Black Sabbath
Greatest Hits 1970-1978


5.0
classic

Review

by Imaperson USER (2 Reviews)
April 23rd, 2006 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


Here we go, my first review.

Members:
John "Ozzy" Osbourne - Vocals
Tony Iommi - Guitar
Geezer Butler - Bass
Bill Ward - Drums

Black Sabbath is one of my favourite bands, while i was in the store, i happened to come by this, so i bought it. Then i went on my computer and popped the CD in, and wow, what a great greatest hits album!

Black Sabbath - 10/10: Here it is, their self titled album, what a classic! It starts of with church bells, lighting and rain. Then after that, the guitar and drums come right in, it sounds awesome, even with the church bell still in play! after that its pretty silent when ozzy sings, then the instruments come back in. After more than half the song, the guitar starts doing an amazing solo! then it ends. A Classic and amazing, and what a way to start off the album!

N.I.B - 9/10: Great Song, The song starts off with a Wah-Wah bass, then the chorus starts with the guitar doing the same thing, the drum beat keeps the song going on great! The only thing wrong with this song in this album is that they took out the 30 second bass part, which i found catchy. Overall great song and should definatley be heard.

The Wizard - 9/10: The song starts off with a harmonica by itself for 20 seconds, then the instruments come in. After that there is a little solo for both both drums and guitar that happens for about 10 seconds, then goes back to the chorus. This song is catchy, i love the harmonica that gives this song an old time feeling.

War Pigs - 10/10: One of the greatest songs of all time. The song starts with a guitar riff and a bass riff that gives it a little tune, which sounds great. After this it gets quiet when ozzy sings. This goes in a pattern for a little while, then behold, the great solo (otherwise known as "Lukes Wall"), And it is just incredible. One of my favourites, this song is groundbreaking, thats all i have to say.

Paranoid - 10/10: Ah, here is a excellent song! This one goes faster than all the other, and is definately catchy. I love the guitar work in this song, definately the solo too. The beginning chorus repeats itself even when the solo happens. Amazing song, i recommend you listen to this one!

Iron Man - 10/10: Another favourite, the guitar is one of the best riffs i heard in a while. Great verse and chorus! The solo in the song is one of the greatest solos i've ever heard too. The outro is a great to end this outstanding song.

Sweet Leaf - 9.5/10: This song starts off with Iommi coughing, then it gets too a good guitar riff. Good singing by Ozzy too. Then after it does this for a little while, the drums get better as the go fasten, then the guitar does its solo, sounds really good! then it goes back to the chorus. Nice work.

Children Of The Grave - 10/10: The song starts with a good bass riff, then the drums starting pounding, then the guitar comes in with its riff, the beat is awesome. Excellent track, One of my favourites. Lyrics are good.

Changes - 8/10 - This song starts off with a beautiful piano that goes on for the whole song, pretty good singing too, but it's kinda repititave, good listen though.

Snowblind - 10/10 - Awesome song! love the guitar in this one, i also know that one of my other favourite bands, System of a Down, did a cover song for this, and its really good. The System Of A Down version of this song is faster by a long shot, but that doesnt make a difference for this song, this a good slow song to listen to. I really recommend this song.

Supernaut - 9/10 - Nice cymbal sound a the start, then a good riff from Iommi, then the chorus comes in, sounds really great. I love this beat, its just too good, and the solo, wow, really awesome!

Sabbath Bloody Sabbath - 9/10 - Nice guitar riff that starts, then it gets to the good beat for this, then after that, it stops and goes to the soft part which sounds cool. Good solo to go with it too. Good track.

Hole In The Sky - 8/10 - The intro starts with really tiny sounds from the drums and bass, then it gets to the riff. Very catchy also, I cant really hear the bass in this one, due to Iommi's high riffs. Pretty good song, it goes on for a while though, might lose interest to some people.

Rock 'N' Roll Doctor - 7.5/10 - The bass sounds good in this one, the riff is pretty good, the drums sounds really great. I think this is one of the pretty average tracks in this album, sounds the same throught, until near the end, which sounds good with a mini solo. Pretty Good track.

Never Say Die - 10/10 - This one is pretty fast, I think the drum and guitar work on this is great, the bass is awesome too. This one has really amazing lyrics, and amazing singing by Ozzy, you can't skip this track, i recommend it, you won't regret it.

Dirty Women - 9.5/10 - Here is the outro song to the album, this one is a slow song, amazing instrument work on this, Ozzy's voice sounds different during the beginning. The solos are a great work in this one. Around 5:00, it goes faster, the drums bass and guitars all go faster and it sounds really, really good. Then it slows down but the guitar still keeps doing a slow solo. After that, it ends, thus closing a Classic greatest hits album. Well done, Black Sabbath, Well done.

Album Rating: 10/10 - Classic, should be owned by all Black Sabbath fans.

Pros: Mastering makes the songs more clearer, great tracks.

Cons: Took out some parts from some songs, should add more stronger tracks that people loved (ex: Electric Funeral, etc.)

Tracks Recomended:
War Pigs
Iron Man
Black Sabbath
Supernaut
Sweet Leaf
(i recommend every song but these are the ones i listen to most)

I hope you liked my review, and i hope you enjoy this great album :)

Reviewed By: Imaperson


user ratings (167)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
sonictheplumber STAFF (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Imaperson
April 23rd 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The Review was done by Imaperson, which is me

Sorry if i didnt put my name up in the review.

morrissey
Moderator
April 23rd 2006


1688 Comments


Nice effort, but your review is pretty skimpy. If you don't have more than a sentence or two to say about each song, perhaps try doing an overall instead? It looks much better and flows much better too. Also, you concentrate too much on doing a play-by-play of the album and less on analysing the album and giving us your opinion of it. Here are some suggestions on how to do that:

- What themes and emotions run through the entire album? Is the album cohesive or disjointed? Does it flow musically and thematically?
- What sets individual songs apart? What aspects make one song better/worse than the rest?
- Do the lyrics stand out? Do they improve/lessen the songs? Do they fit with the mood of each song and the mood of the album?
- What influenced the band to make this album? How are previous albums a buildup to this one? What impact does this album have on the band's musical path? On other bands within the genre? Outside of the genre?

Imaperson
April 23rd 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh I see, thanks for the tips Ill try much better on my next reviewThis Message Edited On 04.23.06

Thor
April 23rd 2006


10192 Comments


Not bad for a first review. Welcome to the forums.

tom79
April 23rd 2006


3372 Comments


This is a good collection. Some awesome tracks here. I agree, War Pigs is amazing.

Digging: Business Models - Room

pattern_recognition
April 24th 2006


950 Comments


Stop saying 'good' and 'awesome'.
And I'm a Sabbath fan, but I can't stand War Pigs. I just think it's crap. Overrated crap. It's like all the things that people give Sabbath shit for rolled into one song.

south_of_heaven 11
April 24th 2006


5433 Comments


pattern! (insert shocked face here)
War Pigs is one of the greatest songs ever written. Its easily one of, if not the, highlight of Sabbath's career.
But oh well, I guess somebody's got not to like it...

pattern_recognition
April 24th 2006


950 Comments


Yeah, I dunno, I know all the reasons it's supposed to be great, but it just does absolutely nothing for me...I can't explan it.
I make up for it by loving Supernaut all the more. Although if marrying songs was legal, I'd probably be married to Paranoid. But I'd be cheating on it with Sabbath Bloody Sabbath and The Mob Rules.

Thor
April 24th 2006


10192 Comments


I already have the Symptom of the Universe package, so this is basically that album all over again.

All of the songs on here or classics though, can't argue with that. I guess it's just another greatests hits package for a new Black Sabbath generation. Can't argue with that.

Your review was decent at best. You might want to put more detail into the songs next time if you do another t-b-t

Imaperson
April 24th 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah it was hard for me to think at first, What i needed was advice first.

Activista anti-MTV
April 24th 2006


3144 Comments


This is most definitely an excellent album, but if your hardcore sabbath fan you should probably get "Sympton of the Universe". It is a more thorough representation of Sabbaths career.

To be a Sabbath fan and not like War Pigs to me is unfathomable. That was written so well that today 2006, that song is still just as relavant as the day it was written. Not just one of the best of Sabbath songs, but one of the best songs all time.

Is Sabbath gonna be at Ozzfest this year?

bakdziti
April 25th 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fairly well done best of album. Has been remastered the same as the recent box set (the black box) I believe. I own the Black Box (which sounds amazing, btw) so I wont ever buy this, but it certainly picks some goodies, and the obvious ones of course. I could do without Changes, as I'm not really sure how that shows off the Sabbath catelogue best, but whatever. Also, I dont find the last 2 Sabbath w/Ozzy albums worthwhile, but they did pick my favorite track off the two (dirty women) to stick on this, so I guess that's good.

Oh, and the War Pigs thing: It is one of the best, if not the BEST songs EVER recorded, so I dunno how ANYONE, Sabbath fan or otherwise, can dislike it.

To each his own I suppose...but I dont consider a person a Sabbath fan if they don't downright love War Pigs,

Oh, Paranoid is overrated though...you can dislike that song if you want, its not bad, but gets old.

And your review...well, it's alright, not very descriptive, and kinda all over the place, but it works I suppose. Just get workin for your next.

PS No Sabbath at Ozzfest this year (last year was the best ever anyways...can't possibly beat Iron Maiden + Black Sabbath back to back...) Heh, I even got to see em on a full moon...oh, and what is better than Iron Maiden playing only songs off their first 4 albums? Nothing is better, cause those albums are all classic. Man, what a good day...I believe its just Ozzy this year.This Message Edited On 04.25.06

Imaperson
April 28th 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The lineup for this year's ozzfest is decent

The only band i remember going is System of a Down, and maybe metalica, im not sure

metallicaman8
April 28th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Metallica's supposed to play. Good album, not so great review, but still a valiant effort, considering it's your first

goneshootin22
May 13th 2006


142 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a great cd. Supernaut is awesome

Nightside
June 13th 2006


102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a perfect greatest hits collection. Every song on here owns. I'm glad they made a 1970-1978 BS Hits album.

Nice review!

Imaperson
July 2nd 2006


13 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Once again, thanks for the comments guys!

This album is by far my favourite greatest hits album, the booklet inside was also interesting to read.

sj_2150
July 16th 2006


251 Comments


same old, same old... just get all the albums its worth it

any14doomsday
February 16th 2007


679 Comments


Im not gonna bother with this album solely becasue it does not have :Into The Void" you cant have the best of black sabbath and not have into the void.

cobain1991
May 25th 2007


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I thought you did a great job in your review. War pigs is awsome. But you didn't say how some of the songs were made. War Pigs was an ant-war protest made during the Vietnam war. Black Sabbath was their very first heavy song. Before that they were doing blues stuff. They were in a band called earth. They saw a horror movie and thought it was strange people pay to see something designed to scare you so they thought they should do it with music. Overall good review!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy