Tiny Moving Parts
Pleasant Living


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mark A. CONTRIBUTOR (76 Reviews)
September 20th, 2014 | 21 replies


Release Date: 09/09/2014 | Tracklist


Pleasant Living is certainly an interesting listen. With emo and post hardcore being the two main influences, it wouldn’t be difficult to expect subdued melodies and somewhat depressing lyrics. With so many bands embracing the same Midwestern emo sound, there aren’t many ways to escape from the monotony. Admittedly, many bands embody the sound very well; it’s absolutely the reason why the emo revivalist movement has exploded in popularity, especially the past few years. Tiny Moving Parts have allowed themselves to stand out from their peers with just a few tweaks to the proven formula. Armed with a more energetic approach and lyrics encroaching on endearingly hopeful territory, Pleasant Living is a breath of fresh air. From the Modest-Mouse aping guitars (this is a compliment, of course) in the beginning of “Movies” to the concluding yell of “There is so much more/Out there waiting” in the mostly subdued “Skinny Veins”, the album is proof that bands can still stand out from a glut of bands within the scene.

The continuity of the album is impressive, as it sounds natural without the tracks sounding too similar to distinguish from one another. The catchy qualities of the album are also at the forefront of Pleasant Living, providing plenty of vocal hooks (“Sundress”) and memorable angular guitar lines (“Always Focused”). The anthemic “Boxcar” is a foot-stomping and invigorating song from start to finish, transitioning from a low-key sound complete with hushed vocals to an energetic frenzy with ease several times in the two and a half minute runtime. It’s more than just a strength of the band, as they make those transitions quite a bit throughout the entirety of the album; it’s actually the biggest determining factor that allows them to stand out. “Entrances and Exits” display some of the best lyrics on the album, and also some of the most incisive lyrics about the topic of friendships in general. Tiny Moving Parts are able to make themselves seem human through their lyrics and music, which is the biggest compliment that a band can receive.

With all of the praise heaped onto this album, there is still some room for improvement. The lyrics range from incredibly insightful to full-on cheesiness at times, and while it fits with their aesthetic it does detract from an otherwise excellent release. Closer “Van Beers” add piano and horns to their sound, and they have never sounded more natural or energized because of it. It points to an even better progression for the next album, but Pleasant Living is a more than welcome placeholder while Tiny Moving Parts perfect their sound.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller GO:OD AMMac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMAS
The Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' BoysBlood Gemini Snow Season
user ratings (178)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
A rare sophomore release that surpasses its predecessor in every way....


Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2014


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://atomicskyreviews.wordpress.com/2014/09/20/tiny-moving-parts-pleasant-living/



Originally posted here. Sup?

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2014


5066 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sweet. pos



"Tiny Moving Parts are able to make themselves seem human through their lyrics and music..." -> how so? you could

really expand upon this and make a couple great points

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2014


4402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Marky Mark returns! Still haven't gotten a chance to check this out.

Tyler.
September 20th 2014


6843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good albun

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2014


52996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Celebrate

RoundOnEndHiInMiddle
September 20th 2014


734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

AOTY for me, cant see anything topping this

Digging: Orchid - Gatefold

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
September 20th 2014


1327 Comments


Sup bud. You know I'm a sucker for a criticism in a positive review, adds good balance. Nice one!

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2014


20003 Comments


A+ review my friend. hard pos

ScuroFantasma
September 20th 2014


5655 Comments


Excellent review Mark. "The continuity of the album is impressive, as it sounds natural without the tracks sounding too similar to distinguish from one another." I'd consider rewording that a bit though, I understand what you were saying but imo it's worded a little awkwardly. Anyway, fanstastic review as always man.

Digging: Camel - Moonmadness

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2014


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks all! I appreciate all of the positive feedback. Scuro and Johnny, I see your points there so I will modify/add those things.

SnakeDelilah
April 26th 2015


14888 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh saw these guys tonight and they were fucking amazing

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice, dude! I'd love to see them live. What did they play? Mostly stuff from this album, I presume?

SnakeDelilah
April 26th 2015


14888 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah they opened with sundress, always focused, spring fever, bible school, and closed with dakota





crowd was fucking into it and was one of the best shows i've gone to





above all of that, it was FREE! :D

cryptside
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHAT?! Dude that's fucking awesome.

SnakeDelilah
April 26th 2015


14888 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also copped this album on wax





transparent blue and is a fuckin' banger

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2016


52996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The new song is so good fuuuuck

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2016


21520 Comments


how does this compare to the new one?

Digging: The Hotelier - Goodness

Conmaniac
May 25th 2016


1642 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

new one is better

Digging: The Hotelier - Goodness

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2016


21520 Comments


new album is blowing me away!

YoYoMancuso
May 25th 2016


11981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ agreed, not a single song i could do without

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Celebrate



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy