Prosanctus Inferi
Noctambulous Jaws Within Sempiternal Night


3.5
great

Review

by Vetimus USER (5 Reviews)
March 25th, 2015 | 12 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Black/Death Metal for anyone who enjoys the likes of Azarath, Infernal War, to Diocletian to even Belphegor.

Blackened death metal has gained a large following in the underground recently, with bands such as Teitanblood, Antediluvian ect releasing quality material in a scene which largely consists of 3rd rate Blasphemy clones.

Prosanctus Inferi's debut Noctambulous Jaws Within Sempiternal Night combines the speed and aggression of Angelcorpse styled vocal work with the riffing and drum work of a band such as Azarath, this album is filled to the core with incredible black metal styled vocals, incredible drumming and monstrous yet highly melodic riffing.

This is very violent sounding yet catchy and most importantly, memorable. This is not another Blasphemy clone gas mask wearing gimmick, but a truly monstrous beast of an album, Prosanctus Inferi combine both death and black metal for a truly immersive experience. From the face melting riffs to the masterly done vocal work and the intense drumming this is not an album any fan of Black/Death Metal should miss.

Imagine the deformed child of both Angelcorpse and Azarath, and you can only begin to imagine the violent sounds and images this album creates. This is Black/Death almost borderlining on straight up War Metal. Dont be mistaken,this is not a badly produced wall of noise which some may suggest from the war metal comparision, the production on here is spot on for an album of this kind. Far from an unlistenable mess of sound, yet never clean to the point of sounding weak or overproduced.

The only complaint I do have with this album is that the vocals and musicianship do become very repetitive, the vocals consisting of only raspy shouts, and the musicianship lacks variety, consisting mostly of black metal tremelo picking backed up with death metal styled riffs, which sound like they came literally out of a Belphegor song.

But all in all this is a very memorable and unfortunately overlooked album in the modern world of underground extreme metal.

Black/Death Metal which effortlessly creates an atmosphere which conjures up images of war and death backed up wtih savage riffs and some of the nastiest vocals to ever be heard in the style.


user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Vetimus
March 25th 2015


124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Anything you think I should add tell me.

Gameofmetal
March 25th 2015


6027 Comments


"Black/Death Metal for anyone who enjoys the likes of Azarath, Infernal War, to Diocletian to even Belphegor."

Bit improperly worded. I would suggest "Black/death metal for anyone who enjoys the likes of Azarath, Infernal War, Diocletian, or even Belphegor". Might be more concise to drop one of those names too, since four is a bit much imo.

The first paragraph is literally one sentences. You could easily smash the first two paragraphs together to clean things up. Althought, on second glance, even if you did, the paragraph would be fairly weak as an intro. You could try adding something to spice it up.


Same with the last couple paragraphs. Try grouping them up. One sentences isn't really a paragraph and it looks weak just sitting out on its own.

"The only complaint I do have with this album"

Personal opinion designation like that is unnecessary. We know it's your opinion, you can afford to be a bit more confident in what you're saying.

Also sputnik protocol is album names in italics (bb code is band name) and songs should be in quotations.

Your body details aren't really bad at all, I just feel like you waste too many words to say too little. I think there are probably more things to be said about this album. There were a few sentences that could afford to be more concise as well. More words does not automatically equal a better sentence.

Pos'd for effort.

Gameofmetal
March 25th 2015


6027 Comments


Couple of things I forgot. You kinda spent more time comparing what this band is doing to another band instead of describing what they are actually doing.

Also it's considered rude to post more than one review a day. Kind of an unwritten rule.

Edit: "Recommended for anyone looking for War/Black/Death Metal, which has more to offer than musicially than the majority of bands in the scene."

Completely unnecessary and a weak finish.

Vetimus
March 25th 2015


124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am doing one review per day, check dates, I didnt know for the first 3 remember.

Vetimus
March 25th 2015


124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Edited it a little bit.

Gameofmetal
March 25th 2015


6027 Comments


They both say 3-25. What I really mean is that you shouldn't have two reviews on the front page at once. I suppose it's fair game if you're first just happens to go down within 24 hours.

Vetimus
March 25th 2015


124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh ok.

tempest--
March 26th 2015


15849 Comments


love the artwork on this but never listened. had it bookmarked for a while though.

Raz0rGrind23
April 1st 2015


430 Comments


Great review! Will check this out. How does this one stack up to their 2010 release Pandemonic?

Vetimus
April 21st 2015


124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have not heard pandemonic

TheSpirit
May 21st 2015


18206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

One of my favorite blackened death metal albums

Digging: Beach Pneumatic - Beach Pneumatic

Vetimus
May 21st 2015


124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah its pretty great man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy