Sevendust
Animosity


4.5
superb

Review

by USER (2 Reviews)
May 4th, 2006 | 15 replies | 16,005 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


3 of 5 thought this review was well written

Sevendust is one of the most well known bands of their genera as well as being very aggressive live performers. Formed in the late 90's, Sevendust has come out with five albums to date, their self titled, Animosity, Home, Seasons and Next. Ill spare other details (which you can find on the bands site or on Sputnik's Sevendust album page) and get right down to the review.

Sevendust is...
=======================
Lajon - Vocals
Morgan - Drums/Screamer
John - Guitar #1
Clint - *former* guitarist #2
Vinnie - Bass
========================

Track by Track:

1. T.O.A.B.) Slowly fades in with various noises till it kicks in with the full band at 0:19 sec. The verse has a lot of background noises joined by heavily distorted guitar riffs. T.O.A.B's chorus is slightly similar to the verse but faster and has Morgan screaming in the background (like he does in many songs). A single guitar begins the bridge, joined by guitar #2, and then the whole band, the solo begins. Sounds like some wah is used on the guitars, the last chorus is started with just drums and Lajon singing with some more noises in the background, then the entire chorus leads to the outro. Good heavy song, also not bad for opening the album. 8.0/10

2. Praise ) Most people have heard this song who have heard of Sevendust, and if you havent, your missing out on a good rock song. Single guitar intro, blown into the verse. Tone it down for the verse, and rip into the chorus, good giutar work...

"(See) I'm not what you
(Think) I'm the one who'll
(Be) what you never
Thought would be nothin' and now"

Then followed by an ear shattering scream from Morgan- "Afraid to open up your eyes!". This bridge is kinda weird, almost a mechanicized sound, good none the less. Break... back into the chorus, another loud scream from Morgan, the song is over. 8.0/10

3. Trust ) Fade in guitar feedback, heavy bass/guitar riff for the intro, which is then mellowed out for the verse which sounds like drums, bass and Lajon. Near the end, feedback (or harmonics) are started, aggressive pre-chorus and a perfect transition to a calmer (but still heavy) chorus. Back to the verse, second chorus, stop the noise- just cymbols and bass... then just bass and some background noises. Feedback, blow into the bridge with Morgan screaming "Trust!", last chorus, slower and more broken up for the first few lines, then back to normal. Heavy hitting outro with more screaming from Morgan and duel bass drums. 8.0/10

4. Crucified ) Five seconds of eerie nioses then a distorted guitar comes into play with a wah effect, drums, build up the speed, bring in the full band. Verses complete with palm mutes and riffs from the intro, then the melodic chorus where Lajon sings "The first time i knew you lied/I ended up cruisified/My hate you wear as my cross to bear/Its for me i swear" - catchy lyrics and good backing. The solo starts off almost like "Face to Face", but then kicks into some heavy riffs and Morgan screaming "Dont you feel like a s**t?". "Dont you feel like a bi**h?" is the last thought you are left with for the outro.... dont you? 8.5/10

5. Xmas Day ) Acoustic guitars and drums open up this song, which has no connection to Christmas and does not have a 'merry' feel to it (ironically). Lajon isnt singing this one, I'm pretty sure its Clint (former member), and he pulls it off really well too. It sounds like a love song from the lyrics...

"I could be the one who would die to feel you breathe...

I could break into a million pieces
So just run as fast as you can for me
You mean everything"

And has a really powerful chorus (vocaly and lyrically). This is the first fully acoustic song on Animosity, except for what sounds like a slightly distorted guitar in the bridge (followed by the last one, you'll get there). I like it, good for when you are alone with your 'significant other'... that is if they are into Sevendust too. 8.0/10

6. Dead Set ) My personal favorite off of the album, the intro it pretty simple but still catchy and heavy, while the verse is more tamed down. The chorus is the standout on the album, everything is perfect in it, guitars go together, drums are right on que, Lajons vocals are great...

"One single life needs not to die
For such a cheap price
For one last flight
God save the child who lives like a whore
(I made it through yesterday)"

...I really dont see anything wrong with this song. The last chorus is only half of what the normal is, but better because of Morgans drumming- listen for yourself to see what I'm talking about. 10/10

7. Shine ) If you are wearing headphones while listening to the intro of this song, it will sound like it is going in one ear and out the other because of the alternating sides of the (what seems like) somewhat muted un-distorted guitar. It picks up for the verse, as most Sevendust songs do, and blows into the chorus. Fast drums, good riffs... its 'Hard for me to decide' what I like more about it- unlike most of their songs, the drums and bass stand out a little more then the guitars (except in the verse and solo, which both kick a**). 8/10

8. Follow ) A drum intro followed by soft guitars and bass. Lajon's lyrics are almost comforting- "Time can take everything that surrounds you/You can break from everything that confines you/Look in my eyes, I will guide you". Soft pre-chorus that leads into a heavier riff, yet still softer then previous songs. The Second verse is what catches my ears, Clint's backup is powerful (vocal wise), singing behind Lajon's lyrics. "To live to know!" is screamed as the bridge starts; its screamed again, goes on for a few more seconds, and the bridge is over. Back into the last chorus, with no pauses in the guitar riffs, typical outro, offshoot of the chorus, pretty good song. 8.0/10

9. Damaged ) Synths and guitar take the lead for 18 seconds then it turns to bass/drums/Lajon/Morgan (every now and then). Bring in the guitars, bring on the pre-chorus (heavy as hell), followed by the chorus (obviously), which kinda reminds me of Dead Set- but keep in mind, nothing is repetitive in this album. This one I will call a solo, because the bridge comes after it, the solo has a melodic touch to it and the bridge is more Morgan (not complaining). Last chorus, with some good vocals by Lajon and a cool riff in the background, outro is everything fading out. 8.5/10

10. Live Again ) Another gem of this album, kicks off with full band, heavily distorted intro, lotta drums in the verse followed by a soft pre-chorus and a damn good chorus with- again, good vocals by Lajon.

"You see my face and then you see nothin'
Confused. you turn and live on
I turn my face
You're staring back again
Look at yourself and live again"

In the last chorus Lajon seems to be holding a note for a very long time- and thought this sounds really good, I doubt he could have held it for that long- and if he did, wow. One of my favorites from the album. 9.5/10

11. Beautiful ) Starts out with a high picked distorted guitar and a lot of horse power from the rest of the band, leads into the chorus to have it slow down for the chorus...

"I need something beautiful
To fill the space we've taken up
I need something to feel real
Again before I go numb"

... Im sure we all have needed that at one point or another, right? The solo (or bridge if you want to call it that) has Morgan screaming "Wait!/Take!" a few times, then back to the chorus, and smoothly exits stage left with a continuation of the chorus for the outro. 8.0/10

12. Redefine ) This one starts out like like something you'd hear from a punk band, but when when you think they have turned on us, they kick it back to the good ol' Sevendust bonecrushing riffs and hard lyrics. The chorus has two parts is seems to it, the second being better, the verses in "Redefine" nearly sound like rap-core, but much better of Limp Bizkits' And on a side note, the chorus sounds like its being played with zithers (like something you would hear coming out of an Indian market place... but it isnt). 7.5/10

13. Angel's Son ) Only song I really didnt care for on here (yet still will listen to), although lyrically it was good. It was written for James Lynn Strait from the band Snot who died in a car accident. This is a completely acoustic song from southern rockers Sevendust. The second verse sounds like there was a lot of emotion packed into it...

"I have a new life now
She lives through you
What can I do
Feel so alone now
I pray for you
We still love you"

... as well as the chorus...

"(You were fighting everyday)
(So hard to hide the pain)
(I know you never said goodbye)
(I had so much left to say)

One last song
Given to an Angel's Son
As soon as you were gone
As soon as you were gone"

A very sad song, not a bad closer to a great album. 7.8/10

=========================

Suggested Tracks:

Dead Set
Live Again
Crucified

=========================

Rating: |---*-| 4.5/5

=========================

Wow, done... I dont want to make this review seem like I am focusing only on Morgan and Lajon, because I'm not, the whole band did an outstanding job on this cd, and I loved every song. Also, this review is coming from a hardcore Sevendust fan, so I tried to be fair with the ratings, but still, its hard when every song is so good! Lemme know what you think.


user ratings (361)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
thejon93rd (5)
Animosity is easily accessible, but wholly satisfying as well....

Acey (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
NEDM
May 4th 2006



1113 Comments


It was pretty good, if it was neater then it would be spot on.
I remember seeing a Sevendust video a long time ago, but I have no idea what it was now.

Shadows
Moderator
May 4th 2006



2530 Comments


It was a very good review, but please, try not to say "genera" anymore. It sounds like some kind of venerial disease.

IvortheEngineDriver
May 5th 2006



164 Comments


I think Beautiful is the best track on this CD...

If anything more, Sevendust is a really tight band with some great riffs...though, like Disturbed...I find it repetitive.

I love Praise, TOAB and Beautiful

Good review though


Acey
May 6th 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love this CD, good review also.
my personal fav's are Praise and Damaged

gdw6813
May 19th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One thing, the backing vocals in "Follow" are done by Aaron Lewis from Staind. Really good cd and Sevendust puts on a really good show.This Message Edited On 05.19.06

Acey
July 17th 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the song "Live Again" is really starting to grow on me

CookieMonster88
August 2nd 2006



5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good album. Animosity was the first album I listened to when I was introduced to Sevendust and I was hooked. After listening to the other albums, Animosity is still my favorite. A nice Metal/Nu-Metal sound with a twist of R&B vocals intergrated within it. It is very nice. Songs I like is Trust, Xmas Day, Dead Set and Live Again.

Acey
August 2nd 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

same here. Follow and Live Again are my favorites

BallsToTheWall
November 21st 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My personal favorite from these guys. They kinda lost some momentum when Clint left, never to regain again. Although Alpha was much more promising than Next. Still, one day im going to review this.

PayneTiger777
March 21st 2008



4388 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review! My favorite album of all time. Follow, Live Again, and Praise are my favorites

ShatteredSoul
February 17th 2009



110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Finally I had the time needed to get into this - and it's truly worth the time. I love it, simply the best Sevendust has to offer.

deftones27
April 16th 2010



137 Comments


they are way too underated maybe their later albums werent great but this is a great CD there isnt enough reveiws for its current rating to be accurate so go buy it

random
July 3rd 2012



2261 Comments


"Praise" rules.

Pndi
June 11th 2013



461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eight years later and I still enjoy this album, very rare for a ~nu metal~ band. Their best aspect has always been their chorus and chord progressions, which seemed to lack on the later albums (never listened to VII and Black Out The Sun though).

sapient
November 29th 2013



1940 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

amazing record, definitely in the top 3 nu-metal albums



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy