Arizmenda
Within the Vacuum of Infinity...


5.0
classic

Review

by B R A N D O N S C O T T USER (119 Reviews)
August 29th, 2015 | 46 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Alone I Walked Those Paths Towards My Blessed Demise"

If you're an underground black metal fan who hasn't listened to this album, you've been messing up. Released in 2009, Within the Vacuum of Infinity... is the first record from Black Twilight Circle heavyweight Arizmenda, and already a genre classic. Like most BTC-affiliated bands, Arizmenda's sound doesn't reflect the freezing tempest of Scandinavia, but the swallowing spectrum of darkness itself. Arizmenda does this particularly well; musically shattering defenses and lyrically focusing on insanity, Within The Vacuum... is your mental breakdown set to a black metal soundtrack.

There is a certain denseness to Arizmenda's music that no other black metal band has touched before, or been able to replicate since. Claustrophobic is a term frequently used in black metal, and though it is certainly applicable here, it just doesn't do their sound justice. What they evoke is so much more complex than that. Discordant phrases dance to and fro, their intricacies subtlety woven through the performance in a completely mesmerizing manner. Occasionally, the music will offer reprieve - beams of melody shining through the gloom- only to retreat back behind the impenetrable darkness, leaving nothing but your outstretched hands and thoughts of hope torn from your grasp. Uneasiness builds in your chest and hair stands to attention on the back of your neck when listening to this album - that is the power of Arizmenda's music.

Lyrically, sole member Mordunbad's words are simple, but equally as effecting. In "Drown In The Pains of Consciousness", he spouts, "Drown in the pain of consciousness/I am lost/ I am lost within the seas of my minds disease/Lost within the seas of my minds disease/ Lost." In reality, those are words that are hard not to relate to; who hasn't experienced self-doubt and loss of direction in the labyrinth that is our mind? His rhetoric may seem overwrought, but in the context of the song, where waves of dissonance crest and crash upon you, it couldn't be said any better.

I have no qualms whatsoever in stating that Within The Vacuum of Infinity... is one of the best black metal albums ever created. The way it creeps under your skin, latching onto your every insecurity to perpetuate them further is terrifying, but also unfathomably gratifying. Black metal was always meant to make you feel - whether it was the Arctic temperatures of the second wave, or the sense of mystique embedded in the Les Legions Noires - and Arizmenda unquestionably achieves this throughout record's entirety. They are now the leaders of USBM scene, and if you ever need to remember why, let Within the Vacuum of Infinity be your reminder.



Recent reviews by this author
Rotting Christ RitualsBea5t Empathy Is A Gift
Abbath AbbathDrowning The Light/Acherontas Drowning the Light / Acherontas
Devouring Ghost Devouring GhostBosse-de-Nage All Fours
user ratings (85)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2015


23501 Comments


surprised this didnt have a review yet. nice job

Digging: Red Hot Chili Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Magik

TheSpirit
August 29th 2015


19647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Firstly, thanks to JohnnyOnTheSpot for looking this over and giving me some pointers. Secondly, I had my previous review for this deleted for a few reasons... the first being my growth as writer. When I first reviewed this in 2009, I focused a lot on describing how it sounds and not so much how it feels, which is honestly more of what this release is about. Hopefully, I was able to accurately do that. Also, my giving this a 5 (as opposed to the 4 I had originally given it) really speaks to the longevity of this record. My love for it has only grown in the six years it since it has been released, and I think that speaks volumes to its quality. Finally, I've recently decided to pursue writing professionally and even though I have 108 reviews to my name so far, this is really the beginning of that journey. I would really appreciate any feedback and constructive criticism that you all may have for me.



tl;dr



thanks everyone!

Digging: Milumet - Myth Is The Womb Which Fact Must Pass

TheSpirit
August 29th 2015


19647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks ins... it actually did have a review, but i had it deleted so that i could post this one.

Hawks
August 29th 2015


42031 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck yeah Brandon. m/

Digging: Inquisition - Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient

MoosechriS
August 29th 2015


5564 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Was waiting for you to put this up dude, pos'd obviously.



Occasionally, the music will offer reprieve - beams of melody shining through the gloom- only to retreat back behind the impenetrable darkness, leaving nothing but your outstretched hands and thoughts of hope torn from your grasp.



Absoloutley love that description by the way

TheSpirit
August 29th 2015


19647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks Ryan :]



And thank you Chris! I was unsure about that line initially, but I feel like it really sums up what the band is about, so I'm really glad you enjoy it.

MistaCrave
August 29th 2015


1470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goddamn, I've never checked this out, but if it's as good as you say it is, I'm gonna love it.

Digging: Barn Owl - Lost in the Glare

Hawks
August 29th 2015


42031 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah dude you'll dig this.

MistaCrave
August 29th 2015


1470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to it now. Halfway through the first track and this is already great.

ZippaThaRippa
August 29th 2015


3094 Comments


I feel like the drums start out awful and muffled but the quality gradually increases?

MistaCrave
August 30th 2015


1470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty good stuff. Not amazing, but it's really good.

TheSpirit
August 30th 2015


19647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0



I feel like the drums start out awful and muffled but the quality gradually increases?




the production all sounds the same to me



Pretty good stuff. Not amazing, but it's really good.




well, i disagree, but you have it rated 4, so i'm not gonna complain :]



MrNippleLipz
August 31st 2015


459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review hawks, like the way you describe this, on the first track now and I got a feeling this is going to be a really special BM record.

Hawks
August 31st 2015


42031 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This ain't my review dude hahaha.

MrNippleLipz
August 31st 2015


459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh shit ahah, well sweet review Thespirit, left a pos.

Hawks
August 31st 2015


42031 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

m/ m/ m/

TheSpirit
August 31st 2015


19647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hahaha thanks nipplelips... let me know how you like it!

zaruyache
August 31st 2015


11432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the lo-fi quality of the music mixed with their weird lead riffing and lackofsongstructuring make this album really difficult for me to wrap my head around. Gave it a 3.5 bc it's good but idk how to even understand this mass of unorganized swirling darkness.

Digging: Gavin Bryars - The Sinking of the Titanic

Hawks
August 31st 2015


42031 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's the point I think. ;] m/

TheSpirit
August 31st 2015


19647 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

well zaru i kind of understand, but i (obviously) loved the way this turned out. I actually think for what it is, the song structuring is perfect. The way it just kind of subtly changes from riff to riff is awesome imo.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy