Townes Van Zandt
Townes Van Zandt


3.5
great

Review

by Pepe Silvia USER (24 Reviews)
October 27th, 2014 | 23 replies


Release Date: 1969 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Was singing about Colorado years before John Denver tried to make it cool.

What is harder to find than a Sputnik user with good taste?

An enjoyable country record.

What Townes accomplished here with mainly just his guitar and years of accrued discernment serves as a caste iron monument hanging an ominous shadow over other singer/songwriters. Spurning his family’s affluence Van Zandt rose and fell on his own merit and payed the price for many poor decisions. Finally succumbing to alcoholism, he died at the age of 52 leaving behind a distinctive collection of songs in his wake.

Possessing the less animated voice of his idol Hank Williams, Townes preferred to play his music at a lower key to closely fit his own reflection of self. Questions of psyche are up for debate on Waiting Around To Die. Not bad for the first song he ever wrote. While allusions of his own unique perceptions of the world are found on Fare Thee Well, Miss Carousel which also brings a little folk rock into the mix.

Van Zandt’s guitar playing was never very complex but he was adept at layering catchy lines over finger picked melodies while rarely using full chords. And though his world weary voice can carry a song its not exactly an award winner. It is in cadence and subject matter where Townes makes his impact. On (Quicksilver Daydreams of) Maria aided by faint drumming and a stirring violin the track ends with,

So the serpent slide softly away with these moments of laughter
and the the old washy woman has finish her cleanin' and gone
but the bamboo hang heavy in the bondage of quicksilver daydreams
and a lonely child longingly looks for a place to belong

To me Van Zandt compares to names like Cash and Nelson. Not so much stylistically but in the uncommon ability to transcend genre. There are artists who listeners can appreciate regardless of their normal musical preferences and Townes is just a lesser known version of this. His ability to make the audience feel what he feels is a talent I don’t come across very often.



Recent reviews by this author
Steve Earle The Low HighwayTreepeople Something Vicious for Tomorrow / Time Whore
Ella Fitzgerald Clap Your Hands, Here Comes CharlieIron Horse Fade to Bluegrass
Yo-Yo Ma and Others The Goat Rodeo SessionsThy Catafalque Tuno Ido Tarlat
user ratings (84)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
bnelso55
October 27th 2014


627 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to see this reviewed. Have a pos. This is a fantastic record.

Digging: Jackson C. Frank - Jackson C. Frank

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2014


8225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one needed a review. Great album, have a pos.

Digging: Armored Saint - Armored Saint

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2014


23633 Comments


One of the greatest songwriters of all time.

Can't believe this didn't have a review until now.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2014


16806 Comments


"Lungs" is just brilliant

WeepingBanana
October 27th 2014


10358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is so good

wacknizzle
October 27th 2014


13993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm glad you reviewed this, but disagree with the rating hard

Digging: Gaul - Ancient Sanctuary

ExcentrifugalForz
October 27th 2014


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I used to have this rated higher but some of his other work surpassed it.

wacknizzle
October 27th 2014


13993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's a few more albums I need to check by him but this is still my favorite

WeepingBanana
October 27th 2014


10358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i've only heard this and OMtM, and that def didn't stand up to this

NorthernSkylark
October 27th 2014


7073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is my favorite album of his too, but his others are not far away, just a little less consistent and as i've said countless times now the production choices on some of his first albums are corny and makes his songs come off less awesome (in the old sense of the word, and the new)

Digging: The KLF - Chill Out

WeepingBanana
October 27th 2014


10358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

heard good things about flying shoes, will probably get that next

ExcentrifugalForz
October 27th 2014


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

check Delta Momma Blues if you haven't

Muisc4Life26
October 28th 2014


3169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yes this really needed a review! pos

DominionMM1
January 15th 2015


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

best album ever yeah

DominionMM1
January 17th 2015


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SALVATION SAT AND CROSSED HERSELF



AND CALLED THE DEVIL PARTNER

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2015


23633 Comments


Lungs really is the best song ever.

NorthernSkylark
January 18th 2015


7073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this really needs a plus 4 review!

DominionMM1
January 18th 2015


11569 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

townes needs more reviews in general

catnap
May 10th 2015


55 Comments


Now I'm out of prison, I got me a friend at last
He don't steal or cheat or drink or lie
His name's codeine, he's the nicest thing I've seen
Together we're gonna wait around and die


perfection

NorthernSkylark
May 10th 2015


7073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hard to believe that this is still on page 1



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy