Ashbury
Endless Skies


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg USER (52 Reviews)
December 31st, 2014 | 37 replies


Release Date: 1983 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Obscure hard rock with progressive tendencies, southern rock flavor and a strong scent of epicness.

It’s such a bittersweet feeling when you discover an obscure album from a forgotten band. On the one hand, it’s sweet because there’s something out there that has been flying under the radar for a long time and you finally found it, which often creates an emotional bond. But it’s bitter because someone talented enough to create really good music didn’t manage to reach a wider audience due to a number of reasons.

Ashbury’s debut is exactly that case of an album where it should have been much more popular because its musical content is too good to go unnoticed. Searching for the reasons why this album is so obscure is probably a futile exercise but to begin with, it was released during the wrong era. The beginning of the ‘80s and more specifically 1983 was a year for NWOBHM and thrash metal not a hard rock album with progressive tendencies.

Endless Skies sounds like a cross between Wishbone Ash’s Argus with southern rock tendencies ala-The Allman Brothers and a scent of epicness the same way Rainbow did in the past. From the very first track of the album, one feels drawn to the beautiful guitar harmonies, the captivating leads and soft vocal lines. Most tracks are mid tempo while the lyrics deal with fantasy themes, giving the album a magical/mystical feeling. There are various acoustic passages that might remind Jethro Tull to some which is always a plus. Songs like the instrumental ”Twilight” or “No Mourning” impress with their beauty, while “Vengeance” and “Endless Skies” help to create an epic atmosphere such as the one depicted on the album’s cover art. The rest of the album consists more or less of well crafted tracks with a number of hooks and immaculate melodies.

Nevertheless, some may find the band too much focused on their influences even though I assure you that Ashbury have done a really good job of wearing them on their sleeve. In addition, Endless Skies is just unusual when we come to think the year it was released and might sound dated to a handful of listeners.

However, if you’re looking for a high quality hard rock album with interesting and well written songs, look no more; Endless Skies is one of the best hard rock albums you’ve never listened.



Recent reviews by this author
The Gentle Storm The DiaryRanger Where Evil Dwells
Evil Invaders Pulses of PleasureUFO A Conspiracy of Stars
Black Star Riders The Killer InstinctJanis Joplin I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama!
user ratings (6)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
December 31st 2014


7425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just a little review for this obscure gem before the year ends.



Full album: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rb7d_zque0



Your comments are appreciated.

Digging: The Gathering - How to Measure a Planet?

Titan
December 31st 2014


7633 Comments


You know it's a great and effective review when someone starts listening to this immediately upon reading.

Pos'd bro

manosg
December 31st 2014


7425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bro! You're in for a great ride!

Titan
December 31st 2014


7633 Comments


I like it already

manosg
December 31st 2014


7425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

stoked!

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2014


16383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love me some suvvern rock will listen

Digging: Different Strings - The Sounds of Silence, Pt. II: The Counterfeits

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2014


16383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is great so far, nice shout mano

danielcardoso
December 31st 2014


3114 Comments


Very nice review man, pos'd from me.
And hey, Happy New Year.

rockandmetaljunkie
December 31st 2014


4549 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The first paragraph is so true. I feel the same way.

danielcardoso
December 31st 2014


3114 Comments


Yeah man, your first paragraph is top notch.

Titan
December 31st 2014


7633 Comments


I have quite a few of those albums as well which is why this review grabbed me from the start

awesome paragraph indeed

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2014


16383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn that riff on Vengeance

danielcardoso
December 31st 2014


3114 Comments


I sort of feel that way about The Parlor Mob's "And You Were A Crow". It's an awesome hard rock/blues album from 2007 or 2008, I don't know. Few people know about it, and it's a shame because it's really great. You kind of think of such albums as a bit special for being so overlooked.

Titan
December 31st 2014


7633 Comments


agreed mena, my face began melting

rockandmetaljunkie
December 31st 2014


4549 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"awesome paragraph indeed"



That's how fucking life works. Not everyone gets what they deserve.

manosg
December 31st 2014


7425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoa, thanks for the positive feedback guys!



Really glad you're enjoying this one mena. And yeah, there's so much stuff out there that goes unnoticed which is one of the reasons this site is so sweet.

manosg
December 31st 2014


7425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And Happy New Year to everyone!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2014


20351 Comments


that artwork is awesome. great review manosg, definitely convinced to give this a listen! and happy new year too

Digging: Galar - De Gjenlevende

Totengott
December 31st 2014


2279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pos, nice review and time to jam this. Artwork rules.

Digging: Ulver - Messe I.X-VI.X

manosg
December 31st 2014


7425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys! The artwork is actually the reason I decided to give this a chance in the first place haha. Hope you enjoy the album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy