Galneryus
VETELGYUS


4.5
superb

Review

by King Henry VIII USER (64 Reviews)
December 26th, 2014 | 49 replies


Release Date: 09/24/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Galneryus has yet to disappoint.

In recent years, Galneryus has gained quite a substantial international following ever since Masatoshi Ono debuted as lead singer on the band’s 2010 album, Resurrection. In 2012, momentum rapidly increased respectively with Angel of Salvation (both the album and 14 minute epic), which brought about a tour in Europe (which happens to be a big deal for any band from Asia). With their newfound international recognition and the comparison of “neo-classical Dragonforce” by westerners alike, Galneryus decided to re-record two albums of cherry-picked material from the Yama-B era (before Ono), The IronHearted Flag vol. 1–2 , to (i) provide accessibility of their older material to their new international fan base; (ii) prove that they have a unique sound and tear off the rather offensive comparison of Dragonforce and Yngwie Malmsteen that inevitably pops up in the mind of every first time listener; and (iii) to celebrate their 10th anniversary of their debut. The first impression most people got from the IronHearted Flag series is a typical analysis based on the trends when bands re-record/make new arrangements of older material: the desecration of classics, and an imminent downfall in the career of prolific musicians. Somehow, Galneryus managed to avoid those trends completely by actually improving certain production quality and musical arrangements on the material presented on the IronHearted Flag series, and the release of Vetelgyus shows no sign of Galneryus slowing down.

For a band that generally releases new material every consecutive year (not counting the time of transition between singers), it was quite strange and a possible blessing in disguise (i.e., quality purposes) that Vetegylus was released two years after one of Galneryus’ strongest statements in their musical career with Angel of Salvation. It is true that Galneryus can easily be compared to Dragonforce and Yngwie Malmsteen, but Galneryus have a few things both of the aforementioned (particularly post 2000 Yngwie, not his 1980s work) do not have: consistency, originality, and musical integrity. These three characteristics are noticed immediately in Vetelgyus’ first half of the album with the incorporation of electronics, neo-classical soloing, symphonic compositions, production/mixing (e.g., audible bass), musical technicality, etc… The surprise of the album came from two songs that reside in the middle or near the very end of the album’s duration respectively: the self-titled and Secret Love. The self-titled track is an interesting piece featuring typical guitar solos, and symphonies, but what stood out the most was the catchy folk tune that is comparable to Blind Guardian’s or Ensiferum’s classic melodies, but maintains the key ingredient: originality. As a side note: before the bumpin’ Secret Love, Galneryus showcases their improvement on generating a formulaic approach for crafting ballads with Attitude of Life. On Secret Love, listeners can enjoy a taste of Galneryus’ brand of progressive power metal `that demonstrates a consistent mixture of blues, jazz, and classical influences. At the very end of the album, Galneryus puts forth an emotional instrumental to end the epic journey that is Vetelgyus.

To conclude; it might be easy to say Vetelgyus is a step down from Angel of Salvation, but it’s also easy to say that both the albums are incomparable (which puts both albums in their own respected league within Galneryus’ discography). However, it is definitely true to say that Angel of Salvation is a step up from Phoenix Rising, and Phoenix Rising is a step down from Resurrection, but to say Vetelgyus is a step up/down from its predecessor is a long shot. It’s safer to say that they are on par with each other on the basis of one common element: consistent quality. Vetelgyus is more than just a regurgitation of consistent quality – what a novel thought – from a highly talented band; it in fact demonstrates maturity in the band through minute details within the woodwork. For instance, the bass work done by Taka is audible; Ono is doing a fantastic job at crafting memorable vocal melodies on every single track; technical drum work by Junichi Sato; Syu (guitars) and Yuhki (keyboards) are demonstrating creativity and constraint by avoiding mindless shredding that goes nowhere (something that Dragonforce is slowing mastering, and something Yngwie Malmsteen will never master); and the list keeps going on.

Final Rating: 4.3



Recent reviews by this author
Edguy Space Police - Defenders of the CrownPowerwolf Preachers of the Night
Dark Tranquillity ConstructGamma Ray Master of Confusion
Stratovarius NemesisIn the Silence A Fair Dream Gone Mad
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
FictionalFlames
December 26th 2014


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Music video for "There's no Escape"



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8KN3ju3xPmo

EvoHavok
December 26th 2014


7181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very nice review, but:

"It is true that Galneryus can easily be compared to Dragonforce and Yngwie Malmsteen, but Galneryus have a few things both of the aforementioned do not have: consistency, originality, and musical integrity. "



Claiming Yngwie does not have the last two is not really fair.

Digging: Ningen-Isu - Ijigen Kara no Hoko

CalculatingInfinity
December 26th 2014


7403 Comments


Agreed wholeheartly with Evo. Syu is probably influenced by Malmsteen and is the one that brought Neoclassical Metal to form and he does have musical integrity despite having a massive ego.

FictionalFlames
December 26th 2014


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I probably should have been more clear on that statement. When I writing that comparison, I was mainly thinking of every album he put out since 2000 (15 years worth of material). I might edit the review to clarify my thoughts.

FictionalFlames
December 26th 2014


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

EvoHavok and CalculatingInfinity, thanks for pointing out that weird sentence. When I re-read that part it did feel off beat, and I tried to make some adjustments to clarify my thoughts.

EvoHavok
December 26th 2014


7181 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No problem. It's clearer now.

FrozenVain
December 26th 2014


2955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Great review! I agree with everything you mention about Galneryus as a band but I can't help but to feel a bit dissapointed in this. This album, for me, seems a lot sloppier and not as detailed as AoS or other past albums. The production isn't as sharp and it really lacks something that AoS had. The grandness...the scale...it's hard to pinpoint. The ending chorus in the Promised Flag just blows my freaking mind how epic it is and I feel like Vetelgyus just doesn't have anything that is as elaborate. I still have to give Galneryus credit for releasing so much good material in so little time.



"Ono is doing a fantastic job at crafting memorable vocal melodies on every single track; technical drum work by Junichi Sato; Syu (guitars) and Yuhki (keyboards) are demonstrating creativity..."



This is reasons why I love Galneryus so much but I think Vetelgyus is lacking in all of these elements. Especially the drumming. The drumming in AoS was bloody amazing.



I really like Secret Love though. It's fun, catchy and unlike anything Galneryus has ever done.

FictionalFlames
December 26th 2014


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love the way how your opinion for Vetelgyus comes off as negavitive, but your rating is a 4/5 haahhahahahahahahahahaha

Sabrutin
December 26th 2014


4464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Great read, pos'd.



Overall this is my least favorite of their albums with Ono, but it's still very good.

Digging: Necromandus - Necromandus

FrozenVain
December 27th 2014


2955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@FictionalFlames



It's goddamn Galneryus, dude. I have been jamming the shit out of this even though I find it dissapointing.



Best band is best band.



"Overall this is my least favorite of their albums with Ono, but it's still very good." [2]

Sabrutin
December 27th 2014


4464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"There's No Escape," "Enemy To Injustice," "Attitude To Life," "Secret Love" and "I Wish" are the tracks that I imagine to keep in my iPod for a long time.



"Enemy To Injustice" gets me everytime.

CalculatingInfinity
December 27th 2014


7403 Comments


God damn I listened to 3 tracks off this and it did little for me, I guess AoS is the only Galneryus I can really dig for now :/

Sabrutin
December 27th 2014


4464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I must admit that I had to give this some time to click with me, and honestly it hasn't completely yet (see my Sound Off).

FictionalFlames
December 27th 2014


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's weird! Vetelgyus clicked immediately for me, but AoS and Phoenix Rising took awhile for me to realize how awesome they were. I think I had to piece it out in between different genres within a playlist.

Sabrutin
December 28th 2014


4464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Personally I would say that Vetelgyus lacks the strength and catchiness of tracks like "The Promised Flag," "Hunting For Your Dream," or "Lament" and I feel that it tries a bit too hard at feeling grand. But, I guess that's exactly what a lot of listeners like about it.



Phoenix Rising clicked as soon as I heard "The Wind Blows."

FrozenVain
December 28th 2014


2955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Totally agree, Sabrutin.



and also The Wind Blows [heart]

FictionalFlames
December 28th 2014


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Judgement Day is pretty awesome

FictionalFlames
December 28th 2014


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Food for thought: is there a song by Galneryus that sucks?

Sabrutin
December 28th 2014


4464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This band covered Queensryche's "Queen of the Reich" in the Voices From The Past III EP, I mean what's not to love about them?

Sabrutin
December 28th 2014


4464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

For real though I'm not too fond of the sugary "Child Of Free."



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy