Exxasens
Back to Earth


3.8
excellent

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
September 6th, 2015 | 20 replies


Release Date: 09/07/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The constant exploration pays off

Exxasens return Back To Earth after taking a long ride through the cosmos. The band has switched to a more electronic-oriented output in the past few years, however now, they are once more channeling their roots, reverting to the metal influences.

Back To Earth is a mix between Satellites' dreamy soundscapes and Polaris' soaring power. Eleven Miles comes closest to the current affair, but there are little tweaks Exxasens have learned over the years, thus managing to successfully incorporate them in the songs' structures. Tunes like 'Hugeness' and 'Supernova' have a more delicate approach, although they both burst into fiery rockers at some point. Starting with lovely, delayed guitars and keyboards, they continue to grow, going through several smooth changes. It's great to see the Spaniards branching out, crafting more complex structures and occasionally incorporating vocals too. Guitar player/founding member, Jordi Ruiz always knew how to create that ethereal atmosphere, still on this album it feels like he once more updated his skills (this applies to the whole band though). As per usual, the heavily processed production helps the overall result, however, I believe it only enhances the potential. There's enough of it behind the technology used to justify the great results. Same goes with main piece, 'Bright Side Of The Moon' which mashed cool metal riffs with several melodic segments, shifting constantly, until the brutal coda smashes your ears. This is quite the punchiest track in their catalogue, plus a sign of personal evolution.

Of the more immediate tracks, first single 'My Hands Are Planets' is an infectious ditty where again powerful guitars are intertwined with hazy passages. Continuing where 'Rocket To The Sky' left off, the keyboards are doing so much with just a few notes. 'Your Dreams Are My Dreams' is a revisited version of the eponymous song off Polaris. The band adjusted, trimmed and then gave it a fresh sound, showing there was enough potential right from the beginning that led to where they are today. Moreover, Exxasens felt inspired to include lead vocals on 'Saturn'. While not essential, they add a nice story to the music. There's some work to do on this field, but the tone is suitable, so this experiment comes off as surprisingly pleasant.

To conclude with an often debated subject, Exxasens and God Is An Astronaut seem to continue to cross paths, each finding new territories to explore. After going in each others' direction, there has been a lot of common ground created between the two acts. They started at opposites poles and now both are on the same page, having released some of their hardest hitting material so far. Of course the latter were the first in the game, yet at this point I'd rather look at the Spanish group as equals, not clones. By now there's enough proof to deserve their place as one of the main evolving post rock acts today.




Recent reviews by this author
Laibach Also Sprach ZarathustraAmplifier Trippin' with Dr. Faustus
Egypt Cracks and LinesSasquatch Maneuvers
Moby More Fast Songs About the ApocalypseTuber Out of the Blue
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2015


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This is arguably the best album the Spanish act has put out so far. Their last 3 albums have been really good and I must say, more rewarding than what God Is An Astronaut has released in the past years.



My Hands Are Planets (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73cCSAeGH5E

Hugeness (video) - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ng_0fAJ6kqc

Bright Side Of The Moon - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJ_SIwMdGno



Stream the entire album here - http://albumstreams.com/albums/hard-rock-heavy-metal/exxasens-back-to-earth-p4698

Digging: Laibach - Also Sprach Zarathustra

Gyromania
September 6th 2015


22277 Comments


posting a 1 min track what a tease!

you did add those other youtube links though

good review btw

and hi

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2015


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Hi! Thank you.

Found a stream of the album on Albumstreams.com. I also added the full track below the review.

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2015


1237 Comments


Digging this from the track you posted. Will check. Also pos'd!

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2015


1237 Comments


Or rather would be if I could - is there like a rule saying you can't pos staff?

LordePots
September 6th 2015


37264 Comments


that album art is misleading, i almost downloaded this then i realized it was post rock

Digging: Hikrahe - Fear of the Drum and the Red Robe Son

zaruyache
September 6th 2015


17177 Comments


I was expecting tech death or something extreme and psychadelic-y like Oransi Pazuzu

Digging: Penguin Cafe - The Imperfect Sea

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2015


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

An astronaut, planets, space and nebulae on the cover and they play post rock? How dare they?

RadicalEd
September 7th 2015


8328 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

always thought they were a little to generic to be considered great, but definitely brought some worthwhile tunes to the table, Eleven Miles was very solid in particular. Will check.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2015


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

This is one of their most consistent records. It might not be the catchiest at a first listen, but it grows on you.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 8th 2015


15645 Comments


first time ever the soundcloud embed worked on this site for me

Digging: Greeley Estates - Calling All The Hopeless

RadicalEd
September 8th 2015


8328 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

was not at all impressed by this.

Comatorium.
September 9th 2015


4787 Comments


This is pretty cool, though I did like the new God is an Astronaut, and it's definitely in the same vein as this. "Centralia" is currently my post rock/metal soty, though this and the new Man Mountain single could change that

Hopelust
September 9th 2015


2658 Comments


"infectious ditty"

lol

Sounds right up my alley. Nice review.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2015


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks lol.



Yeah, Centralia is the best song on Helios Erebus. I find this just as good if not better at times, although others don't apparently.

Hopelust
September 9th 2015


2658 Comments


I don't mind this by any stretch, but I just started liking this other instrumental band that has similar qualities and they're grabbin my attention much more.

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2015


1237 Comments


I don't mind this by any stretch, but I just started liking this other instrumental band that has similar qualities and they're grabbin my attention much more.
Who?


Hopelust
September 9th 2015


2658 Comments


Audrey Fall.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2015


6127 Comments


"The band has switched to a more electronic-oriented output in the past few years, however now, they are once more channeling their roots, reverting to the metal influences."
- structured a bit awkwardly, I think. i'd write it as:
"The band has switched to a more electronic-oriented output in the past few years; now, however, they are once more channeling their roots, reverting to the metal influences."

there's a couple other moments where I'm questioning the comma usages, but whatever. review itself is good, but I'm not feeling post rock lately so i'll skip dis

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2015


4297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

In Romanian we sometimes use the commas slightly different so that's why I might have oddly inserted them in the phrase. Thanks for the suggestion, I kept changing the first paragraph and I still am not 100% happy with it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy