Will Smith
Big Willie Style


2.5
average

Review

by Toby B. Noto USER (14 Reviews)
May 2nd, 2006 | 55 replies | 10,470 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

After the success of the feature film 'Men in Black 'The man himself', or more accurately, the man he likes to call himself released Big Willie style, a pop-rap album with a twist. The Dumb radio friendly lyrical content with simple slapped basslines creates one of the best pop albums to date.

Although he is very up himself, he hasn't forgotten his 80's retro afro do, nor his sheer crowd pleasing commercial ability. He makes refernces to 'the fresh prince', a few times in the album and keeps us drawn in with well produced sound and publicity driven raps.

The album kicks off with a hysterical crowd and a journalist labels him as 'The man himself', no doubt, that statement was his wish, and he truly does believe he's gods gift. Suprisingly, a lot of the tracks actually have nice instrumentation, slap bass aplenty. Y'all know proves his self-obsessed ways, calling himself "The most boombastic" and "Fantastic". Though his poor radio friendly lyrics make me smile; "More juice than Tropicana". The use of synthesizers really do sum up the sound of the album, no doubt all the instruments are computerised. The highlight musical-wise is the lounge piano in 'Chasing Forever', which peaks at the intro of the song.

Of course, the cheesiness is there, especially in the backing vocals of the singles; such as the ''Na na na's" in the beautifully catchy Miami and the ''Forever....'s" in, yep you guessed it, 'Chasing forever'.
'The man himself' isn't actually half bad at writing emotionally charged lyrics. 'Just the two of us' is easily the most well-written track, and is about his new-born son. he states that he would never let any harm come to him, and that he will always love him dearly, no matter what. The chorus holds my favourite lyric on the record, "Just the two of us, building castles in the sky", you have to admit, that's cute.

The tameness of it all does get a bit tiring after a while, and sometimes just down-right embarassing. This appears in Miami, where Will raps 'running up a high bill at the bar'. Unlike most Gangster rappers this is Wills idea of mischief, nevermind though, you can never have too many nice guys, in fact we could do with a few more.
There are some songs featuring fellow artists, such as the album titled track 'Big Willie Style' featuring Lisa Left Eye. unfortunately, this is a very mediocre filler track, in no way using Lisa to her full potential (R.I.P). There are quite a hefty handful of bland filler tracks, but most are subject to Will trying to be serious and diss other mc's. the fact that he trys to do it in such a nice way just doesn't work. His poor attempts at linking humour to the song title of 'Don't say nothing' hinders his dissing further, with the line 'if you don't say nothing, then I won't.

The great thing about this album is the singles are all perfect pop songs. 'Miami' is beautifully upbeat, 'gettin jiggy wit' it has a funkalicious slap-bass line, and just the two of us is suprisingly touching.
Last but not least, the theme to the feature-length 'Men in Black'. probably the greatest pop song ever recorded, complete with a cool funky bassline, and truly amazingly dumb lyrics. 'The good guys dress in Black, remember that'. This song definately makes the album, and will keep big Willie style in the back of people's minds for years to come.

My pop rating - 5/5.
My hip-hop rating - 1.5/5.
My overall rating - 2.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Weezer The Red Album DeluxeWeezer Pinkerton
Sex Pistols JubileeWeezer The Green Album
Ramones Loud, Fast Ramones - Their Toughest HitsCypress Hill Black Sunday
user ratings (90)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Neoteric
May 2nd 2006



3243 Comments


This was the first album I ever owned and it was great!

Mind you, I wouldn't listen to it now. Nice review but the small paragraphs are a bit unpleasing to the eye.

MyRamona
May 2nd 2006



1070 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Be that better?
Hehe, sorry I just found this at the bottom of my c.d rack, and thought to myself......'this has to be done'.This Message Edited On 05.02.06

Neoteric
May 2nd 2006



3243 Comments


Be that better?

Hehe, sorry I just found this at the bottom of my c.d rack, and though to myself......'this has to be done'.
Combine the 5th and 6th paragraph and it'll look purty!

Though no way am I going to listen to this now a days, I wouldn't rate it so low.

MyRamona
May 2nd 2006



1070 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Will do. I did give it three ratings though, a rap rating, a pop rating and an overall.

altrockdude
May 2nd 2006



150 Comments


will smith... pfft. piece of shit. hitch was ok though

Neoteric
May 2nd 2006



3243 Comments


Will do. I did give it three ratings though, a rap rating, a pop rating and an overall.
Yeah but it's more of an R'N'B or Hip-Hop album than a rap album so I don't understand that.

will smith... pfft. piece of ****. hitch was ok though
Wow, aren't you mature? This album has nothing to do with Hitch and he actually isn't that bad as an artist.

That looks a lot better! Pos now!This Message Edited On 05.02.06

MyRamona
May 2nd 2006



1070 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^^This album was great fun, its hard to believe it's almost a decade old

Iai
Emeritus
May 2nd 2006



3553 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Last but not least, the theme to the feature-length 'Men in Black'. probably the greatest pop song ever recorded,

Hahahaha. Oh wow. You crossed the irony border BIG time there.

MyRamona
May 2nd 2006



1070 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sorry people, I couldn't really put my heart and soul into this review, for obvious reasons, not as up to scratch as it could be, but the quality of my reviews seem to be going downhill as of late.

Thor
May 2nd 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This had a few enjoyable songs on it, but it's pretty bad to listen to all the way through.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

Neoteric
May 2nd 2006



3243 Comments


Sorry people, I couldn't really put my heart and soul into this review, for obvious reasons, not as up to scratch as it could be, but the quality of my reviews seem to be going downhill as of late.

It's okay, lots of Sputnik regulars have a few average reviews. I could point a bunch of average reviews from me

MyRamona
May 2nd 2006



1070 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cheers, that actually makes me feel a lot better :D. I've been looking over my previous reviews and can pinpoint exactly what this is lacking. hopefully my Ramones review which I plan to write in the near future will have that special something. I really have to love the music to love writing the review.This Message Edited On 05.02.06

FrddyBrnRgrJhn
May 2nd 2006



81 Comments


"although i absolutly detest rap R&B and hip hop...this alblum is actually not that bad"

how open-minded of you

Two-Headed Boy
May 2nd 2006



4527 Comments


"Hitch" was the horriblest movie I've ever seen besides "The Shaggy Dog".

I can't say that he makes bad music, though. It's pretty damn catchy!

Dragon_Prince
May 2nd 2006



272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a good album, although it isn't my style

The Jungler
May 2nd 2006



4827 Comments


The Shaggy Dog! Bwahaha, why would you see that?

I kinda like Will's music.

chic_n_stu_36
May 2nd 2006



19 Comments


Word

Neoteric
May 2nd 2006



3243 Comments


Cheers, that actually makes me feel a lot better . I've been looking over my previous reviews and can pinpoint exactly what this is lacking. hopefully my Ramones review which I plan to write in the near future will have that special something. I really have to love the music to love writing the review.

What Ramones album? I want to do Rocket To Russia unless that's what you're doing.

MyRamona
May 2nd 2006



1070 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm doing Loco Live! and Loud, Fast Ramones. I though I'd get some of the missing ones done, so you're alright.

Neoteric
May 2nd 2006



3243 Comments


Thank god



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy