Celldweller
End of an Empire - Chapter 04: Death


4.5
superb

Review

by RIP USER (24 Reviews)
July 28th, 2015 | 49 replies


Release Date: 07/17/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One hell of a finale!

Over the past couple of years the Celldweller project has seen itself flirting with the worst of EDM tropes and cliches in what could only be called as an ill-advised endeavour through the forsaken valley of sub par electronica. This development, most prominent in his Voices in My Head and Blackstar series alienated long time followers of Klayton’s work while keeping newcomers distanced with their vapid material. With this new slew of material, many long time Celldweller followers deserted Klayton, labeling him as being nothing more than a hollow shell of his former self. This makes End of an Empire a resurrection of sorts for Celldweller. Not only did Klayton find what one could call a “perfect” blend of of his early industrial roots and his newer dubstep/metal fusion, but he did so with such ungodly energy and gusto that it put End of an Empire among his greatest work.

End of an Empire’s conclusion, titled Death, concludes Klayton’s saga with aggressiveness, grit, and energy throughout it's entirety. The low, buzzing growls and dynamic orchestral arrangements of the album’s interludes allude to a dark and hectic atmosphere that boldly represents the name Death. Similarly to the chapters before it, Klayton continues the same three interlude/two track format with a quiet interlude that quietly buzzes and growls alongside the glitchy words of a woman declaring herself as “death." Drawing in eager listeners with her seductive, yet sinister voice. New Elysium erupts from the pedestal of the ambiance, skittering about with a heart-pounding trance lead and heavy electronic metal interludes that burst with seas of growling synths, glitchy beats, and punishing guitar riffs. Klayton also utilizes his vocal strengths on this EP, pushing through the furious instrumentals with his constantly pleasing blend of smooth bass and mighty tenors and yells. On top of this, Klayton’s mix of light vocoder effects, distortion, and harmonizing allows his vocals to seamlessly float within his work whenever they’re at use.

Precious Ones, the backing track to New Elysium, begins with the notes of an organ playing an almost funeral melody. As the track progresses, Klayton’s vocals swoop in with a light vocoder effect that keeps the mood continuously down through the equally depressive songwriting. Klayton announces that he is “at the end” and arriving at “death’s door” while also asking questions about how things will be on the “other side”. From here the track explodes with quick industrial verses and a handful of powerful screaming breakdowns that throw madness into the fire, capturing the feeling of the death and end of the conceptualized empire. What remains are the concluding interludes, both of which that intertwine with a dynamic mix of wonky growls and composed orchestral arrangements.

Faction 11 begins with the same solemn feel of Precious Ones, it’s main electronic lead pacing back and forth with an empty metallic clang through each passing beat. It’s mid-section drops the solemn in favor of a heavily pounding rock lead brimming with the constant clashing of choppy guitar riffs and slithery sci-fi synths. Faction 12 concludes the album on a similarly cinematic note. The orchestral arrangement features dramatically sweeping violins and frantic drumming that become quicker and more overly dramatic with each passing progression before breaking into silence with the final pound of a drum. Both of these interludes pick up the energy of New Elysium and Precious Ones and carefully balance it out into what is a fulfilling conclusion.

With the final chapter of End of an Empire, Klayton not only delivers a powerful and fulfilling conclusion, but he introduces the strongest work in his entire discography. With instrumental interludes that give an explosive cinematic world and two tracks that both deliver with memorable songwriting, Death presents itself as a centerpiece for Celldweller’s work and a magnificent peek into the possibilities of what happens next. The future looks bright once again for Klayton, let’s hope his blackstar never burns out.



Recent reviews by this author
Chris Farren Can't DieFox Stevenson All This Time
Kamikaze Girls SadNoname Telefone
Blind Pilot And Then Like LionsShoe SDAASLOI
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
LotusFlower
July 27th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stream New Elysium Here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBspxpQLfl4

Buy Here: http://www.fixtstore.com/product/110406/Celldweller---End-of-an-Empire-(Chapter-04:-Death)-(MP3-Album)

Score: 4.8/5

Stand Outs: New Elysium, Precious Ones, Faction 12

Blow Outs: …

Well, I hope you guy like this review. Thanks to Come to Daddy for suggestions and thanks to me friend Jacob for reminding me I am capable of making something decent. Any further comments or criticism welcomed!

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2015


24347 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

new elysium is my shit

Digging: Converge - I Can Tell You About Pain

LotusFlower
July 27th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This entire EP is my shit

EvoHavok
July 27th 2015


7031 Comments


Nice read. Pos. Need to hear all chapters.

Digging: Paradise Lost - Medusa

LotusFlower
July 27th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Time is probably the second best in the series with Dreams being third and Love being last. Like, I would just avoid Love because it's pretty embarrassing.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2015


24347 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love has 'down to earth' tho which is one of his best songs

LordePots
July 27th 2015


37602 Comments


how and why is celldweller still a thing

Digging: Hikrahe - Fear of the Drum and the Red Robe Son

LotusFlower
July 27th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How: Because he made a lot of deals and promotions with video game/movie companies to make songs for them

Why: Because even though he released a lot of shit in the last few years, he's actually done something great for once

I know you probably didn't want an answer, but whatever.

Acanthus
July 28th 2015


9810 Comments


Always thought Klayton was too self aware to be labeled a sell out, at least wholly; even his current trend tracks tended to be better than a lot of what was hitting the radio and dancefloor as well imo.

Call me when Selftitled Part II releases, I'll be incredibly happy then.

LordePots
July 28th 2015


37602 Comments


yeah that was a rhetorical question bud

LotusFlower
July 28th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I will say that Klayton's work following his self titled were like that, but somewhere around just before his Black Star series he started getting way more generic and dull compared to other artists in the electronic scene. I think you may like this series though, it's probably the closest to Selftitled II that you're going to get.

ComeToDaddy
July 28th 2015


1533 Comments


You did a fantastic job cleaning this up, nice work bud. Easy pos

Rawben
July 28th 2015


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album pleases long time fans but is still distinct enough to NOT make it seem like these tracks would perfectly blend in with the self titled, which is really good. I think.



Yeah, this is amazing. Good review also

Acanthus
July 28th 2015


9810 Comments


I liked some of Blackstar, forget which however. His latest Transmissions compilation had some good things too, all things considered I should check this out.

Edit: I liked Wish when it comes to his Blackstar work, though I always wanted the tracks to be longer.

Epicenter
July 28th 2015


240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this entire series has been pretty awesome, even with a couple of missteps like 'Heart On,' although that song is easily one of the funnest songs.



As for Blackstar, I still check it regularly and the best songs were easily Eon, I Can't Wait, and Tainted.

Toondude10
July 28th 2015


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

4.5? ahahahahahahahaaaaaa





no

Digging: Leprous - Tall Poppy Syndrome

Toondude10
July 28th 2015


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also one thing



italicizing song names is a no-no. quotation marks are your friends

Rawben
July 28th 2015


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You gave it a 3.5, that's still a good rating. Assuming you liked it I'm not sure why you'd laugh at a 4.5. It's not like this album was bad

Toondude10
July 28th 2015


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

true but I literally can't see this being higher than a 3.5



I guess the kids are still in love with the dubstep

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2015


24347 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you didnt just call this dubstep did you



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy