SUMAC
The Deal


4.0
excellent

Review

by rafalafa USER (3 Reviews)
June 5th, 2015 | 26 replies


Release Date: 02/03/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: SUMAC offers The Deal...Will you accept?

It would be unfair to say that the first album under the SUMAC name is entirely Aaron Turner’s brainchild; the individual parts are solely those of the musicians he brought along for the ride, Baptists drummer, Nick Yacyshyn and Russian Circle’s bassist, Brian Cook. Regardless, Turner, Yacyshyn, and Cook have offered The Deal and it’s up to you, listener, to decide if you wish to accept.

Yacyshyn, brings an intensity to the album that drives the oppressive tone to the listener’s chest and comes out the other side triumphant like a gladiator. His presence is most prominent in Hollow King, though in Blight’s End Angel particularly, Yacyshyn’s drums impose a cadence on Turner and Cook, which twists and turns relentlessly.

As for Cook, his bass pummels the air like a volcanic eruption, hiding behind Turner’s pained vocals and plodding guitar tones before exploding alongside Yacyshyn to the forefront. Cook provides a menace to The Deal to coerce the listener into buying what Turner is selling.

SUMAC provides a sort of middle ground for Aaron Turner’s mind and succeeds in blending the ideas he’s carried throughout his career. The album is six tracks, though the bookends Spectral Gold and The Radiance of Being are more of a prologue and epilogue respectively. In between are 45 minutes of what might be described as a mix between Turner’s other projects, Old Man Gloom and (now defunct) Isis, though The Deal is neither as dense as Old Man Gloom nor as melodic as Isis and the album suffers slightly because it never chooses a side.

Whether SUMAC’s album is a solid one-off or the beginning of something special to come is for listeners to ponder. In the interim, will you accept The Deal?


user ratings (161)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

What One Becomes
recommended by reviewer
Isis Oceanic
Old Man Gloom The Ape of God

Comments:Add a Comment 
rafalafa
June 5th 2015


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Short and (hopefully) to the point. I couldn't understand why there wasn't a review for this yet, so it's review #2 from me. I wish I could have given it a 3.7 or something, but a 4 will suffice. It's pretty damn good, but I wish it went farther in the direction it was heading.

Relinquished
June 5th 2015


35654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"The Deal is neither as dense as Old Man Gloom"



wrong

rafalafa
June 5th 2015


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How so? I might agree with you if The Ape God wasn't a thing, but there's far more ambiance and sound layering going on for Old Man Gloom now than in The Deal.

youvegotredonyou
June 5th 2015


60 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pos'd. Spinned this one yesterday and even though I enjoyed it I guess I was expecting more from the trio. My guess is that Turner's the mastermind behind this and Yacyshyn as well as Cook had very little contribution to the writing.



Still is a solid album with heavy riffs and splendid moments.







Wizard
June 5th 2015


20082 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well done with the review, especially the opening sentiment towards this being more of a collaboration and not just the Aaron Turner show (tons of talent besides him).

RogueNine
June 5th 2015


3174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, there was a lot of input from the other members. Maybe more so from Yacyshyn, because I think Cook laid down the bass lines once most of it was written.

Relinquished
June 6th 2015


35654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"there's far more ambiance and sound layering going on for Old Man Gloom now than in The Deal."



yea but remember some tracks from NO, like Common Species and Shadowed Hand, they have traits akin to this and viceversa.

rafalafa
June 6th 2015


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"yea but remember some tracks from NO, like Common Species and Shadowed Hand, they have traits akin to this and viceversa."



Indeed, and that's why I would have agreed with you if NO was the only thing OMG had under its belt. But if The Ape of God is any indication, OMG is headed toward a more layered and labored sound, whereas SUMAC is more stripped down and a showcase for the musicians, especially Yacyshyn.

jesterhead92
June 7th 2015


3301 Comments


This is the jam. Some parts remind me of Kiss It Goodbye.

Inveigh
August 12th 2015


26200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHY THE HELL AM I JUST NOW LISTENING TO THIS

RogueNine
August 12th 2015


3174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

An excellent question.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2015


15675 Comments


This is the closest thing to a Wavering Radiant follow-up that currently exists, but from what I understand sounds very different.

Digging: CHON - Homey

deathschool
August 17th 2015


21656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is sort of like a very stripped down ISIS, but at the same time it is its own thing.

Digging: indigoNowhere - World I

deathschool
August 17th 2015


21656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also, these guys were great opening for Neurosis

Relinquished
October 3rd 2015


35654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

the production is perfect

branflakes911
January 4th 2016


164 Comments


Not to be annoying, but the whole "will you accept thing" is overdone. I think you could have used a shtick like that in a longer review. Not knowing Old Man Gloom or either non-Turner members I would have been interested in a bit more about the sound itself.

R6Rider
January 4th 2016


5127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

played this a lot during the summer

Oceandrowned
March 5th 2016


621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Im surprised the lack of comments and ratings for this. This is genuine stuff from Aaron T and co, it delves in to times when Celestial was around, and at the same time it does not really copycat Isis, it's the own thing. Fans of pure unrelenting sludge should be happy with this record.

Digging: Obtained Enslavement - Witchcraft

Oceandrowned
March 15th 2016


621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd travel a continent to see this band and neurosis sharing the stage.

Wizard
March 15th 2016


20082 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The breakdown riff in the opening track that's like a palm muted set of natural harmonics, followed by that monstrous groove was the best riff of 2015.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy