Black Sabbath
Master of Reality


5.0
classic

Review

by Haunter USER (1 Reviews)
January 14th, 2005 | 26 replies | 3,460 views


Release Date: 1971 | Tracklist


0 of 1 thought this review was well written

Black Sabbath- Master of Reality (1971)

It was not entirely unjustified for none other than that bastion of heavy metal, “Q�? magazine to describe this album a few years ago as sounding, “Like a steel foundry grinding to a halt. In Antarctica,�? for this is one very heavy album.
The albums undoubted greatness is even more incredible given that it was the band’s third album in the space of 18 months, their two previous being the hardly under-rated eponymous debut, and of course, the much loved ‘Paranoid.’
The bleakness of the monotone front cover, although embossed with the band’s name, mirrors the grim world view within. Opening with Ozzy’s hacking cough, the first song ‘Sweet Leaf,’ is a Sabbath classic; five minutes of praise for marijuana and one of the band’s most recognisable riffs.
Carried forward with purpose by a peerless Iommi, and with one of the greatest rhythm sections of all time, in Geezer Butler and Bill Ward, on top form, the band carve their way through After Forever, and Children of the Grave, dealing with God’s existence and a post-nuclear world in the process, punctuated only by the typically Sabbath instrumental, ‘Embryo.’
Lyrically, as well as musically, this album is up there with the heaviest, “Would you like to see the Pope one the end/ Of a rope- Do you think he’s a fool?�? Ozzy sings in After Forever, although this particular song seems to conclude that, despite the much-vaunted ‘satanic’ imagery of the first album, the Sabbath boys really love the big man upstairs as much as the next man, “Open your eyes, just realise that he is the one/ The only one who can save you from all this sin and hate.�?
‘Lord of This World’ has yet another monster-sized riff, and continues the doom and gloom after the brief respite of another instrumental, “Orchid.�?
The album takes a surprising turn with the haunting and hallucinatory song ‘Solitude,’ where Ozzy displays a surprising vocal range and talent, in a song which is reminiscent of previous albums effort, ‘Planet Caravan.’
Nevertheless, the band are swiftly back to doing what they do best on album highlight, “Into The Void,�? which again combines another doom-laden Iommi riff with a thudding bass line and pounding drums.
It was reputed that Bill Ward had difficulty playing on some of the songs on the album; such was his condition at the time due to the copious amounts of drugs ingested by the band. If this is true, it certainly isn’t apparent on the album. Ward, as always, bludgeons his way through each and every track.
Like the rest of the album, the song has a surprising rawness and energy which gives it a sound more akin to a live performance than a studio-recorded album.
One of the best things about Master of Reality is its enduring heaviness. Even now, decades after it was first unleashed, it remains surprisingly forceful. The dense sound and relentless power means that this album will always be one of the most durable and, as most thrash, grunge or doom bands will testify, influential albums of all time.
‘Black Sabbath,’ may well be the blueprint, ‘Paranoid,’ the most well-known, but ‘Master of Reality,’ remains the most metal of all metal albums.


Related: Metallica, Nirvana, Kyuss, Slayer- Just about every other metal band…ever!


user ratings (2057)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
mexicanfloydian
July 3rd 2004



165 Comments


This album is great. You review isn't.
You gave some useless details, and missed some that were really important.

Your paragraph wasn't organized. It was just a big,messy unorganized paragraph. You didnt do a song by song review, you talked about some songs, but it was very short.

The JoZ
July 4th 2004



345 Comments


It sounds like he ripped this off from somewhere, with the "Related" part...

archdem0n
July 4th 2004



3 Comments


Phonics wouldn't hurt.

Horrible review for Sabbath, they deserve better.

Haunter
July 4th 2004



3 Comments


And just how is it a horrible review? Elaborate please.

As for 'The JoZ,' just because I have a related part doesn't mean it's stolen from somewhere. Seriously, that's possibly one of the most retarded comments I've come across on this site- if you're going to criticise make it worthwhile. Maybe you can't find see a trail of influences in metal- don't say I copied MY review just because I can.

mexicanfloydian- a song-by-song review isn't everything. Most albums have a few filler tracks- few don't- these are thes ones we quite rightly acclaim as the best. Since when has a review had to include a song-by-song appraisal? Take a look at a few music magazines and tell me how many rate every song; it's the album as a whole I'm reviewing.

OpiateTheMasses!
July 4th 2004



20 Comments


I like album as a whole reviews better.


But still, not a very good review

mexicanfloydian
July 5th 2004



165 Comments


[QUOTE=Haunter]And just how is it a horrible review? Elaborate please.

As for 'The JoZ,' just because I have a related part doesn't mean it's stolen from somewhere. Seriously, that's possibly one of the most retarded comments I've come across on this site- if you're going to criticise make it worthwhile. Maybe you can't find see a trail of influences in metal- don't say I copied MY review just because I can.

mexicanfloydian- a song-by-song review isn't everything. Most albums have a few filler tracks- few don't- these are thes ones we quite rightly acclaim as the best. Since when has a review had to include a song-by-song appraisal? Take a look at a few music magazines and tell me how many rate every song; it's the album as a whole I'm reviewing.[/QUOTE]

Well, this isn't a magazine. This is musician forums, look at the rest of the reviews, they have a song-by-song and they are organized.

Distorted Vision
July 5th 2004



184 Comments


I have this on vinyl, don't listen to it much though, I kinda went off Sabbath.

*goes to find the vinyl*

hahaha
July 5th 2004



9 Comments


why is everyone on this site a complete waste-of-space useless arsehole?

"This album is great. You review isn't.
You gave some useless details, and missed some that were really important."

great comment. he gave no useful detail? kinda like your comment, dip****. grow up. you didn't pay him to review the album.

"Horrible review for Sabbath, they deserve better."

how would he make it better?

honestly, why is everyone here such a wanker?

Haunter
July 5th 2004



3 Comments


[QUOTE=hahaha]why is everyone on this site a complete waste-of-space useless arsehole?

"This album is great. You review isn't.
You gave some useless details, and missed some that were really important."

great comment. he gave no useful detail? kinda like your comment, dip****. grow up. you didn't pay him to review the album.

"Horrible review for Sabbath, they deserve better."

how would he make it better?

honestly, why is everyone here such a wanker?[/QUOTE]

thanks, my thoughts exactly.

Squirrel
July 5th 2004



74 Comments


Go read some good reviews; that might be a good idea...

hahaha
July 5th 2004



9 Comments


i have, but why do you have to flame someone endlessly and say "that was a crap review" and then not say why?

Squirrel
July 5th 2004



74 Comments


Because if you look at other peoples reviews, it's very obvious why this one blows.

hahaha
July 5th 2004



9 Comments


and that is...

have you done any reviews? can i see them?

Squirrel
July 6th 2004



74 Comments


If you still can't see why it sucks you really need your head examining.

Yes, i have done reviews.

No !! you can never see them, EVER !!!


Yes ... this is the internet - go look.

hahaha
July 6th 2004



9 Comments


i mean, give me a link. can't be bothered to look. i can see why you say this review sucks. i've read others, but my point is, if you just say "this sucks" and leave it at that, you're an idiot. kinda like if you take everything absolutely literally.

Squirrel
July 6th 2004



74 Comments


I didn't *leave it at that* - i told you to go look at some good reviews.

Here's one of mine,

http://www.musicianforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=199577

hahaha
July 6th 2004



9 Comments


thank you. how very civil.

hahaha
July 6th 2004



9 Comments


i have to say that that review was very very very really cool. and very beautifully and cooly written. cool.

Squirrel
July 6th 2004



74 Comments


:lol: thanks

So, was it cool ? :cool:

mexicanfloydian
July 9th 2004



165 Comments


haha= pwned.
By the way, we did explain why we said the review wasn't good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy