Knocked Loose
Pop Culture


3.5
great

Review

by Alkemest USER (16 Reviews)
March 4th, 2015 | 16 replies


Release Date: 06/13/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hunger.

Sometimes I really grasp the fact that I'm getting older. At 24, I've already been charged (though not convicted) of a crime, I've had my heart broken at least once, I've had my jaw wired shut, gone to college and paid my dues in the underground. Sooner or later, you realize that you're not as young as you once were, you're not as angry. You're not always looking to prove yourself. You settle into the routine. The older I get, the more I drift away from my younger ethos and the music that once gripped me so intensely loses sway. Then I put on an a band like Knocked Loose, and all the anger, frustration and animosity I've ever felt towards my life and society comes flooding back.

Hardcore has been experiencing a 'revival' as of late. Bands like Code Orange Kids, Full of Hell and Trapped Under Ice have been pioneering a new breed of musical intensity. On the other hand, your bands like Defeater have been pushing the boundaries on lyricism in hardcore, in a way returning hardcore to its roots of real struggle and angst so integral to the early hardcore scene. Consider Knocked Loose a sort of amalgamation between the two.

Sporting heavy, driven riffs coupled with lyrics ranging from atheism to violently suppressing personal insecurities, Knocked Loose is the new age of hardcore. And you know what, it's f-cking great. Even in my early mid-life, when a night spent reading and browsing animal videos on YouTube with a pint of whiskey sounds like a good time, an album like 'Pop Culture' can bring right back all my feelings of ambition, drive and most importantly hunger for a freer and brighter future.

These kids are hungry, and if you give them a listen, you will be too. This is hardcore.



Recent reviews by this author
At The Throne of Judgment The Arcanum OrderGhost Key The Things I Am Not
Weedeater GoliathanShakey Graves And The War Came
Lorn The Maze To Nowhere - Part IFlorida Georgia Line Anything Goes
user ratings (90)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

Laugh Tracks

Comments:Add a Comment 
MuhNamesTyler
April 6th 2015


6178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules

SaturdayNightWrist1
September 1st 2015


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Such a great album. Although, you missed a great opportunity here with this review. You could have ended it with "This is Pop Culture".

calgarydude12
September 10th 2015


260 Comments


yo this is cool

torts
December 21st 2015


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YOU ARE AFUCKING WASTE OF SPACE, JUST WAITING FOR HELLLLL

torts
January 25th 2016


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is the absolute best workout album of all time

MuhNamesTyler
January 25th 2016


6178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I racked up a pretty ridiculous amount of plays just from the gym the first few months I had this. I'd sometimes listen to it twice in a row haha

joshpayne
January 28th 2016


41 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ALL MY FRIENDS ARE DEAD

MuhNamesTyler
January 28th 2016


6178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That split they did after this was super fucking disappointing

Spluger
July 14th 2016


1725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Posted about this on the news thread for their new album but these guys remind me so much of Suburban Scum. Very enjoyable EP even if the lyrics are kinda dumb at times

torts
September 15th 2016


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if this still ain't the heaviest slam album of all time

RexKwonDoCarrey
September 24th 2016


17 Comments


LT Been the soundtrack to my life so far.

SteveOffProbation
March 24th 2017


1445 Comments


how is this thread only a page long cmon man

AsleepInTheBack
March 28th 2017


4923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

had this on repeat all day, so cathartic

MuhNamesTyler
March 28th 2017


6178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^ dude Sputnik sleeps on a lot of good hardcore

Spluger
March 28th 2017


1725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How does Laugh Tracks compare to this? Cover art really turned me off from it

AsleepInTheBack
March 28th 2017


4923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty similar quality, arguably less crunchy and raw production (though its arguably bassier, which is nice) but if you liked this then you'll like that



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy