying to get you to run my kingdom while I eat, drink, and whore my way into an early grave"?





ComeToDaddy
November 8th 2015


1506 Comments


Nice work man, the little change made it much better imo. Still haven't gotten around to hearing this, but jammed their lp yesterday in anticipation m/

Hawks
November 8th 2015


48955 Comments


You, Me, and the Violence slays hard. I should jam this soon.

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@cometodaddy thanks bruv



hawks my man, how's life been?

ZippaThaRippa
November 8th 2015


9954 Comments


Didn't know you had an emo inclination

Hawks
November 8th 2015


48955 Comments


It's ok bro. Could be better, could be worse lol. Hbu?

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

more or less the same, although the weather is getting a helluva lot colder up here in New England.



what can i say, i'm a man of variety

Hawks
November 8th 2015


48955 Comments


It's actually been really nice out the past few days, but today was pretty chilly, plus it gets dark at fucking 5:30 now. I hate winter lol.

ZippaThaRippa
November 8th 2015


9954 Comments


Driving home from work in the pitch black at 6:00 is a fucking bitch and a half. And then I feel sleepy and dog tired by 8:30. Winter nights are bullshit.

Hawks
November 8th 2015


48955 Comments


Yeah bro I honestly thought it was midnight when it was like 7:30 it fucking sucks.

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ can definitely relate to this



at least you get more sleep though, right???



(he says while typing this at 11:50 PM)

ZippaThaRippa
November 8th 2015


9954 Comments


No. I have horrible nightmares every night. But that's not at all related haha

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
November 8th 2015


10028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"i didn't run out of references, i just didn't feel like i could properly work one in here. what was i supposed to say? "I'm not trying to honor you, I'm trying to get you to run my kingdom while I eat, drink, and whore my way into an early grave"?"



why not tbh lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy