New Found Glory
Resurrection


4.5
superb

Review

by Atari STAFF
October 11th, 2014 | 44 replies


Release Date: 10/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A proper resurrection

There’s really not much to gripe about for longtime fans of New Found Glory with the release of their most recent effort Resurrection. It is, much as the title suggests, an attempt to revive the band’s signature sound, and for the most part it’s a complete success. Although the pop-punk veterans have worked diligently to bring back glimpses of their roots on their last few albums, they sounded recycled and forced at times. On this occasion, however, New Found Glory actually sound like they’re having a good time again, rather than just going through the motions. The result is one of their most addicting and consistent albums in over a decade.

While the band’s persistence to create that one special album that will bring them back into the spotlight has certainly paid off, it’s something else that makes Resurrection so much more likeable than their recent efforts: a sense of attitude. While Radiosurgery still sounded undoubtedly like a New Found Glory album, it was a bit too pop-heavy (even by their standards) and was missing that extra dose of edginess that made their self titled and Sticks and Stones so engaging. And that’s what makes Resurrection such a treat to listen to: that extra aggression has returned and everything about the band feels reinvigorated, from the punchy guitars to the noticeable improvement in their lyricism. No longer are all the songs about girls, but even the ones that are come across as more clever than whiny this time around. For example, songs like ‘Vicious Love’ and ‘Living Hell’ are love tales that never find the band returning to their past lyrical cliche’s, but instead rely on humor to get their point across. Other songs like ‘The Worst Person’ and 'Angel’ have a more unapologetic nature as the band sings against a person’s faults all while retaining their huge choruses and hooks.

Once again, Jordan Pundik is on vocal duties and he sounds fully revived as he injects all his stamina into his performance. 'Stories of a Different Kind’ showcases him at his very best, and it sounds like it would have fit snugly on Sticks and Stones. The guitar-work is also a definite highlight, and even though they only have one guitarist now, Chad Gilbert proves he has more than enough talent to carry the album on his own. Songs like ‘Degenerate’ and ‘Selfless’ possess a slight hardcore vibe and have more energy stuffed into them than the band is usually able to replicate with an extra guitar on hand. The rest of the album is no exception, as nearly every track contains memorable guitar parts and an overall improvement in musicianship.

Despite facing the obstacle of losing one of their longtime band members, New Found Glory have made a triumphant return with Resurrection. If anything, the album is a statement that they’re not throwing in the towel anytime soon, and it’s refreshing to hear them so rejuvenated. What’s more fascinating, however, is how they were able to conjure up such a strong record more than fifteen years into their career. Whether it’s their undeniable passion for music or their perseverance that’s brought them back on top, they’re sure as hell doing something right. One thing’s for sure, New Found Glory had a blast making this album and thankfully for us, it’s just as much fun to listen to.



Recent reviews by this author
Sannhet So NumbThe Lurking Fear Out Of The Voiceless Grave
Neun Welten The Sea I'm Diving InFalls of Rauros Vigilance Perennial
Del Paxton All Day, Every Day, All NightSuper Whatevr Good Luck
user ratings (148)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Sebastian (4.5)
Madness....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2014


22536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

honestly don't have any complaints about this one. feeling a bit rusty so feedback is appreciated. really fun album I'd recommend giving it a shot even if you're not a big fan

tacos N stuff
October 10th 2014


2569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

best since sticks and stones

scottpilgrim10
October 10th 2014


4748 Comments


What's with the different ratings? Do you appreciate the album more than you actually like it?

Either way great review

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2014


22536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@scottpilgrim, I realized after finishing the review that I didn't have anything negative to say, so a 4.5 seemed about right. I just changed my rating

scottpilgrim10
October 10th 2014


4748 Comments


Interesting. I enjoyed the album, but I didn't love any of the tracks

Ecnalzen
October 10th 2014


7143 Comments


As soon as I saw that they released a new album, I have been expecting an Atari review.

You did not disappoint.

Judio!
October 10th 2014


8399 Comments


Sweet to see you reviewing again, Atari! Haven't listened to these guys before but I think I might have to now.

BlackLlama
October 10th 2014


2144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review. One of my least favorite - favorite bands. This album really works for me, and the Raneri cameo on Stubborn is icing on the cake.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2014


22536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks for the kind words guys. constructive criticism is always welcome too ;)

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2014


6217 Comments


Cool review, no criticism. You've convinced me to check it out. I remember jamming sticks and stones back in the day

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2014


4408 Comments


Yay, new Atari review! Will read more thoroughly later tonight.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2014


22536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Cheers guys. This band is not very popular around these parts lol

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2014


4408 Comments


"signature sound and for the most part it’s a complete success"

Throw in a comma after "sound".

"done their best to recapture their roots on their last few albums"

You just used "their" three times in a row. Idk, if there's (no pun intended) any way to switch around the word choice in that sentence to cut down on repetition, it'd help a bit.

"actually sound like they’re having a good time again rather than just going through the motions"

Again, try adding in a comma after "again".

"The guitar-work is also a definite highlight and even though they only have one guitarist now"

Again, add a comma after "highlight".

"anytime soon and it’s refreshing to hear them so rejuvenated"

Again, comma after "soon".

Other than that, great review. Good to see you writing again.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2014


22536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks for the constructive feedback man! I'll have to tweak that one sentence and throw in some commas later when I'm not on my phone. Apparently, commas are not my friend lol

SteveP
October 13th 2014


88 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Surprised to see everyone on here digging this, I think it's by far their worst record. Good review though, I just don't agree with it.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2014


22536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks man! Just out of curiousity, what don't you like about it?

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 13th 2014


24600 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You've convinced me. I'll listen to this.



Great review too!

Digging: The National - Sleep Well Beast

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2014


22536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks sowing, you're too kind!



Personally, I thought this was far more enjoyable than Radiosurgery, but I'm curious to hear your thoughts if you do get around to hearing it

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 13th 2014


24600 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I liked Radiosurgery, even though it was kind of bubble gum poppy for my taste. I'll listen to this when I'm done with the new Andrew McMahon =)

Aids
October 13th 2014


24407 Comments


Totally thought this would be Sowing. I forgot about Atari (and his questionable taste).

Good review!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy