Goat
Commune


4.5
superb

Review

by Benjamin Thortenburger USER (27 Reviews)
September 25th, 2014 | 30 replies


Release Date: 09/23/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Goat finds a sense of direction amidst the chaos

"We've been taught since we were small to have an understanding of not only western bands, but of music from other parts of the world. The title World Music was chosen because we believe we play 'world music', and that's what we think everyone plays. Also, the term 'world music' has some negative vibes – people say it with some form of contempt when they talk about it as a genre, but we think it would be strange for anyone to claim they didn't play world music."

This was how Christian Johansson, one of the three core members of psychedelic group Goat, explained the title of their debut album World Music, which made waves back in 2012 when it released to critical acclaim. While World Music certainly ended up getting a lot of attention for the vast range of musical influences from 70's psychedelic, to European folk, to salsa; some ended up questioning Goat's ability to follow up such an album that covered so much musical ground at once. Surely they have taken every direction they could have possibly taken on their debut and can't really do much to improve, some had reasoned. Now two years have passed and Goat have released their follow up album Commune, and surprisingly, it actually manages to build upon the already vast array of genre influences that made up World Music, yet still just as much feel like a whole record showcasing the band's maturity rather than a collection of unrelated tracks.

Commune, like World Music, is primarily a psychedelic album incorporating instruments and styles from various cultures throughout the globe. That's not to say that Goat is not evolving musically however: aside from the added influences to their already extensive catalogue. The production has become noticeably tighter, and a lot more focus has been put into general atmosphere. This in turn, has cleared some of the noise from their debut. While songs in the first half, like the folk-influenced 'Talk to God' or the ever-groovy 'The Light Within', are strong enough in their own right, it is the second half where Commune really shines. Songs like 'Goatchild' truly manage to steal the show in their sheer Funkadelic induced mayhem, right until the true highlight of the album, a.k.a. 'Gathering of Ancient Tribes', brings Commune to a memorable close.

As a whole, Commune succeeds as a sequel. Not only does it follow what would be expected from a World Music follow up, but it is also an evident showcase for Goat's growth as a band with tighter production and a a sense of focus amidst the many, many, genres that are employed.



Recent reviews by this author
Black Pussy Magic MustacheThe Rolling Stones The Rolling Stones
Powder for Pigeons Washed, Dried, Brain FriedMethadone Skies Eclectic Electric
Echo Tail Hold The ThroneAstrokraut Astrokraut
user ratings (32)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
SharkTooth
September 24th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Props to Judio and Johnnyonthespot for proofreading this, any and all feedback appreciated!

Digging: Hawk Eyes - Everything Is Fine

SharkTooth
September 24th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

now that the album's released you can stream it on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jBtmfEMBUtE&list=PLsmLNc9aaliekRTMDELzIp8AB6ab0FCIB

LordePots
September 24th 2014


12183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just downloaded this, last ones was dope as shit

Digging: Juxta Phona - We Will Not Be Silence

SharkTooth
September 24th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hope you like it as much as I did

LordePots
September 24th 2014


12183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

probably







Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2014


6508 Comments


Good write-up, pos.

The album is streaming here: http://rocketrecordings.bandcamp.com/album/commune

Digging: Trial (SWE) - Vessel

oltnabrick
September 24th 2014


32239 Comments


Heard this when it leaked almost two months ago (most sub pop albums this year leaked way early). I think I like the first one more but this is still nice.

Digging: Delhi Escorts - Delhi Escorts

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2014


6713 Comments


Review looks a lot better than the first draft, great work! Have a pos.

Digging: The Phonies - Your Body Lost Along the Shore

Mad.
September 25th 2014


4383 Comments


This looks awesome, especially that band name.

Great review, pos'd. Perhaps it could have described the music a bit more to fully justify that 4.5

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2014


2659 Comments


I shoutboxed you a couple grammar nitpicks but aside from that this is well done, pos

Digging: Christopher Hipgrave - No Greater Hero than the Least Plant that Grows

SharkTooth
September 25th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Voivod thanks, I didn't know that this was on Bandcamp

@Judio agreed



@Mad. you should definitely check this out, you'll dig it

@Johnny thanks man!

SharkTooth
September 25th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yeah, forgot to post the link to the interview quoted in the review

http://thequietus.com/articles/09798-goat-world-music-interview

osmark86
September 25th 2014


4580 Comments


new goat, goat?

SharkTooth
September 25th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maybe..

djunior
September 25th 2014


844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so. good.

Digging: Mumdance and Logos - Proto

SharkTooth
September 25th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

glad you enjoy it

Mad.
September 27th 2014


4383 Comments


Why don't y'all apply for a feature on this?

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2014


2659 Comments


He did

SharkTooth
September 27th 2014


7776 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what Johnny said, I guess the mods just found something more interesting /:

NightProwler
October 12th 2014


6778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review I agree a lot with. I prefer their debut, but as you put it finally in your review:



"but it is also an evident showcase for Goat's growth as a band with tighter production and a a sense of focus amidst the many, many, genres that are employed."



Both the production and red thread throughout the album is incredible, and the grooves are to die for. It doesn't have as many ... well, weird ... sounding elements and instruments here and there, as World Music did, but cohesively, it's amazing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy