Chingy
Jackpot


1.0
awful

Review

by Cody Gudmundsen USER (6 Reviews)
May 13th, 2015 | 15 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There is no antonym for the word "Jackpot", but I think "Chingy" might have changed that.

Every year for Christmas, me and a few friends do what we like to call a "sh_tty gift exchange", where we do exactly what the title suggests; we give one another sh_tty gifts as a joke. Not only did I get this CD as a gift in one of these exchanges, but it was a used, clean edit version. Wow, what a combo. Good find, Tyler. When I decided to give it a listen, I opened the case to see a disc that had "Jenny's" written on it in blue marker. That's a promising start; someone with questionable taste in music returned this CD so it must be good. Since I promised my friend I'd write a review up after I listened to it, I put it in and attempted to convince myself that I wasn't listening to a Chingy CD, and took in Jackpot with an open mind.

There is only one redeeming quality about this album, and that is the first track "He's Herre" That's strictly because of the instrumental, which isn't even phenomenal, it's just simply good. Aside from the first track, there's really not much one could say about this record. It's forgettable because it brought nothing to the table. It becomes hard to distinguish between the songs because they just start to blend together. That is, until "Holidae In" comes up and breaks the monotony with appearances by two well-established rappers, Snoop Dogg and Ludacris. Even Luda's verse is nothing to write home about. After that, it's back to the same old grind. Bad and sub-par lyrics with average to mediocre instrumentals fill the entire length of this album. It's just elbows-up, might-sound-good-in-the-club hype music. If that's all you're expecting out of this album, then you'll be thoroughly pleased, because that's all it is.

Not even Luda and Snoop could save Jackpot. Damn you, Jenny.



Recent reviews by this author
Insane Clown Posse The Great MilenkoMatchbox Twenty Mad Season
Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2Job for a Cowboy Genesis
Basia Bulat Heart of My Own
user ratings (21)
Chart.
1.9
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
SillyCaringRabbitPal
May 13th 2015


628 Comments


There is no antonym for the word "Jackpot"


how about "bankrupt"

Digging: Aryan Triumph - Our Future Is War

SmartWentCody
May 13th 2015


118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

It's not a direct antonym, but I can appreciate it haha. I wrote that mostly for the punchline anyway.

Digging: Pharoahe Monch - PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

SillyCaringRabbitPal
May 13th 2015


628 Comments


bamlrupt

deathschool
May 13th 2015


14851 Comments


Couple of nostalgia songs here.

SmartWentCody
May 13th 2015


118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Man, this review is short. It was hard to find anything to say about the content of the record vs. my misfortune in receiving it and having to listen to it after promising my friend I'd review it.

Keyblade
May 13th 2015


16235 Comments


hell yea, right thurr was my jam in middle school

review reads like a 2.5 tbh


SmartWentCody
May 13th 2015


118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yeah, I think I might have gotten my perception of Chingy and his music mixed up with the quality of the album. Either way, in the end I think both the album and Chingy suck dix.

Keyblade
May 13th 2015


16235 Comments


isn't your perception of chingy and his music a result of the quality of the album, or do you mean the rest of his discog?

SmartWentCody
May 13th 2015


118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Him having a plethora of bad music throughout his entire career influenced my perception of him being a bad artist in my eyes. So even if this review reads as maybe a 2.0 or 2.5, I still think it's garbage. If that makes sense. I just went a bit easy because I didn't want to sound like I was writing a review just to shit all over it for the sake of shitting all over it. Me trying to remain objective on something I really dislike.

Keyblade
May 13th 2015


16235 Comments


i mean if you really think the album is bad, you can write the review saying so and why. nothing's stopping you from shitting on an album if you truly think it's terrible and can back up why

PumpBoffBag
May 13th 2015


359 Comments


review seems a little lite for a 1 rating, good job though.

right thurr was also my jam

SmartWentCody
May 13th 2015


118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Yeah, as Keyblade pointed out, it kinda reads more like an average rating. I think subconsciously I didn't tear into it because I figured that would be too easy to do.

SmartWentCody
May 13th 2015


118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'm sure I could have found eloquent ways to call something a piece of shit but unfortunately I did not.

aaronrkc
May 13th 2015


228 Comments


YOU CAN'T DO THIS TO CHINGY. CHINGY IS FOR THE CHILDREN.

Digging: ASAP Rocky - AT.LONG.LAST.A$AP

HalfManHalfAmazing
May 14th 2015


1785 Comments


this dude was freaking awful the only redeemable thing he ever did was appear on George Lopez



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy