Anopheli
The Ache of Want


4.5
superb

Review

by Simon B. AKA Sputs OFFICIAL Pooh Bear USER (17 Reviews)
July 24th, 2015 | 17 replies


Release Date: 07/02/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “I can show you, the stain of mans ambition”

Anopheli, literally meaning “good for nothing” (Anopheles, is the Greek scientific term for Mosquito). Anopheli is a (Neo-)Crust band that combines members from both sides of the world (California and London) and started off as a lovely idea of immortalizing a friendship with a musical project. Many will undoubtable be led to this band through the name of vocalist Alex Bradshaw, who is a key member of Light Bearer, Archivist and most importantly, (the now defunct) Fall of Efrafa.

"The Ache Of Want" is a concept album about the conversation between a man and Death. The journey between the recipient and the sentinel. The story about a man who is guided to the afterlife by a being that doesn’t know mankind as good as he thought he did. Strong, deep and visual lyricism is not only expected but also delivered. Delivered in spades, as Alex’ his talent has not waned at all!

"I was somnambulant
I caught the gust of
matters dark antithesis
and charted courses

I watched worlds torn,
stars extend infernal arms
and hollow mouths devour
galactic calorie"

Compared to Anopheli’s debut “A Hunger Rarely Sated”, where Alex mostly used Post-Hardcore influenced shouts. He now uses a more growling voice, often accompanied by shrieks, much like his work with Fall of Efrafa.

While I might have started this review wrong by shoving Alex to the forefront, this is by no means a way to hide or underappreciate the qualities of the other band members.

Anopheli plays a particularly unique brand of Melodic Crust. They do this by employing a non-traditional instruments like the cello -which is present in every song-, or even the occasional acoustic guitar. Its these unusual classic instrument arrangements that not only separate Anopheli from the pack, but also give it an even darker character and atmosphere compared to its peers. The closest comparison would be Remains Of The Day or Fall of Efrafa, and even that’s mostly because of the similarities between a cello and a violin of the first, and the production values and vocal styles of the second.

From the starting moments of ”Awoken” it’s immediately apparent the band places a lot of importance on atmosphere and how this translates into the concept they’re going for. The cello arrangements that make up most of the first few minutes paint a bleak and dark atmosphere, one that will remain lingering in your head long after the final notes of ”Trade” have ended. Halfway ”Awoken” the rest of the band enter the fray and we are dipped into a bombardment of d-beat drum patterns, thundering basslines and melodic, yet heavy guitar riffs. No matter how fast or heavy they play (or serene during Ruminations), the song writing never falters and is always on point.

My only gripe with the album is with the transition between the different songs, for an album that’s conceptually about a conversation/journey between two characters it’s a little weird to not have the tracks flow over into each other. A slightly smoother transition from song to song, would have enhanced the immersion even more. This problems is most apparent between the soft serene ending of ”Ruminations” and the heavy bass start of ”Somnambulant”. It’s a small gripe, but one made worse because it’s my only gripe, and the only thing withholding me from giving “The Ache Of Want” a perfect score. But when the dust finally settles all you should know is that Anopheli has created an amazing album, one that any fan of Hardcore and Crust should check out.

“unravel into me
and I into you,
for I now claim you
as my own”




Recent reviews by this author
I Am Heresy Thy WillThe Great Old Ones Tekeli-Li
NAMI The Eternal Light of the Unconscious MindSo Hideous Last Poem/First Light
Csejthe ReminiscenceObsidian Kingdom Mantiis
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Evreaia
July 24th 2015


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To be fair, I’m not sure if my interpretation of the concept is correct, don’t shoot my if its wrong (because then I can’t change it to the correct concept hehe). Also I haven’t written in ages, and Eglish is far from my strong points so be sure to point out some errors if you (most likely) find ‘em. Either way I’ll be re-reading it a few times in the coming days to see if I find some mistakes.



Currently available for name your price on Bandcamp, and the vinyl pre-order will go up on October 1st.



Listen to Somnambulant (personal favourite song) here and get on this shit!

https://anopheli.bandcamp.com/track/somnambulant



Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


9989 Comments


you messed up your bb code in the last paragraph and you seem to abuse the comparisons to Fall of Efrafa, like there are four or five sentences featuring "like Fall of Efrafa" or thereabouts. Think I saw a couple of typos sprinkled in there too but im too lazy to dig em up.

solid job overall tho

Evreaia
July 24th 2015


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fixed the code



And yes, had a hard job looking for ways not to say certain things



you don't wanna know how many times I had the band name in the review originally

DanielNightLewis
July 24th 2015


1028 Comments


I like this quite a lot, it feels like a real refinement of the initial sound Alex wanted on Owsla by FoE before they evolved their more post metal orientated sound.

Alex's track record is really phenomenal and having this and the Archivist record out together is quite amazing and it makes me feel like a bit of a fanboy.

wayfaringstranger
July 24th 2015


198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, listening now. I love basically anything this guy is involved with.



Evreaia
July 25th 2015


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not sure how much Alex was involved into the actual writing of the album, if I check the band FB page it seems he came over after the music itself was written.



None the less, he picks his projects well

wayfaringstranger
July 25th 2015


198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's surprising, it feels a lot like Owsla at times, especially the cello. Great album though.

YakNips
July 25th 2015


18926 Comments


niiiiiiiiiiice their last thing was great

will check this

Digging: ostraca - last

Evreaia
July 26th 2015


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This gotta pick up around these parts, many ppl here love FoE, and personally I think this is best Alex has done ever since.

ComeToDaddy
July 29th 2015


1485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First paragraph is right on, I'm going to check this out thanks to that namedrop. Cool review though, sounds like something I'll dig. Pos'd

Evreaia
July 30th 2015


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah namedropping that guys name is sure to give exposure.



Many other will just skip over it if they don't have anything familiar.

ComeToDaddy
August 5th 2015


1485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hope this gets a bit more exposure from some name-your-price lists or something, it's phenomenal and absolutely deserves it. Those shrieks add some nice vocal diversity, without them it would sound way too derivative of FoE (which is still does, albeit less so). Probs going to be a 4.5 once I give it a few more spins

BallsToTheWall
August 9th 2015


47729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sexy

Digging: Miley Cyrus - Bangerz

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2015


4924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is really good - the guitar interlude track in the middle I wish went somewhere a bit more, and it does feel a bit like Owsla (as has already been said) but this is still really a great intense listen, as I'd expect.

Evreaia
August 13th 2015


4864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Owsla would be the closest comparison (or Remains of the Day).

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2016


4924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was actually fucking fantastic, 'Somnambulant' is basically perfect

Artuma
December 12th 2016


28382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the production hurts this pretty bad imo

Digging: ostraca - last



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy