Cloakroom
Infinity


4.0
excellent

Review

by BandNewbac USER (1 Reviews)
October 25th, 2014 | 14 replies


Release Date: 06/18/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: What the hell is stoner emo?

Very few bands in this current 'shoegaze' revival scene are doing anything new or interesting. you will be lucky to find a band currently that pulls away from the soft vocal fuzzy wall of sound formula that has been overused all too many times. granted this sound has punctuated my life and influenced the development of my music writing and listening. however in this day and age music becoming tiresome is a rather unattractive concept.

This is were Cloakroom come in. calling cloakroom a straight up shoegaze band to start with is foolish (although they do pull stylistic influences from bands such as slowdive) due to the fact they do so much more than just the cliches of the shoegaze style. from the warm analogue sound to the romantic lyricism, Cloakroom are doing a lot more to set themselves apart from other bands pulling from this style nowadays. and it pays off as infinity is invigorating from the starting lines of the 9 minute epic "Sedimentary" to the fuzzing ending to "mind funeral".

despite cloakroom being a 3 piece the sound never feels empty or underwhelming. there are always washes of atmospheric modulation and effects flowing over the lush soundscapes of "infinity" and noisey sonic youth inspired interludes to back them up. these aforementioned interludes crop up a few times on "infinity" and really shines through the mix as the noise rock inspired fuzz tones of the guitars and bass cloud the hazy wall of sound cloakroom are aiming for.

There is also a real stoner rock and metal vibe ringing throughout the 30 minute run time of infinity which serves as a refreshing sound when coupled with the emo sincerity in the vocals and lyrics. the albums opening line "how careless are we?" really shows this. however although cloakrooms sound maybe a breathed of fresh air it is obviously not completely original or without its flaws fro that matter. i can see people criticizing this album for being long winded or repetitive considering the album only has 5 songs but is 30 minutes long and features a lot of drawn out noise and fuzz. overall i feel what this album serves to do is show the true creative potential and jarringly loud sound that this band can produce. i have no doubt with time they can put together a true masterpiece in this style.


user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
LowellWolfe
October 25th 2014


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Trying really hard to get into this album, gonna give it a listen again. I really like that Bending song.

Just a couple pointers:

-Capitalize the first letter of your sentences, album names, and song names
-Read everything out loud to determine where commas should be
-Try to write actively instead of passively (i.e instead of "There is also a real stoner rock and metal vibe ringing
throughout..." try "A stoner rock and metal vibe rings throughout..."

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2014


28789 Comments


whats the verdict on this bitch

ChoccyPhilly
October 25th 2014


7887 Comments


This has the make of being a good review, but punctuation lets you down a bit here. Just make sure your grammar is correct and capital letters are where they should be

Digging: Shade Empire - Omega Arcane

LordePots
October 25th 2014


8233 Comments


this sounds kinda cool

Digging: Kitty Pryde - FROSTBITE

JohnnyOnTheSpot
October 25th 2014


1691 Comments


I liked Grown Ups, so I'll probably check this

Digging: Snowday - As We Travel

LordePots
October 25th 2014


8233 Comments


wtf that was a terrible movie!!

henryChinaski
October 25th 2014


2840 Comments


Yeah, this is pretty good. I believe the bassist from Native is in this band. 'Bending' rules.


Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Keep You

Rhyme
October 25th 2014


1155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

all this review really needs is some proofreading as far as i can tell

but yeah this is dope, glad it got a review. these guys are supposedly coming out with a new album soon so im excited for that

Digging: Whirr/Nothing - Split

BandNewbac
October 26th 2014


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for all the feedback guys. will definitely take it all into account next review.

LordePots
October 26th 2014


8233 Comments


but yeah this is dope, glad it got a review. these guys are supposedly coming out with a new album soon so im excited for that


they are coming out with a new album soon after literally releasing a new album yesterday?

Rhyme
October 26th 2014


1155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

umm this album came out last year, unless there's a new album i know nothing of

BandNewbac
October 26th 2014


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The release of their new album via run for cover got delayed due to technical problems. probably because they recorded it in a bloody cave.

LordePots
October 26th 2014


8233 Comments


umm this album came out last year, unless there's a new album i know nothing of


my bad, i was looking at the review date and was like 'wtf?'

henryChinaski
October 26th 2014


2840 Comments


Nice to hear they'll release an album in the near future.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy