Hooded Menace
Effigies of Evil


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (92 Reviews)
September 5th, 2015 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You can only kill them with a stake to the heart.....

Horror movies have always been a personal favorite of mine. Serial killers such as Michael Myers, Jason Voorhees, Freddie Kruger and the like. Imagine those vicious savages joining a death metal band and you have Hooded Menace.

While being more rooted in death metal, these guys also can doom their asses off. The riffs are slow and crushing, but at the same time they're also very melodic. There's even a little bit of a progressive tone to the riffs as well. Almost as if they could be featured on an Autopsy album or a Katatonia album all at the same time, which is what makes these guys so special. The drumming never really stands out and to be honest, it really doesn't have to. This album owes its success to all those damn riffs and that's just a fact. Not as if that's ever a complaint on a death metal album though. The vocals are also extremely well done and add another dimension of awesomeness to Effigies of Evil. While the vocalist really only uses one style, that's all he really needs. The throaty grunts spewing from his mouth fits the theme of the album perfectly.

As you can probably expect, if you're a death metal fan I highly recommend checking out this album and Hooded Menace in general as they are one of the finest death metal bands around these days. Also, fans of the classic horror movies, or horror movies in general, will find this extremely enjoyable as well. Samples from some of these horror movies are featured here and just bring the theme even more to the forefront. So basically if you like riffs and you like serial killers and vampires, Effigies of Evil is an album you're going to want to hear sooner than later.



Recent reviews by this author
Desecresy Stoic DeathDrudkh / Hades Almighty One Who Walks With the Fog / Pyre Era, Black!
Mesarthim IsolateArizmenda Without Circumference Nor Center
Axis of Light L'appel du videMayhem Live in Leipzig
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
September 5th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Short write up, but this needed a review. m/

Digging: Deadwood - Picturing a Sense of Loss

Totengott
September 5th 2015


4110 Comments


Short review indeed, but it's nice, pos. Horror movies m/.

Sounds like I need to check this out.

Digging: Ephel Duath - The Painter's Palette

Hawks
September 5th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You should get Fulfill the Curse first if you haven't heard it, but yeah all of their stuff rules. m/

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2015


9988 Comments


so it riffs good thats all anyone needs to kno pos'd hard

Hawks
September 5th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks brother. m/



Have you ever jammed these guys?

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2015


9988 Comments


nah im a loser, this is the first time ive heard of them but im gunna check

Ovrot
September 5th 2015


12881 Comments


I have jellied them before

Hawks
September 5th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Get on it hard bro. Just go in order, they only have 3 albums so far.



Although their 4th is coming out next month.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2015


9988 Comments


edit: late double post

Hawks
September 5th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

m/ m/ m/

emester
September 5th 2015


8107 Comments


Keeping the m/ alive like always.

Never jammed this one but Fulfill the Curse absolutely destroys



Hawks
September 5th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Get this and Never Cross the Dead too bro.

evilford
September 5th 2015


40304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haven't listened to these guys in a long time I should change that

Hawks
September 5th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hell yeah Ford.

evilford
September 5th 2015


40304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wasn't super crazy about this one but I liked it. The two previous ones were great

evilford
September 5th 2015


40304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also hawks rev autopos

Hawks
September 6th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks brother. m/



All 3 albums are amazing to me. Fulfill the Curse is one of my fav dm albums ever though.

MrNippleLipz
September 6th 2015


461 Comments


Still need to hear the debut, maybe I'll smoke a bowl tonight and check it. I left you a pos.

Hawks
September 6th 2015


48866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think the compilation is on Spotify so I'm gonna have to check it out. m/

GhettoHmbrglr
September 7th 2015


954 Comments


got this album when relapse records was selling 10 random albums for $50. still haven't listened to it. guess i will check it out soon.

Digging: Unwound - Leaves Turn Inside You



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy