Steeler
Steeler


3.5
great

Review

by dreamsteeler USER (2 Reviews)
March 13th, 2015 | 30 replies


Release Date: 1983 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Young album by an inexperienced band that still manages to rock hard.

1983, Steeler needed a lead guitar player to add to their debut self titled album. Mike Varney of Shrapnel Records convinced a young Yngwie J. Malmsteen to come and play on the record. According to Yngwie, he found the group "banal" and states that he only wanted to be on some U.S. vinyl. The lineup was now complete. Ron Keel, Mark Edwards, Yngwie, and the Fox recorded a strong debut record. At times it is unremarkable, but it ultimately satisfies thanks to some virtuoso solos by Malmsteen, some catchy tunes, and Ron Keel's banshee wail.

Steeler was recorded on a shoe string budget and the sound of the album is predictably rough. It has a very thin sound overall. The drums sound like Mark is banging on some cardboard boxes too close to the mic. There is almost no reverb on any of the instruments or vocals making the sound unpleasantly direct. The bass is pretty quiet throughout the whole thing, but Rik Fox doesn't play anything too interesting on the LP anyway. Ron Keel occasionally slips out of key and talk sings a few tunes. This makes the vocals another rough point. The guitars sound very odd. They're thin and a bit over-saturated on the tape, but there's something else about them I can't put my finger on.

As far as musicianship goes, Yngwie is really the only highlight here. The drums are pretty basic, as are the bass-lines. Keel is good on rhythm guitar, but his vocals are a bit disappointing. I listened to his later band Keel before hearing this album, and when I went back to this I was slightly disappointed. Ron is screaming his balls off on albums like "The Final Frontier" and "Lay Down the Law", but on here he stays in a rather middle of the road vocal octave, and only goes up there occasionally. When he does make it up to his ridiculous wail, it's not as confident or as long. Malmsteen really is carrying the band from a technical standpoint.

The songs themselves run together. They are all generic early '80s rockers with quasi-catchy choruses and the typical lyrics with a center point on sex, and punks in the streets. A lot of people including myself eat this s**t for breakfast, and these songs are up to par with other acts of the day that made it big, Ratt, Quiet Riot, etc. These guys were slightly heavier than those bands thanks to the low recording budget and Yngwie Malmsteen on lead guitars. The solos in these songs definitely set these guys a step above pedestrian level. His inhuman speed and classical tinge makes for some sublime guitar features. The three and a half minute solo intro to "Hot On Your Heels" starts with classical inspired acoustic lines and swiftly builds up to that god like pace that the man is known for. The rest of the song is a fast paced catchy rocker with some very aggressive vocals by Keel, and the most excited Mark Edwards becomes on the record. The performances are inspired and full of youthful energy. Ron Keel has a record of going way over-the-top, and his first appearance on a full length LP doesn't refute that statement. Yngwie shreds of course, and the rhythm section sound like they're having fun playing the basics.

Only one song is not the standard fast paced rocker, and that is the excellent ballad, "Serenade". Textured with melodic acoustic in the background, and some heartfelt singing by Ron Keel, this ballad comes across as sincere. With some better production and a bit of editing, this song probably could have been a hit. The first solo is not one of Malmsteen's flashiest, but it is very melodic and touching. The second solo is pretty flashy, and helps put the "power" in power ballad. The song slowly fades out with Yngwie doing his thing, blowing the minds of the few that actually bought this independent release in the process.

Overall the release is a bit generic, but is still a pretty good and catchy early '80s metal record that certainly had more metal bite than the scene leaders of the time. Though both Ron Keel and Malmsteen would make better records, this is a very good introduction to both of their lines of work, and is essential to anyone infatuated with speed/neo-classical guitar.


user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2015


7955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed on the rating. Will read the review later.

Digging: Wizard - Bound by metal

MrSirLordGentleman
March 13th 2015


5942 Comments


One review per day dude

KILL
March 13th 2015


73904 Comments


fuckin steeler

MattTD
March 13th 2015


413 Comments


You need to chill on the number of reviews, one a day/wait until your last review is off the homepage

Digging: Defeater - Lost Ground

dreamsteeler
March 13th 2015


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry about the number of reviews, when I get on a roll, I don't want to stop. I write in bulks.

Ryus
March 13th 2015


8814 Comments


just wait to post it

Digging: Oidupaa Vladimir Oiun - Divine Music from a Jail

dreamsteeler
March 13th 2015


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why? What's the problem? I really don't understand why you're all so opposed to more reviews. It seems really useless to write something and wait to post it. Why would you do that? I'm not posting so many as to where other people's are getting knocked off before they get read. It's only two reviews today, one yesterday. I didn't screw any of your girlfriends, calm down.

elcrawfodor
March 13th 2015


716 Comments


Posting a second review would knock off one review from the front page.

It's not so much how many YOU'RE knocking off as it is the multiplier effect if everyone did it. By everyone adhering to that rule, reviews are given about a day or so on the front page. If four users posted two reviews each in one day for example, that's knocking four people off of the front page.

Digging: Threnos - By Blood and By Earth

Insignia7
March 13th 2015


38 Comments


I'm REALLY fed up with this 'One review per day' rule. It's not disrespectful. Who honestly cares if their review is knocked of the front page.
Actually, to be honest, you people seem to be so freaking obsessed with this front page, it's drawing attention away from the point of this website: reviews.

SharkTooth
March 13th 2015


9114 Comments


yeah they should make it "2 reviews a day" instead

dreamsteeler
March 13th 2015


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Or they could make the front page a bit bigger.....

Stupid rule I wasn't aware of, there have been so few reviews today that it doesn't look like any review is getting knocked off that hasn't run its course already.

SharkTooth
March 13th 2015


9114 Comments


looks can be deceiving tho, I once had a review that got bumped off the front page in 2 hours because of a review spammer

dreamsteeler
March 13th 2015


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Has anyone actually read my review yet? Or have we been too focused on the one review a day rule. (Besides manosg). See? The rule is taking away from what the sites about, reviews.

SharkTooth
March 13th 2015


9114 Comments


for a first time reviewer, this is rather well done!

you have a lot of comma splices scattered throughout, and I'd love to point them all out, but it's kinda late and I'm feeling a bit drowsy atm, remind me and I'll point them out for you tomorrow

btw for a start I'd suggest getting rid of the comma in the summary

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2015


31933 Comments


Has anyone actually read my review yet? Or have we been too focused on the one review a day rule. (Besides manosg). See? The rule is taking away from what the sites about, reviews.


Stop whining. The "rule" is there so one user can't knock a multitude of other user's reviews off the front page and replace it with a whole chunk of their own writing. Try being respectful of the other user's on this site who have put as much effort into their writing as you have, instead of acting like a dick.

Otherwise, find another site

Digging: ASC - Imagine The Future

dreamsteeler
March 14th 2015


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What other users? There have been 11 f***ing reviews in the last two days! It's a stupid rule, let people find reviews while actually trying to find them, instead of cramming them down their throats by putting them on the home page. I do believe I'm not the one being a dick, I wasn't targeting anyone, like you. Lead the charge for personal attacks, very mature sir. And I'm not whining I'm questioning. Who are you, Big Brother? Am I not allowed the right to free think? I will write as many reviews as I want to in any amount of time because of your arrogant condescending tone.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2015


31933 Comments


Bye!

And I wouldn't have bothered reporting my comment, because that just went straight to me

tempest--
March 14th 2015


16065 Comments


lol

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2015


5186 Comments


this is why we need moaropeth

Digging: Vince Staples - Summertime '06

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2015


7242 Comments


lol this guy http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2jf2ns_sputnikmusic-com-relevant-or-ridiculous_fun

Digging: Venetian Snares - Rossz Csillag Allat Szuletett



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy