PRhyme
PRhyme


4.0
excellent

Review

by David Zamarripa-Shippey USER (8 Reviews)
January 10th, 2015 | 53 replies


Release Date: 12/09/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Return of the boom bap, 2014

DJ Premier and Royce da 5'9 have always had tremendous chemistry together. Given the slew of absolute bangers and bonafide jams they have put out in the past (see "Hip Hop", "Boom", "Hood Love", "Something 2 Ride 2"), PRhyme was a duo in the making for over a decade. Combining Premo's crisp, hard-hitting boom bap and Royce's smooth delivery, they are nearly Gang Starr reincarnated (the homie Royce even look like Guru). But I digress, as Royce himself has expressed publicly he isn't trying to replace the late Guru in this collaboration project. Regardless of his intentions, it is admirable and very pleasant to see Premo once again link up so well with another MC whose style compliments his production perfectly.

Gang Starr comparisons aside, PRhyme is a nice return to form for DJ Premier. He had recently been guilty of uninspired beats with an odd cartoonish bounce rejected rightly so by everyone from Immortal Technique to Jay-Z. Foregoing the Hanna-Barbera vibes and ridiculously grandiose thumps, Premier instead provides a backdrop best described as soulful, reserved, melodic, and brooding. Utilizing Adrian Younge samples, the instrumentals match Royce and supporting casts' barrage of witty punchlines, pop culture references, and hyperbolic braggadocio. His input isn't excessively bombastic nor does it override the vocals as so often has been the case in recent times.

Of course, PRhyme's production is only one half of its winning formula. Royce da 5'9 remains as humorous and thought-provoking as ever. Calmly delivering a range of quotables and double entendres (All these hugs and kissy emoji's killing my foe, G/ These bitches just ain't right, can't even kiss them in their mouths, too many dicks been their diets), he manages to garner plenty of chuckles from the listener and duly impress as an MC. While his lyricism fails to follow a consistent theme and is a rather random assortment of brags and boasts, it is a pleasant throwback to the classic battle rap rhymes so embedded in hip hop culture.

PRhyme also features guest verses from a diverse array of rappers. Ab-Soul, coming off the disappointing "These Days", alludes his impeccable hustle game and ambition to that of a crack dealer on "Dat Sound Good". Mac Miller, also on "Dat Sound Good", satirizes 2Pac's revered classic "Brenda's Got a Baby" by unapologetically claiming he sold Brenda's baby to a gay couple. Common remains as uplifting as ever on "Wishin'", whereas Killer Mike adds to his already hefty frame by eating up "Underground Kings".

PRhyme is a collaboration and experiment done right. Combining the freshest batch of beats Premo has created in a long time and Royce Da 5'9's always inspired rapping, PRhyme ecstatically sets the bar for all underground hip hop releases coming out in 2015.



Recent reviews by this author
Yung Lean Unknown MemoryJehst The Dragon Of An Ordinary Family
Drake Comeback SeasonKendrick Lamar good kid, m.A.A.d city
Versis lllcandescentGang Starr Moment of Truth
user ratings (97)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
HalfManHalfAmazing
January 10th 2015


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I personally really liked this. Hope I did it justice.

HenchmanOfSanta
January 10th 2015


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album, and I'm not huge on Primo or Royce.



Your lead is kind of wonky. "They don't not have chemistry" is a really bad sell.

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 10th 2015


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

what? that's not what i'm selling at all lol

cryptside
January 10th 2015


2397 Comments


Nice work man, pos'd. I need to check this out.

HenchmanOfSanta
January 10th 2015


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"what? that's not what i'm selling at all lol"



"It isn't quite inaccurate to say they have always had tremendous chemistry together" is a weird double-negative way of saying "It's accurate to say they have always had tremendous chemistry together." Their chemistry seems to be one of the positives of this album, a point hammered home when you call it a collaboration done right. Do you see what I'm saying?



Double negatives in general are really awkward. They look even worse when they're the very first line of the review. Just trying to be constructive.

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 10th 2015


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

no offense taken or meant man. haha. sorry. i see what you mean, that opening line always sounded awkward to me too. but i guess what i was trying to say is that it isn't far fetched to say they blend together really well (because other reviews i've read don't even say how much great chemistry they have)

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 10th 2015


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

also, i speak a lot of spanish in my day-to-day life which uses double negatives heavily, probably explains why i assumed the opening line was okay

LambsBread
January 20th 2015


6524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is probably album of the year.

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 20th 2015


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

too many witty one-liners for it not to be in contention at least

LambsBread
January 21st 2015


6524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i dont see what else would be better than this

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 23rd 2015


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yung Lean - Unknown Memory

LambsBread
January 24th 2015


6524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol

HalfManHalfAmazing
January 24th 2015


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

a la verga 4.5

greencorn5
January 27th 2015


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Heh, I've been kinda fan-boying, calling this hip-hop aoty since its release. Glad to see a few people on here realize how good this was.

LambsBread
January 27th 2015


6524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

39 ratings is pathetic.

iamamanfromspace
January 27th 2015


1030 Comments


Fav tracks? I love Underground Kings, Wishin', Microphone Preem...

LambsBread
January 27th 2015


6524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whatever that song is with the Immortal Technique reference

greencorn5
January 27th 2015


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This actually one of those albums that I listen to the whole way through pretty much every time. It's short, so sometime twice in a row if i'm just sitting there gaming or something. The only thing I don't really dig is Mac's verse but I'm way biased on that and actually it was better than most of the shit I've heard from him.

greencorn5
January 27th 2015


312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm also from MI so I'm definitely biased towards Royce, but still trying to be objective, I pretty much think he kills on this alb.

LambsBread
January 27th 2015


6524 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yep the Wac Wigger verse is by far the worst thing on here and the only part that is bad



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy