Self Defense Family
Self Immolation Family b/w World Virgins


4.0
excellent

Review

by danielito19 USER (28 Reviews)
January 4th, 2015 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Got on drugs - got off drugs - got on drugs


Self Defense Family travel to Iceland for the second entry in the Island Single Series. Self Immolation Family / World Virgins (Iceland) is their longest single to date; clocking in at twelve and a half minutes. Vocalist Patrick Kindon's lyricism is as incisive and satirical as ever.

Self Immolation Family follows a dire lyrical approach with appropriate guitar swells until everything drops out and a single riff emerges with vigor and virility. Self Defense Family's mastery of dynamics is on full display here, as the song crescendoes and subsequently pulls back into the "so you wanted some thrills" section. The drumbeat that makes up the rest of the song is brought back for the B-side. World Virgins follows in the footsteps of All Fruit Is Ripe from Jamaica, with more direct, less varied song structuring, and more lyrical focus - the music is simply a background for Kindlon. That's not to say this is a weak song by any means; while it is slightly on the long side, the Family's long songs are always well composed and interesting for the full duration.

Iceland is closer to SDF's debut LP Try Me than any of their other material. If Try Me was too daunting, give this single a try.



Recent reviews by this author
James Holden The InheritorsNathan Fake Providence
Autechre EP7The Black Dog Music for Real Airports
Emika DreiSelf Defense Family Talia b/w Taxying
user ratings (41)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wish this site were more tolerable of singles.

BMDrummer
January 4th 2015


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh hey a review

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2015


13225 Comments


still need to check this band.

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - Marked For Death

danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd recommend you start here mort.



also let me compliment your dig: Leaves Turn Inside You is one of my favorite albums of all time.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2015


13225 Comments


yeah i read your rev for it yesterday

listening to it right now and thinking of 5ing it, really enjoying it

danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you should def 5 it. also that's easily the best review i have ever written, i doubt i'll ever write anything that good ever again lmao.

BMDrummer
January 4th 2015


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the way leaves kinda fizzles out near the end is so perfect

danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Below the Salt is so monolithic, and then Who Cares? follows up perfectly with a reprise of the opener and then a goofy sax

BMDrummer
January 4th 2015


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that sudden loss of momentum in radio gra gets me every time in the best way, the string melody moves mountains tbh

danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but anyways THIS record....



there's a riff halfway through the A-side that is just beautiful and impeccable

BMDrummer
January 4th 2015


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

love how the a-side fades out with the same drum pattern that starts the b-side

BMDrummer
January 4th 2015


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

probably gonna review you are beneath me next

danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't own I Tried... on wax, I'll have to get it



As far as Island Series goes, I'd rank em Scotland > Jamaica > Iceland, but they're all close. this is only in last place because I'm Going Through Some Shit is the best thing SDF has ever done



and yeah I love the recycling of the drum part, that's super cool.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2015


13225 Comments


wait so this island series is them releasing a split with a band from said island?

FlyheadMetal
January 4th 2015


2422 Comments


Short review, but I like it.

danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah, island series is they travel to an island and record a 7" single there

Avagantamos
January 4th 2015


5892 Comments


I'm only really familiar with the Jamaica and Scotland singles. don't think I've heard all of this one

Digging: Dr. Dooom - First Come, First Served

danielito19
January 4th 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's on spotify or you can play it sometime, it's on the CD shelf with my other 7"s

BMDrummer
January 4th 2015


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

futures neg

deathschool
January 4th 2015


21896 Comments


Pos



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy