White SeeD
forgetting what is real


4.5
superb

Review

by This is the best party I've been to USER (10 Reviews)
June 8th, 2015 | 43 replies


Release Date: 05/01/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A hazy setting at the edge of a dream, you have the choice to walk out or fall in

The room is covered in grey static, the music is lovely but not inherently human. I am awake enough to know it is a dream, but not enough to understand or recall the details.

Breaking point is the ideal opener to White SeeD's second release. Not only does it introduce the new direction of the artist, but it takes me back to those impossible dreams. The dreams that exist beyond a normal comprehension, the ones that are more like a blurred sensation that a concrete image.

After passing the opening track a listen of forgetting what is real can go many directions. The most common is I turn off the album knowing that the time/setting isn't right. Yet. when I allow the music to continue without interruption it is difficult not to be swept up in its hazy atmosphere. Besides the opening track picking highlights is a difficult task. The track blur together into a single experience, and this is for the better. The album is best enjoyed allowing the tracks float across the mind and letting imagination take over.

The first eight tracks feel like a continuos dream until the vocals on manic moment of happiness serves as a wake up call. At this point the mood of the album changes from a neutral and detached dream to a much more somber and 'realistic' setting. At this point the music has much more recognizable instrumentation, particularly a melancholy guitar added to the mix.

White SeeD was able to improve mostly everything between releases. First of all the songwriting and mood is much more complete allowing for every track to feel important during the album's runtime. The choice to move away from the fully lo-fi, tape fuzz recording style was a wise one. Instead of the music sounding distant, as on the debut, Forgetting What is Real has a very immense yet personal sounding production that helps the mood considerably

Like the strange dreams, describing or even understanding why forgetting what is real is such a compelling listen is challenging. Yes, the production and song writing have improved considerably, yet there is something else that keeps me coming back. The noises found on this album are both comforting and alien. They bring me to place that is that distant but I feel right at home. I can recommend this album to anybody looking for music that calm and beautiful but can still leave an impact.



Recent reviews by this author
Opiate Birth Subliminal LacerationsTeho Teardo and Blixa Bargeld Still Smiling
Einsturzende Neubauten Haus Der LügeIrrwisch Irrwisch
Coil ...And The Ambulance Died In His ArmsCranes Forever
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
laughingman22
June 8th 2015


2765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cool music by Gmemberkills https://whiteseed.bandcamp.com/album/forgetting-what-is-real

wrote more as a personal experience with the music instead of a general review.

Feel free to post any comments/criticisms

BandNewbac
June 8th 2015


2351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really nice review, man. i totally agree for the most part. album is so good.

laughingman22
June 8th 2015


2765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you,

I knew I would enjoy this album beforehand, did not expect it to resonate with me so much though

mindleviticus
June 8th 2015


9120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gmember? damn gonna check

Digging: The National - Sleep Well Beast

GmemberKills
June 8th 2015


3151 Comments


I had to double take when I saw this on the front page. I was not expecting a review for this at all. I really appreciate it laughingman. I may be a little biased but I think its a great review.

I like the points you make, especially about feeling it's best listened to as a single experience and how you signify the change of tone within the album after the first 8 tracks. It's really how I intended it and wanted it to unfold. It's real cool you picked up on that.

Sweet mindle maybe you'll enjoy it.

Digging: Volplane - 1997-1999

BMDrummer
June 8th 2015


13944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this rules

laughingman22
June 8th 2015


2765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks G

I was just writing what I felt, and if that was your intentions then I would call this a overwhelming success

Judio!
June 8th 2015


8399 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hardest pos ever. Review makes me ashamed that I still haven't listened to this yet. I will jam this asap.

YakNips
June 8th 2015


18934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

only you

zaruyache
June 8th 2015


17539 Comments


ambient lo fi tags I'm in.

Digging: Gabor Szabo - Dreams

GmemberKills
June 8th 2015


3151 Comments


The fact that this resonated with you and you shared a more personal experience means a lot more to me than any normal review. Ha idk about that i tried tho, I feel like I still got a lot more I can learn an improve upon.

Don't be ashamed Judio!. I do hope you listen though, i'd really value your thoughts on this.

Cool zaruyache. Honestly I feel like this borders more on the hi-fi side of things but I definitely combine a bit of lo-fi sounds/tracks in here.

YakNips
June 8th 2015


18934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah you totally sold out on the whole heroin party rip off thing but also made better songs so i dont really mind

GmemberKills
June 10th 2015


3151 Comments


word. Well I'm totally selling out harder with the next release hopefully making worse songs in the process.

YakNips
June 10th 2015


18934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

you really are sam ray arent you



"hey this is my new white seed mixtape about eating pot brownies and listening to juicy j, i made all the beats in 15 minutes thanks"

GmemberKills
June 10th 2015


3151 Comments


I just laughed so hard i think my throat is bleeding. I think i'll wait a few releases's before selling out that hard. That's exactly what my mixtape would be about though, you just know me so well.

Also i totally just took what you said and changed it for my rea mixtape soundoff.

YakNips
June 10th 2015


18934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

lmao take care of your throat i want my croked pun LP soon

laughingman22
June 10th 2015


2765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

(  ゚,_ゝ゚)

yeah please make a couple more hot releases before selling out please thanks

brokatar
June 16th 2015


28 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a sweet bae of sweet baes colliding with a whole new breed of sweet baes to create sweetest baes.





GmemberKills
June 16th 2015


3151 Comments


If i even bother to make another White SeeD i promise I won't sell out just yet.

Sweeet.

GmemberKills
June 16th 2015


3151 Comments


omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg omg.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy