Izah
Sistere


4.5
superb

Review

by Dodenakker USER (3 Reviews)
March 4th, 2015 | 105 replies


Release Date: 02/23/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Are you ready for a tempest?

There was a time in my life where I listened solely to post and/or sludge metal. And in that time there were few bands that could surpass genre-giants like Neurosis, Cult of Luna, Pelican, Isis or Rosetta. Those were the greats. Many local bands tried and failed, where the “greats” succeeded. But on one fine evening a few years ago, I discovered a band that was brooding, crushing, atmospheric and captivating all at the same time; Izah, the band was named. They were supporting Cult of Luna that evening, and I was blown away by how brilliant their sound was. I bought two EP’s later that evening. And I’ve kept a close eye on their progress these last years.

And there it was, Sistere was to be released in 2015. No date was set, but there was a preview called ‘Finite Horizon’. I was immediately in awe of the sound. Izah transformed into a atmospheric sludge metal outfit to be reckoned with. With beautiful and serene passages leading up to crushing waves of sounds, gloomy clean vocals backing dark and frightening screams and guttural grunts... and this was just one track. It was like a sledgehammer constantly bashing my skull in, and it was good.

Sistere itself clocks in at a whopping 72 minutes. By debut standards this is ridiculous and frankly a little bit pretentious, but Izah gets away with it. There are only 4 tracks on this album, which means they all are longer than 10 minutes. The title track is the longest track on this debut, which lasts almost as long as the other 3 tracks combined.

It’s great to see that the track ‘Sistere’ doesn’t let down a single second, being 32 minutes long. It succeeds in combining all the parts that made the other tracks so stunning and throws in some electronic samples for good measure. This is something Izah does really well; combining different genres into one glorious, and epic conclusion. These guys know how to handle their instruments, and they seem to know what really makes an album a captivating listen.

The truth of the matter is: there are simply no boring parts on this album and this, this is where Izah truly shines. Izah is capable of transitioning from frightening passages filled with eerie speeches from historical figures, accompanied by a wall of noisy and crushing guitar riffs, into a death metal riff that’s dense and fast. Take the second song ‘Duality’ for example; it starts off as a death metal song, and transforms into a sludge beast. And the next minute the same song falls into a slow descend creating one of the most beautiful post-rock anthems you will ever here. Next thing you know, the record is over. And then you realize you’ve just listened to a debut for 72 minutes, completely stunned of how fast the time flew by. Repeat, here we go again.

This album is not for the faint of heart, and it may be too long for some people, but if you’re a fan of the aforementioned bands and bands like Fall of Efrafa or Light Bearer, then this album is something you will love. It’s brutal, crushing, brooding, eerie, honest, captivating, beautiful and frightening all at the same time. And you will want to hear more of it, you will listen to this record on repeat, only to truly find out what makes this release such a damn near perfect debut. And for everyone out there that isn’t into the whole “atmospheric sludge”-thing: try it, at least once. This album is a beast on its own, and it deserves to be listened.


user ratings (110)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dodenakker
March 4th 2015


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stream album here: http://izahband.bandcamp.com/album/sistere



I'm actually really proud of this one. It took a lot of editing, rereading and asking for feedback. Thanks especially to Jasdevi for the help!



Feedback is appreciated!

PappyMason
March 4th 2015


5702 Comments


Sounds promising!

A quick question about this sentence in the last paragraph: 'And you will want to hear more of it, you will listen [to] this record on repeat, only to truly find out what makes this release such a damn near perfect debut' - what is it? Or have you deliberately left that open-ended?

Dodenakker
March 4th 2015


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I left that open-ended on purpose. It really sums up how I feel about this record. I'm still trying to figure out why I'm listening this thing on repeat. Why the record sounds so "whole". It easily could've gone off the rails a few times with all the experimenting and what not, but it doesn't.

PappyMason
March 4th 2015


5702 Comments


Fair enough man, good review. I'll have a listen to the stream later.

In the sentence that I quoted, add 'to' in between listen and this. It needs it.

Dodenakker
March 4th 2015


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! Will do, and enjoy the music!

RustCohle
March 4th 2015


174 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

very good review of an amazing album.

Digging: Exist - So True, So Bound

Jasdevi087
March 4th 2015


4234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome work dude. You still have a lot of moments where "and" comes after a comma or a fullstop. Remember that and is a conjunction joining two or more phrases (or goes in place of the last comma in a list), so it's basically a comma in its own right in a way

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2015


4921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, pos'd This sounds... amazing to be honest. I'll check it out next time I can!

Dodenakker
March 5th 2015


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks guys for the great responses.

I will keep that grammatical advice in mind for my next review Jasdevi, maybe I will edit this review too (probably will).

progressivetrex
March 5th 2015


75 Comments


Oh yes, I'm really loving this album. Good review mate.

beefshoes
March 6th 2015


6819 Comments


This is really nice.

Totengott
March 6th 2015


4110 Comments


I need to jam this.

Digging: Ephel Duath - The Painter's Palette

Totengott
March 7th 2015


4110 Comments


This rules.

FilmAvenue
March 9th 2015


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Dodenakker. Your review made me listen to this album and I surely do not regret it. 'Sistere' is just awesome.

Dodenakker
March 10th 2015


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good to hear that! This album needs all the attention it can get

burningbeard
March 10th 2015


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So, um, this is pretty great.

Dodenakker
March 10th 2015


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It really is.

oresttt
March 12th 2015


1133 Comments


Great review for a fantastic record. The last song is just stunning...

derkaderka
March 15th 2015


81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amazing album, definitely deserves more attention.

xenocide.
March 20th 2015


1263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is just... unbelievable! The best post-metal album in a couple of years.



I'm surprised you didn't mention Amenra in the review, especially considering your username.



Also, deafheaven comes to my mind (the final track).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy