Hooded Menace
Effigies of Evil


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (91 Reviews)
September 5th, 2015 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You can only kill them with a stake to the heart.....

Horror movies have always been a personal favorite of mine. Serial killers such as Michael Myers, Jason Voorhees, Freddie Kruger and the like. Imagine those vicious savages joining a death metal band and you have Hooded Menace.

While being more rooted in death metal, these guys also can doom their asses off. The riffs are slow and crushing, but at the same time they're also very melodic. There's even a little bit of a progressive tone to the riffs as well. Almost as if they could be featured on an Autopsy album or a Katatonia album all at the same time, which is what makes these guys so special. The drumming never really stands out and to be honest, it really doesn't have to. This album owes its success to all those damn riffs and that's just a fact. Not as if that's ever a complaint on a death metal album though. The vocals are also extremely well done and add another dimension of awesomeness to Effigies of Evil. While the vocalist really only uses one style, that's all he really needs. The throaty grunts spewing from his mouth fits the theme of the album perfectly.

As you can probably expect, if you're a death metal fan I highly recommend checking out this album and Hooded Menace in general as they are one of the finest death metal bands around these days. Also, fans of the classic horror movies, or horror movies in general, will find this extremely enjoyable as well. Samples from some of these horror movies are featured here and just bring the theme even more to the forefront. So basically if you like riffs and you like serial killers and vampires, Effigies of Evil is an album you're going to want to hear sooner than later.



Recent reviews by this author
Drudkh / Hades Almighty One Who Walks With the Fog / Pyre Era, Black!Mesarthim Isolate
Arizmenda Without Circumference Nor CenterAxis of Light L'appel du vide
Mayhem Live in LeipzigDraconian Sovran
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
September 5th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Short write up, but this needed a review. m/

Digging: Fen - Carrion Skies

Totengott
September 5th 2015


3659 Comments


Short review indeed, but it's nice, pos. Horror movies m/.

Sounds like I need to check this out.

Digging: Miles Davis - Jack Johnson

Hawks
September 5th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You should get Fulfill the Curse first if you haven't heard it, but yeah all of their stuff rules. m/

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2015


9346 Comments


so it riffs good thats all anyone needs to kno pos'd hard

Digging: Hexvessel - No Holier Temple

Hawks
September 5th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks brother. m/



Have you ever jammed these guys?

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2015


9346 Comments


nah im a loser, this is the first time ive heard of them but im gunna check

Ovrot
September 5th 2015


12439 Comments


I have jellied them before

Digging: Dawn Patrol - Democracy Delivered

Hawks
September 5th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Get on it hard bro. Just go in order, they only have 3 albums so far.



Although their 4th is coming out next month.

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2015


9346 Comments


edit: late double post

Hawks
September 5th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

m/ m/ m/

emester
September 5th 2015


7542 Comments


Keeping the m/ alive like always.

Never jammed this one but Fulfill the Curse absolutely destroys



Digging: Blood Incantation - Starspawn

Hawks
September 5th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Get this and Never Cross the Dead too bro.

evilford
September 5th 2015


32975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haven't listened to these guys in a long time I should change that

Digging: Vektor - Outer Isolation

Hawks
September 5th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hell yeah Ford.

evilford
September 5th 2015


32975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wasn't super crazy about this one but I liked it. The two previous ones were great

evilford
September 5th 2015


32975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also hawks rev autopos

Hawks
September 6th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks brother. m/



All 3 albums are amazing to me. Fulfill the Curse is one of my fav dm albums ever though.

MrNippleLipz
September 6th 2015


460 Comments


Still need to hear the debut, maybe I'll smoke a bowl tonight and check it. I left you a pos.

OvDeath
September 6th 2015


10560 Comments


All their stuff rules but thhis is probs my least fave. The compilation they released this year is fucking amazing. And it saved me from needed to buy like 50 7"s

Hawks
September 6th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think the compilation is on Spotify so I'm gonna have to check it out. m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy